We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunes Waterfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mears
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunes Waterfront Resort
Save
You added Dunes Waterfront Resort to your Saves list
1180 North Shore Dr., Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hubertus, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was our first visit to the area and we chose to stay here because of the reviews on Trip Advisor.

A warning to those who haven't been to this area before - there are no bars here. None. Bring your own. Being from Milwaukee, this was a complete shock to the system, but we figured it out...now back to the hotel.

We had a lake view whirlpool room, which was very clean and comfortable. Amazing given the amount of sand in the area, and how dirty people must get playing on the sand dunes all day.

Parking is a little cramped with all the trailers and ORVs parked in the lot. I can't imagine how they do it during peak times.

We didn't visit the beach area across the street, but did enjoy a beautiful sunset from our balcony.

We would stay here again if we came back to play in the dunes again.

Room Tip: Pick a lake side room. I think the walls and windows are a little thin and you'd hear parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    30
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

It's our first time here and this place is very nice. The room is very clean and the view is beautiful. Staff is friendly as well. The only complaint I have with this town is that there isn't any place to have a cocktail within walking distance lol, Otherwise a great place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very impressed with how clean it was. Rooms, stairwells, grounds all immaculate. Great view from our balcony. Very pleasant stay! Silver Lake is very quiet but you are in the heart of it all at The Dunes Resort. Only hotel right on the lake. Chairs, swings and barbecue are located lakeside.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthWoods..
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stay at the Dunes Waterfront Resort every time we come to the National Asparagus Festival. Beautiful hotel. We love the lake side rooms. Amazing view. Always clean. Staff extremely helpful. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. The festival was wonderful. Thank you all, and hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: Stay on the Lake side, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at the Dunes Waterfront Resort for 3 nights. We loved the location, walking distance to shops, go-karts, restaurants, etc. The hotel was clean and met our expectations! We stayed on the lake side and the view was very nice. We will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Once the kids go back to school and the season is winding down, the Dunes Waterfront Resort is a great place to get away and relax. They were offering a special I couldn't pass up... buy one night get the second night for half price. What a deal! I recommend getting a room that faces the lake... such a beautiful view. I also stayed in a room with a jacuzzi... very nice! This hotel is a short drive from Lake Michigan and wether you view the sunsets from your room or drive to the Lighthouse on Lake Michigan, the sunsets are an awesome sight to see. One night after dark we took a turn off on the road to the lighthouse and found another beautiful beach with an awesome view of the stars. I haven't seen that many stars since I went camping as a kid. Be prepared, the area is closing down for the season and some of the shops/restaurants are not open but there are still plenty of places to eat and shop. The dune rides were still available

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I took our son for a 4 day weekend to Mears Michigan, we stayed at the Dunes Waterfront Resort right on the beach. This was such a clean and updated hotel and the staff was so friendly. I would defitnetly recommend this to everyone, while you are there, you have to go ride a dune buggy on the the sand dunes, great time and great memories

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunes Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Waterfront Resort

Address: 1180 North Shore Dr., Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four story hotel overlooking Silver Lake and the Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Located in the center of town and close to area restaurants and attractions. Only accommodations in Silver Lake that provide a fire alarm system and sprinkler system for your comfort and safety. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunes Waterfront Hotel Mears
Dunes Waterfront Resort Michigan/Mears

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunes Waterfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.