We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in downtown Midland,MI” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The H Hotel Midland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The H Hotel Midland to your Saves list
The H Hotel Midland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W Main Street, Midland, MI 48640   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Midland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Port, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel in downtown Midland,MI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with a little get away for the night...and were exceptionally surprised at the four star quality of The H Hotel...everything from the Lobby, Restaurants, Staff, and our Room were all high class. This is a great hotel and one we will definitely tell our friends about. And the prices were not too bad...actually for the quality...the prices were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate that you feel our nice property is priced well and a good value! Have a great rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    33
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
77
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Cloud, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Wow wonderful hotel and it so nice to have excellent service and friendly staff to take your bags to your room or a very nice shuttle bus that is elegant and comfy and free. The rooms are very nice and beds comfy I would go here over and over when I am on this side of the state.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and it seemed bigger and we overlook the back of the hotel was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing the H for your accommodations. We hope you will bring the family back sometime soon. Have a great rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The H is a beautiful venue in a lovely part of Midland with the most amazing and accommodating staff you could hope for. If you're looking for a place to host an event - big or small - this is your place.

My sister lives in Los Angleles, but wanted to marry here where my husband is a pastor. We had a reception at the H Hotel with ~20 out-of-town guests, many of whom stayed at the H during the event weekend. Every comment was positive - from both guests staying in the newly-renovated rooms and guests in the not-yet-renovated rooms.

The event planning staff (Vickie Kea, in particular) was top-notch. They were very organized, patient, very accessible, and VERY helpful. We put together a wedding and reception in only a couple of months, with the bride only visiting the hotel once and me doing the legwork from halfway across the country. Vickie handled delayed communication, crossed conversations, and opinionated/micromanaging family members like the pro she is. She was also free with information about vendors who could accommodate our literally last-minute requests even when the H couldn't.

The hotel staff were completely available to us for even menial tasks like carrying boxes, and were quick to offer solutions when we ran into transportation snags (getting our guests to and from the hotel when another guest took a car at the wrong time, shuttling to and from the airport, etc.).

The plated meal we had was excellent - the food was interesting, flavorful, beautifully presented, and well-prepared. The serving staff was both invisible and efficient, easily accessible. The bartenders were personable and wonderful.

The reception/ball rooms were beautiful - neutral in color with soft lighting that flattered our bridal party and our guests, as well as our decorations. There are many nooks with comfy couches and tables/chairs where guests could wander freely, and the reception room opened into a foyer with floor-to-ceiling windows, which in turn opened into the courtyard of the hotel. There was plenty of space, plenty of light, and plenty of fresh air.

Our photographer had no end of spots for natural-looking photos with interesting settings, between the hotel itself and the grounds in which it's situated. The H sits on a beautiful site with lots of soft green, and overlooks a park and one of Midland's features, the Tridge (a foot bridge with three legs), which is a great photo site both day AND night.

Bottom line - the H was a true pleasure to work with, and our event went off splendidly. I highly recommend this venue for any event you might be planning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. And congratulations! It was a pleasure to work with you on your special day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

wonderful staff, rooms and design and truly good restaurant (cafe, will try the 'Table' next time).
This hotel left me looking for more reasons to go to Midland, located in a nice downtown area with shopping and my husband ate good pizza place across the street and, i shopped in a nice kitchenware store. This hotel does what what upscale chains are trying to pull off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for reinforcing what we always tell our prospective guests – Midland and the H Hotel are great places to visit! We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is under renovation currently as the rooms are a bit dated (it looks like a 15 year old Marriott, with old style tile in the bathrooms, wallpaper border in the sleeping rooms, no flatscreen tv, etc), but I did not hear any construction noise at all and was able to sleep well throughout my stay. Overall the hotel is very clean and comfortable with good beds and decent bath amenities. The service is excellent and I can't wait to see the updated rooms.

Room Tip: I prefer a room that faces the tridge and the park - because you have lots of green space to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We hope to see you again soon!
The new rooms look great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was a very nice hotel with comfortable beds and nice restaurants.I would stay here again. Hotel and restaurant were under contraction. Somewhat disruptive, but only minimally. Overall a very nice stay. I would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Listed cleanliness less than excellent due to construction. Otherwise excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We’re glad you had a comfortable stay and that you enjoyed our restaurants. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The H Hotel in Midland, MI is nicely contemporary and professional. Very pleasant staff ready to assist! Comfortable and clean, bright & airy in the heart of downtown. Free bike rental for hotel guest, nearby bike trail with beautiful natural scenery! Will return later this year after their renovations! 2 1/2 hours away from home - an awesome home away from home getaway!

Room Tip: The Jr. Suites are perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We’re glad you found our staff very pleasant and that you enjoyed the bicycles. We hope you will visit again. I suggest checking out the downtown Midland website for events that you may enjoy should you return. Check out www.downtownmidland.com. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The H Hotel Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The H Hotel Midland

Address: 111 W Main Street, Midland, MI 48640
Location: United States > Michigan > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Midland
#1 Business Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The H Hotel Midland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 13 miles from MBS International Airport, and minutes away from both Dow Chemical and Dow Corning, The H Hotel offers business and leisure travelers style, sophistication and comfort. From elegant weddings to exciting vacations, our hotel provides the best accommodations for all types of getaways. With abundant event space, luxurious guest rooms, and a world-class fitness center, guests enjoy relaxation and rejuvenation at every turn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The H Hotel Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Hotel Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The H Hotel Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.