We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The H Hotel Midland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The H Hotel Midland to your Saves list
The H Hotel Midland
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 W Main Street, Midland, MI 48640   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Midland
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Love This Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I think this is the most beautiful hotel. If you are a fan of contemporary art, you will love this hotel! It's pristine, white, lots of interesting art and great rooms. The rooms themselves were a bit dated, but they undergoing a massive renovation. The beds are fabulous as are the linens. Great location is quaint Midland. You must walk down the street to the Santa House where Santas-to-be train! The bells in town also ring every hour. This is one of our favorite places to stay. Breakast in the Bistro is also wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to the H. Keep an eye on Midland. Lots of new and exciting building developments in the next two years. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
64
67
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here for an arbitration. Simply put the staff was very professional and friendly. Rooms were clean and excellent wi-fi. No connection problems. Within walking distance of resturants downtown. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I would have to give this hotel a very good rating. It missed excellent becuase they were doing construction in the middle of my floor. There were times without hot water, and lots of noise. Plus the fact that I had to walk through dusty construcion to get to my conference. I also felt that the fire escapes were not well marked as some of them were cardboard signs on the florr.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. Guest safety is of upmost importance and we understand why you were concerned. Part of our remodel project includes replacing the exit signs. I do want to assure you that our fire protection system is working and will not be compromised during this project. The project is on schedule and we look forward to all new rooms by June 27th. Please visit us again and certainly let us know how you like the new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Everything the other reviews say about proximity to downtown, the nature trails, and other attractions are true. The customer service is outstanding. I began receiving e-mails from the staff preparing us for our visit about 3 days prior. The food and staff at the hotel restaurant, Cafe Zn, were great. The exercise facility and pool are well maintained and monitored. The junior suite had a great view but I thought the furnishings could have been a little fancier including the televisions (no flat-screens). Overall, we had an excellent stay, the price was great, and we're looking forward to returning when it's warmer and the free bike rentals are available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim S, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate your feedback. FYI – we look forward to adding new 46” flat screens and will have them installed by June30th.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A boutique hotel in the middle of a small, culturally diverse little city. Close to downtown shopping, a mall and regional sites such as the Dow Performing Arts Center and the world-famous Dow Gardens. Formerly the “Ashman Court Hotel”, it was bought out by the Dolce Group, which appears to buy and rehabilitate smaller conference-style hotels.

The public areas of the hotel appear to have had a complete makeover from the Ashman Court days, outfitted in layers of white and off-white with avant-garde artwork. The former cavernous restaurant has been divided in half, with part now a trendy (but small) café serving American-style and local cuisine and the other half converted into a stylish cocktail lounge.

Unfortunately, the guest rooms don’t measure up to the public areas. Our room looked dated, with deep blue carpeting not matching the wall coverings, chipped veneer furnishings and a 19 inch cathode ray tube TV of the type last seen in upscale hotel rooms back in the early 1990’s. (Also fun to see evacuation instructions not only for fires, but for chemical spills since the hotel is near the Dow Chemical manufacturing facilities.) The room was spacious, however, with thick towels and a nice selection of upscale bathroom products.

On our last morning there we had hoped to sleep in and order room service, but we were woken at about 7AM by construction work in the rooms on each side of us and across the hall. Management apparently decided to begin remodeling the rooms (without any warning to guests) and we were "lucky" enough to have been assigned a room right in the thick of it. (Poor planning – the hotel was sparsely populated during our stay and they should have placed us on another floor or wing away from the planned construction.) Management kindly comped us our room for the night, but it appears as if they’re going to be remodeling throughout most of the summer months with the attendant noise and inconvenience.

My suggestion – this place is definitely comfortable, upscale and well-situated, but I’d wait until the Fall of 2013 to try it once they’re done with the remodel of the rooms (hopefully including updted furnishings and TV's larger than a postage stamp) and all its attendant mess and noise.

Room Tip: If you stay during the summer of 2013, request a room away from the remodeling work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the H. I am sorry to hear that you encountered the noise so early in the morning on the day we started our remodeling. Although the current phase of the project is on the opposite side of the hotel from where you stayed, we did investigate and find out that we did have some repair work being done in a guestroom near your room. Please except our apology as this should not have happened so early in the morning.


The team at the H is committed to making the process as inconspicuous as possible to our valued guests, and has carefully planned the phases of the project to
minimize noise issues during the renovation. Thanks for letting us know about your experience. Our guests and their comfort is our top priority and we sincerely apologize.

Thank you and we look forward to you enjoying our new rooms in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the H Hotel in Midland Michigan while visiting a local manufacturing facility. I would have to say that this is one of the most accomodating hotels I have stayed at in the US for under $200. From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out we were welcomed and made to feel like we were special. We were upgraded to the Concierge floor because of our connection to the manufactuirng facility we were visiting and the service was top notch. Our rooms were nicely decorated but the little amenities like candy and snacks in the room were really an impression maker. Althoigh we didn't get to utilize the workout facility or pool, we did enjoy the louinge and restaraunt. They were both excellent in quality and service. Should I ever be back at this location I woulkd stay here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We’re glad you found our staff very attentive and that you enjoyed our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit MI
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

On a whim, we took a weekend family getaway and decided to go to Midland, primarily on the strength of the positive reviews of the H Hotel here on Trip Advisor. Overall, we were very impressed with the hotel, and we'll almost certainly be coming back.

The most stand-out feature of the hotel was the additional service we received. Any other hotel I've stayed at in the same (or even higher) price range hasn't quite had the level of service that the H Hotel had. The staff were friendly and helpful (not unusual), but we also got a number of little pointers and extras beyond what we expected (but stopping short of being obtrusive) - in particular a little candy dish (in a St. Patty's hat!) and a coloring book for my daughter that were really appreciated. It made what would have been just a nice experience into an outstanding one, so kudos to whomever at the hotel is in charge of customer service.

A couple tiny quibbles - We had requested an upper-floor room overlooking the river, and, a little disappointingly, got neither despite what looked like pretty light occupancy. Not that big a deal, though. The room we did get was a little on the small side, particularly since we asked for a rollaway for our daughter, which resulted in a distance between the rollaway and regular bed of about 12 inches. Again, not a big deal, as we're not exactly running through our room.

We got a "breakfast included" upgrade, which was well worth the $10 extra, as we got a *very* good restaurant breakfast for all three of us, plus a nice welcome cheese-and-cracker plate (one of a half-dozen options) when we checked in. That alone made us feel like we got an outstanding value.

The hotel is right downtown, literally a stone's throw from the hiking/biking trails near the river. It was snowy and a little chilly, but it was still nice and convenient to step out the front door and take a walk along the river.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolce123, Director of Sales at The H Hotel Midland, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the nice review. We are glad to hear that our service exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The H Hotel Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The H Hotel Midland

Address: 111 W Main Street, Midland, MI 48640
Location: United States > Michigan > Midland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Midland
#1 Family Hotel in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The H Hotel Midland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 16 miles from MBS International Airport, and minutes away from both Dow Chemical and Dow Corning, The H Hotel offers business and leisure travelers style, sophistication and comfort. From elegant weddings to exciting vacations, our hotel provides the best accommodations for all types of getaways. With abundant event space, luxurious guest rooms, and a world-class fitness center, guests enjoy relaxation and rejuvenation at every turn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The H Hotel Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Hotel Midland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The H Hotel Midland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.