We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Weathervane Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Weathervane Inn to your Saves list
Weathervane Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4527 Dowling Street, Montague, MI 49437   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Knoxville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We are from Galesburg Illinois which is about a 6 hr drive. The Weathervane Inn and one of their local restaurants the "Old Channei Inn" make for our perfect escape. I think we have been there 2 times in 4 years and want to get up there again. We go in the winter when the lake is frozen outside our deck. Looks like it would be a fun/cute area in the summer with all activities. Mason. This stupid trip advisor system won't let me exit w/o coming up with a incorrect date of stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    47
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
18
94
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I escaped for a weekend to the Weathervane in November using a groupon and had a wonderful time. We had a corner room with a jacuzzi tub and, although we didn't really have the chance to experience much of the outdoor stuff with the area because it was cold and the off-season, we had a wonderful time. The staff was wonderful and accomodating, and we really felt like we "got away" for a couple days. It was a nice retreat after what had been a stressful year.

I'd love to return sometime in the summer when the town is hopping. Looks like it'd be a fun place to visit again.

Room Tip: the corner room had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentwood, Michigan, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The rooms here are wonderful. Large, comfy bed, fireplace, large jacuzzi, fridge, microwave, toaster oven, big bathroom and a great water view. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We asked for a late checkout on our last day, as we had been out late the night before and they were very accommodating. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Weathervane Inn twice in the last year. The rooms were great and the view was awesome. The rooms come with a fireplace, flat screen tv, jacuzzi tub, and the beds were the most comfortable ever. The staff went over and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. We stayed there on our Wedding night the 5th of Jan 2013 and the service was outstanding. They also have breakfast in the morning, they have a waffle maker and the coffee was very good. There are also many things to do in the area. If you are looking to stay some where in the area you should stay at the Weathervane Inn, this place is great!

Room Tip: Great views with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

To start with I was hesitant to go to Weathervane Inn because of reviews I had read. I want to say that Jason was wonderful and hospitable as was Kendra. I saw Brittney a bit less but she also was very nice. The room was more than I expected and very comfortable. I loved the fireplace and we spent almost half the time in the jacuzzi tub. I will say the only thing that could be improved is the breakfast. I will visit this hotel again for sure!!! Thanks Jason to you and your staff. Patti and Dave

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights over the holidays while visiting our family which is scattered all over west Michigan. The rooms are clean and cozy, the staff is friendly. They're pet friendly which is amust for us and they worked with us on our rate. Duck Lake State Park is close and good food and pubs are just minutes away! Mind your Ps and Qs, though, if youre driving late-night as the Whitehall and Montague police seem to not have much to do. I would definitely recommend the Weathervane Inn to a friend.

Room Tip: Spring for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed overnight during a beautiful Fall weekend. Convenient location was great as we were able to walk over to the Farmers Market and hit a couple antique shops in town. Also played golf at the Old Channel Trail and rode the bike path. Room was nice and front desk promptly helped us turn on the fireplace. Continental breakfast was very basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Weathervane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weathervane Inn

Address: 4527 Dowling Street, Montague, MI 49437
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Montague
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Montague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Weathervane Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weathervane Inn is a boutique lakefront hotel featuring 23 contemporary designed guest rooms. This "home away from home" offers fireplaces, Jacuzzi tubs and balconies to soak in the beauty of White Lake. Take in a movie from your couch, catch up with friends or work with our wireless internet or head outside and enjoy a book while unwinding in our gazebo or napping in a deck chair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Weathervane Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weathervane Hotel Montague

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Weathervane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.