We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oddly unpleasant experience this year.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14774 La Plaisance Road, Monroe, MI 48161   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Monroe
Wilmington, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oddly unpleasant experience this year.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here last year for the holidays to visit with family in Monroe and expected the same. Shabby carpets and rooms, barely clean enough (had to wipe the sticky rings off a bedside table), good rates, location, and pool. The atmosphere this year was strangely unpleasant. Other than one front desk woman who was excellent, the rest of the staff were either invisible or aggressive. The front desk seemed to be the place for staff to gossip loudly with each other about diets, divorces, and complaints. The pool area was contentious, with a mix of locals and guests. One local woman was threatening (loudly) to call her friend, the motel manager, about the behavior of a guest in the pool if the receptionist didn't get in there and tell him off. My family received complaints about noise while the 3 grandkids were opening Christmas gifts in the late afternoon for an hour or so, including a copy of the Room Code of Behavior slipped under our door. No one was running up and down the hall and no alcohol was involved. It just seemed oppressive. Not a very relaxing or welcoming visit in this motel. I will be trying somewhere else next year.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    44
    50
    36
    30
See reviews for
84
38
14
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Average quality. Cheap rate and friendly staff. Walls are thin, so noisy neighbors can be a problem. Facility is set back FAR FROM THE ROAD, with no illuminated road sign. Hard to find at night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitport
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Okay room. Lots of cigarette smoke in the hallway the night we checked in and the morning we checked out. Room did not smell though.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Rates are cheap but I would pay more to stay elsewhere and avoid the riff raff that the cheap rates attract. Drunks throughout the night wandering the halls and unsupervised children.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our first impression was driving into abandoned shopping center. Everything seemed closed except mcdonalds. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room had a funny smell and did not feel clean. Stairs going to room carpet was old and dirty. We chose to only stay one night instead of two. Pool was highlight of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

East side of facility...Parking lot, walking area covered with cigarette butts. Provided ashtray overflowing. Housekeeping twice dumped their mop bucket on the sidewalk, just outside the door. I had gone to my vehicle in my socks, upon returning couldn't enter doorway. Last morning, prior to leaving, noticed our room did NOT have a fire alarm. I am still debating reporting this to the local fire marshall. Some stupidity on my part for not checking upon entering, and more upset that I stayed 3 nights without a alarm. Upon checking out, nobody at front desk...finally a housekeeper took care of it, but could not provide me with a receipt. Told me to go back online through my booking agent to obtain. I am not happy with my stay, mostly due to my safety being jeopardized...Room 108.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monroe hotels

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe

Address: 14774 La Plaisance Road, Monroe, MI 48161
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Monroe
Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe Hotel Monroe
Baymont Inn Monroe
Monroe Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.