We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May not go back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whine

Whine
337 E. Wackerly, Midland, MI
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 123 Restaurants in Midland
Cuisines: Tapas
Restaurant details
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“May not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Have been here several times-know it will be expensive. Tonight was really not worth the money. Had several items. For example-the special burger was ordered medium well-came with blood. Told the waiter-he took it back and it came back a tiny bit more well but cold. Told him-he said it was just hot off the grill but the toppings made it cold. There were four of us, and nobody really liked the food. The visit with our friends was nice, but nothing else.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hemlock, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Original & Close to home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Whine is the kind of place we would typically drive to Lansing or Grand Rapids for. The atmosphere is refreshing and fun! To top it off, our most recent experience included live music. While this place isn't for everyone, everyone should experience it at least once!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Great wine and nice tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Went with a couple of co-workers one evening. The place is big with tables and sofas, nicely lit and great atmosphere. The wine list was pretty extensive with a great selection of different types from every region in the world. The glasses range from $10 to $15 and the bottles from $30 to $120 aprox. The food was fantastic, we ordered little tacos, olive trio and some fries with cheese on them. The waiter was very nice, came by often to check on us always with a smile.
Great food, wine and service. Perfect for an evening relax with friends. Nicest place in Midland visited so far.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a great addition to Midland and the surrounding area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We experienced Whine a month ago, and still are amazed! The interior is mixed: high table seating, low table seating, several overstuffed couches, fireplaces and intimate niches for dining and enjoying a great beverage! The menu, which is not expansive, has a great selection and most of the items are tapas style and suitable for sharing. The wine list IS expansive and the wait staff is most knowledgable regarding the wines. There is a great selection of microbrew beer and nice martinis! We want to go back again, hopefully on a night where there is entertainment.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Much needed in midland!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Whine is simply one of the best places to eat and drink in Midland, period. If someone was coming to town for one night and we wanted to go out for a nice meal, I would take them to Whine. Always creative and delicious food with a menu that changes seasonably, which by the way is one of our favorite parts about Whine, they keep the staple favorites on the menu but change up the rest so you always have options. They have a great wine selection and always great seasonal local beers on tap. Service has always been great for us and also appreciate that it's a locally owned small business. In the summer they have live music some nights and a spacious patio outside. I would highly recommend Whine to anyone looking for a casual drink with friends or business acquaintances or a nice dinner out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whine also viewed

 

Been to Whine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.