We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned 50+ years, authentic, the real deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Beach Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Detroit Beach Restaurant
2630 N Dixie Hwy, Monroe, MI 48162
(734) 289-3122
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 118 Restaurants in Monroe
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Family owned 50+ years, authentic, the real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Do not be fooled by the name, Detroit Beach Pizzaria serves far more than pizza. Started by their father years ago, the third generation, sometimes the fourth, is carrying on the tradition of delicious, fresh Italian food. Not gourmet but certainly some of the best you'll ever enjoy outside of grandma's or mom's kitchen. Atmosphere is modest and humble, very comfortable. No need to dress up but arrive early as you might have to wait for a table, especially Saturday night. Prices seem to be creeping up but it's still a good value as portions are generous and served piping hot. Favorites are mostaccioli or gnocci casserole, oozing with homemade sauce and gooey cheese. Pizza is good too with quality pepperoni. Pasta fagioli is some of the best. Gnocchi is hand made. Stop there as often as possible whenever in town. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Homemade Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The best Italian food in Monroe. Family owned for many years. Great pizza & pasta dishes, favorite is the gnocchi casserole.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MORRISON
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A cant miss stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

An awesome local favorite! I live over 600 miles away and when I return to Monroe I have to stop here! The sign out front is worn and faded but the pizza and meals fresh and awesome!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great family owned and operated! Small place but excellent food. Monroe area icon! Take is available if you don't want to wait on busy evenings.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bisbee, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Mostacholi to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was born in Monroe Michan, but I live in Arizona now. Every time I went to Monroe to visit my mom I made sure to stop here and get an order of their baked mostacholi. I was never once disappointed!If you enjoy pasta, and cheese, and a very tasty sauce give it a try! I have not been to Monroe in a few years now, but I remember this place like I was there last night. It is a typical small town diner type atmosphere, but I always got a carry out so it did not matter to me that the restaurant lacked any attempt of ambience. I have heard that their pizza is also very good, but I never tried it. The mostacholi is a very generous serving that always allowed me to have leftovers, and if memory serves me right it also comes with some type of bread and a tasty fresh salad. I suggest you order a carry out because it is not very comfy sitting in the establishment but either way I bet you walk away happy with your meal!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Detroit Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Detroit Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.