We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some great things and some room for improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etosha Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Etosha Village to your Saves list
Etosha Village
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   On C38 5km Before the Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
reading
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“some great things and some room for improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

The are lots of great things about this lodge, first good location without breaking the budget. Buffet was very nice with great selection of food cooked on demand. They have a wheelchair accessible room and had the sense to have a brick path to the ramp of this tent, although it would be nice if the placed a solid surface at the kitchen area as the gravel was a bit hard with wheelchair. What I did not like about the place was the actual tent construction as it was not on a concrete base but had a wooden floor with open spaces for everything to crawl in. They also had a box spring and bed skirt on the bed which is just insane. I prefer raised bed with open space under the bed. when we opened the door the first thing we saw was a scorpion crawling up the bed and settling between the towels on the bed. I know it is Africa and I love the creepy crawlers, I just don't want to sleep with them. As most of the lodges in Namibia, this one is also a mixed bag of positives and negatives.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taleni A, Manager at Etosha Village, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear Luvtotravelalot,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review – we appreciate the feedback.
Glad you enjoyed our buffet dinner experience.
We used wooden decks in the construction for ecological reasons and to ensure minimum impact on the natural environment. Apologies for not meeting all your expectations...
We are looking forward to welcome you back in due course.
Best wishes,
The Etosha Village Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    59
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
81
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Figueira da Foz, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

To those who are wild life lovers, that have no experience of it, but want to give a try, i recommend Etosha Village. You'll get a "hut-tent", with all you need, nature all around, privacy, as the other tents are far enough not to be seen. You can cook your meals or have them at the restaurant. Good cooking. Friendly staff.
Near Etosha National Park (worth a careful visit), 25 km from Anderson gate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

this lodge is right out of etosha, really close to the souther andersson gate.
it has luxury-tent - like accomodations and the bathroom is completely external. the accomodations even have a self catering structure.
common areas are well organized and the restaurant is "en plein air". dinner at taleni etosha village is really worth the experience. the dinner room is organized around a fire and during dinner the whole staff comes and start singing and dancing african songs.
the fire, the music, the excellent food... all these three elements make your experience there unforgettable.
they organize guided drives in etosha (50€ pp) of 5 hours approximately. they provide you warm blankets and they arrange a really appreciated coffee break!
PS: it could be quite cold (early in the morning and after sunset).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
namibia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

close to etosha at the andersson gate lies the most comfortable and beautiful lodge. you can choose between selfcatering or eating at the restaurant. the food is fantastic and the service is amazing. the staff will go out of their way to make you happy!!! the tented bungalows are beautiful and very clean. we have been to many lodges in namibia and can most definately recommend this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

When we arrived we were disappointed. The rooms are tent-like with shower and toilet outside. So if you need to go there in the night you are sitting outside not seeing what´s around you..... The food was buffet, normally we don´t like this, but this one was exceptionally good. You select the meat and vegetable you want and they prepare it for you as you like....and they do it VERY good. Location to the Etosha is very good, don´t stay in the Etosha as all hotels are expensive and bad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

From the website i was expecting something fairly outstanding, Taleni Etosha villiage was good but I think for the price I could have found better. Good location very close to the gate to the park so yu can get there early.

We stayed on December 26th and it appeared there was only a skeleton staff so there was no Dinner or Breakfast the next day, this would have been nice to be told beforehand when i booked! Fortunately we had been to a supermarket on the way from Windhoek and the shop on site had the few other things we needed to cook for ourselves. Don't count on the shop having all you need though as the shelves were fairly empty.

Air conditioner dripped onto the floor all night in one of the rooms and one of our other friends conplained of ants in the bed all night.

Staff were very friendly and helpfull but i was still a l little disappointed

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Nice lodge, nice rooms, family friendly, for nature lovers - great food!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Etosha Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etosha Village

Address: On C38 5km Before the Andersson Gate, Etosha National Park, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Oshikoto Region > Etosha National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Etosha National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Etosha Village 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated only 2km from the Andersson entrance gate to Etosha National Park, Etosha Village uniquely combines affordability with comfort, style and exquisite cuisine. 40 Luxury individual canvas suites are constructed on wooden decks and offer a fully air-conditioned bedroom with an unique semi-open en-suite bathroom. Two small children (under 12) can be accommodated with their parents on a convertible bunk berth. All units are also equipped for self-caterers, complete with an open-air kitchenette, fridge, kettle and an outside seating area with barbeque. Facilities include an unique open-plan bar with big screen television, 2 sparkling pools plus a kiddie pool, a restaurant with delectable cuisine as well as a fully stocked utility and curio shop. Explore Namibia's animal kingdom with guided excursions to Etosha National Park. Experience spectacular sunsets during Sundowner Drives on our private reserve and discover the magic of our famous star studded skies with a Stargazing session. Let our team whisk you away to an enchanted venue in the Mopane Forest for a magnificent Bush Dinner Experience for your special function or private dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Etosha Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Etosha Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.