We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So...SO” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe American Restaurant

Cafe American Restaurant
1525 Washington St, Midland, MI 48640-5745
(989) 633-9665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 123 Restaurants in Midland
Restaurant details
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“So...SO”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Chili on hot dog had beans. They didn't know how to make a tuna sandwich and needed help from the boss how to make it. The workers aren't very professional and it didn't look all that clean. Sorry.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Very delicious soups, a wide selection of sandwiches, and great salads. Only con my be the price at about $10 per person for lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious little restaurant with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My wife and I were staying in Midland and had found this restaurant through Tripadvisor. It looked like just what we wanted - an inexpensive place with good food that offered take-out - preferably with a selection of salads.

We found it easily enough and, although we had some doubts about finding a gem in a small strip mall, we went in. The menu is on a chalk board and a bit hard to read so the friendly counter person gave us a printed menu. My wife got an Oriental salad and I got the chicken alexander. Both turned out to be excellent and the total bill came to under $20 including tax. There are many other tempting items and we look forward to returning the next time our travels take us to Midland.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanikailua
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great unique food option!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great fast food with a wide variety of international options. The gyros are especially amazing. Atmosphere is only ok, but a great alternative for a quick meal

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We selected this restaurant based on the 2 reviews it already had. We were not disappointed. I had the Halle Berry salad, which was delicious. My husband, who did not want to be bothered to read the entire menu, asked the counter person to make a good selection for him. She suggested to go half and half with the Greek Isle salad and Basin Street Club. He was very happy with this selection. I definitely recommend this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe American Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cafe American Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe American Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.