We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bread” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Sandwich & Ice Cream Shoppe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Downtown Sandwich & Ice Cream Shoppe
100 10th Ave, Menominee, MI
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Menominee
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We always stop here when visiting Menominee and walking the harbor area. Their bread is excellent. #25 for me please.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tacos! Tacos! Tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I have been coming here for the past 25 years (he's a local, so make that 35 for him). The tacos have maintained their extra-deliciousness over all that time. I'm not so crazy about the subs or ice cream, but my-oh-my those tacos are worth the trip! The hot sauce is amazingly spicy and tasty at the same time. I actually like to get the sauce on top just so it will make the hard shells all soggy; that's when you know you've reached maximum sauce penetration! We travel from Chicago about once a year to visit relatives, but I would seriously make the 5 hour trip just for the tacos.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hard-shell tacos and hot sauce!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great sandwiches and great tacos! Make sure to order the hot sauce on the side so the shells don't get soggy. Also, make sure you check your bag that your received the hot sauce-the place can get busy and on 2 different occasions they forgot to bag my sauce!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is a must have if you are in Menominee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The subs here are the best. We always get the big one and it feeds all five of us. Taco are great. Hand dip ice. Right across the street is the bay if you want to have picnic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menominee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must stop for Ice Cream and Subs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Locally we call this the "Sub Shop", eat in or take out, the prices are very reasonable. The list of subs to choose from, or concoct your own is LARGE, takes awhile to choose and they have a nice variety of other menu items, I highly recommend their tacos, very good. Many flavors of ice cream to choose from also. Across the street is the marina so it's nice in warm months to grab a cone and sandwich and sit in the park and watch people and the boats.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Sandwich & Ice Cream Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Sandwich & Ice Cream Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Sandwich & Ice Cream Shoppe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.