We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sierra Sands Family Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Silver Lake, Michigan
1 review
“Super friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

I didn't stay here, but stopped in to ask for a local coffee shop. The gentleman in the lobby was very friendly and offered coffee and wifi right there, free of charge. He thanked me for stopping in and asking. I took him up on it. If this is the way I'm greeted, I would most certainly choose this place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    33
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
174
25
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NEPA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Great hosts, great location, great pool. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. The pool is fun for kids and adults. Fire pit, campground-style grill, picnic tables, and a small playground in the back of the property. It's located close to the dunes, go carts, bike and ORV rentals, plus restaurants down the road, and Mears and Hart are only a few miles away. There are bike lanes/sidewalks connecting the motel to Silver Lake, and bike lanes on the shoulders for a couple of miles outside of town, plus easy access in Mears (10 minute drive/20 minute ride) to the Hart-Montague Bicycle Trail. A great place to stay in a beautiful part of Michigan. We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed two nights, my wife and I have two young girls (age 6 & 9). They really enjoyed the pool and whirlpool (both were kept in excellent shape). The entire resort was kept very clean, very good attention to detail.
Everyone was extremely helpful, if they didn't know the answer to a question, then that person would find someone who did know the answer. I can't stand when someone gives me a lame answer just because they don't know and are two lazy to find out, this place is not like that at all.
I would definitly stay here again if we ever travel this way. All their reccommendations for different businesses for activities were very helpful. They have good packages available on their website. Nothing fancy, but very nice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

This was our first time in Sand Lake so we had no idea what to do, they lady at the front desk was really helpful and gave us a list of things to enjoy. The room was beautiful and had tons of room, very clean. Later we wanted to take a walk around town. It was colder than the forecast predicted & I had nothing warm to wear. I went to the front desk looking for a store close by to buy a non-expensive sweater. The Lady at the desk was so nice she let me borrow one of her own!!! I was so grateful; it’s hard to find such nice, caring people now days. This is where we will stay every time we come to Sand Lake. I will be sure to refer all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We just spent a great weekend in Silver Lake! This was our first time vacationing in the area, so I was unsure of what to expect. When we arrived, the hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They definitely made us feel at home. They also recommended fun things to do for the weekend. For the two of us, the room was more than enough. The fridge and microwave were a nice feature & the beds were realllly comfortable. The hotel was very close to the attractions of Silver lake, and it was a great value for the quality of the room and service. We will definitely be staying here next time we vacation in Silver Lake. Thanks, Sierra Sands, for helping to making our trip so great!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stay at this hotel every year we go to Silver Lake now. We have tried all the others in the area, and still keep returning to Sierra Sands. The rooms are always clean, there is plenty of parking, and there is even a little breakfast in the morning! Our favorite part is the hot tub though. It is always so nice to go into a large, clean, relaxing hot tub after a long day on the dunes. The owners are so nice and friendly and have been nothing more than accommodating! We have no bad things to say about this hotel and will return again for many years to come!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, MI
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We came up with our group for a fall color tour, and even though our visit was well past season and much of the town was closed, we had a GREAT time. Our hosts welcomed us with complimentary coffee, maps of the area and brochures. Our rooms were all together, which was handy for impromptu meetings...they even supplied the firewood for the evening gatherings at the group firepit. Our hosts even took our group photo and presented each couple with a copy on our final morning. Each of us has a return visit planned already!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sierra Sands Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel
Sierra Sands Family Lodge Michigan/Mears

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Sands Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.