We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great soups and salads” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe American Restaurant

Cafe American Restaurant
1525 Washington St, Midland, MI 48640-5745
(989) 633-9665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 116 restaurants in Midland
Restaurant details
Midland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great soups and salads”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Best place in Midland to get soup and salad. My favorites are the greek salad, creme d'portabella, and crab bisque. The Hally Berry salad is also very good. I have had a couple of sandwiches that were yummie, but I keep going back for the soup and salad. I would avoid the dinner menu; haven't had good experiences with it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    12
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Go for the crab bisque.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Based on review from another visitor, we stopped in for Friday's soup of the day is excellent - crab bisque. Very friendly staff. Good clean place. Glad we may the trip.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland,Mi.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

They have a variety of sandwiches , salads and great soups. Price is reasonable. Make sure you get there early for lunch and don't sit between the door and the counter if you don't like a line of people standing next to you the whole time.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“So...SO”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Chili on hot dog had beans. They didn't know how to make a tuna sandwich and needed help from the boss how to make it. The workers aren't very professional and it didn't look all that clean. Sorry.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Very delicious soups, a wide selection of sandwiches, and great salads. Only con my be the price at about $10 per person for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe American Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cafe American Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe American Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.