We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and very clean.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Sands Family Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mears
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sierra Sands Family Lodge
7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Your FUN!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mears
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and very clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a weekend. We booked after it came recommended from some friends. The staff was very friendly. The entire facility was very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room is one of the cleanest we have stayed in. It is obvious that they take pride in the facility. It is conveniently located near the sand dunes and the lake. We will stay again next time we go up and we will recommend to everyone. We LOVED our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you! We share these reviews with the housekeeping staff and they love the positive feedback. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    28
    1
    1
    7
See reviews for
165
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Clean clean clean! Friendly, helpful staff . Would recommend bringing some lawn games if you are there for a longer stay. Would also suggest a few lawn chairs to sit on outside your room. Other than that, a great relaxing family vacation. Thank you Sean and staff!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review, I will pass on the feedback to the staff and look forward to you next trip state side!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My family and I stayed here from 8/8/13 to 8/11/13. Reason why we chose Sierra sands was basically because of all the positive reviews I read. The other two motel resorts are closer to the lake but I am glad we chose Sierra sands resort. Sean and Pam were very very accommodating, friendly, and very knowledgable about the area. The amenities were all you couId ask for and the rooms were not bad at all for being somewhat of a motel resort. We had a great time at Silver Lake and would definitely recommend this place! Family friendly atmosphere all the way!!! We were very satisfied with our stay. Thanks to all the staff at Sierra Sands Resort!!! Hope to see you again soon!!!

Room Tip: I would choose a room on first floor only to avoid stairs since there are no elevators to second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time we have been to this area of Michigan. I am so happy that we stayed here. We have two boys ages 15 and 12 and they had a great time. Sierra Sands is clean well maintained and the pool hot tub area was very nice. All the staff was very nice and extremely helpful with where to go and eat. The fire pits in the back are a great place to meet others staying there and find out about their trips. Also the location is great close to everything but far enough away that you don't hear all the noise. We will more than definitely be back I highly recommend staying here... Thank you for a great weekend away :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your lodging needs while you visited the Silver Lake Sand Dunes area! Happy you and your family had fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had a double room, which was larger and with higher ceilings than in most chain hotels. The room was very clean and although the hotel seemed full, it was quiet and we didn't hear our neighbors or the people above us. It's close to Silver Lake, although not right on it. The pool is great, also very clean. A very well cared for property. The breakfast cinnamon rolls and coffee were good. They also had other baked goods we didn't try. We enjoyed our stay and I would choose it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sierra Sands this past weekend and I was completely amazed! From the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out, it was perfect!! I'm used to staying in higher end hotels and without a doubt, Sierra Sands surpasses them all! The entire room was spotless! Almost sparkling it was so clean! (Lol) I always check the bathroom first, and it was spotless! The tile was is great shape and the tub was perfectly white! Almost as if the whole room was brand new! The microwave was clean, the mini fridge worked great, and the tv and DVD player were like new too! The carpet was clean, no stains, no loose wrinkles, and in great condition! The beds were comfy. I lifted the sheets and mattresses, ya know to check for bugs, and they were immaculate! They were like brand new! They have not 1 but 2 mattress pad covers to ensure cleanliness. There is a down comforter and a sheet on both sides of it and then another comforter on top. We had a late check out and saw the cleaning crew- they COMPLETELY strip the covers and bedding between guests, very nice knowing cleanliness is such a priority for a small resort in a very outdoorsy/camping town. The ac worked great! The walls were so thick we could not hear our neighbors! There is a window to the outside that can open (which was nice) but we could hear the kids voices (who were yelling). When I told Sean he was great! He said to call anytime and he would take care if it- on the 2nd night- absolute silence, it was great! Quieter than any hotel!! We didn't check out the pool but it had kids in it all the time, so it must have been nice! The breakfast was very simple but very good- cheeses, breads, cinnamon rolls, etc. Upon check out, we requested a slightly later check out and luckily they were able to accommodate, and were happy to do so! They have pretty fast wifi with a strong signal. (At NO fault of the resort- Sprint has no signal in the rooms. In fact most of the town has bad Sprint phone signal.---Just a heads up) The playground is nice, my son enjoyed it! Also the fire rings were very nice too!! In fact the whole resort is just perfect! Sierra Sands is perfectly located! Close to the dunes and activities but far enough to still be quiet! As far as food goes, make sure to read the reviews for them on trip adviser- we did and are glad we did! We heard some bad stories from other people about a few if the restaurants. When we were out of ideas, Sean was happy to recommend some! Will definitely be coming back year after year!! -- THANK YOU FOR A PERFECT VACATION SIERRA SANDS!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We look forward to seeing you and your family year after year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were so impressed with Sierra Sands Family Lodge, that we intend on returning next year for another family vacation. The management and staff were very welcoming and informative. The rooms were clean and well serviced by housekeeping. We enjoyed sitting around the bonfire at night roasting marshmallows. The playground was a nice feature for our grandchildren to run around and play. The pool was clean and the water was warm, the hot-tub was super after a long day of hiking the sand dunes. Every morning fresh coffee and pastries were served in the lobby.
We absolutely loved our stay!!!

Room Tip: We liked being on the 1st floor in the center. It made getting in and out with children much easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SierraSands, Owner at Sierra Sands Family Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Sands Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sands Family Lodge

Address: 7990 W Hazel Rd, Silver Lake, Mears, MI 49436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Oceana County > Mears
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mears
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest family friendly lodging at Silver Lake Sand Dunes. Featuring Kid’s Suites with separate cozy bunkroom for children to enjoy their own TV/Play Station as well as a Two Bedroom Family Suite. Standard Rooms include two queen beds, flat screen TV, DVD player. Heated outdoor pool and spa, inviting park area, equipped with basketball area, playground equipment, picnic tables and grills. Experience the thrill and beauty of Silver Lake Sand Dunes and the beautiful beaches of Lake Michigan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Sands Family Hotel Mears
Sierra Sands Family Motel
Sierra Sands Family Lodge Michigan/Mears

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Sands Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sierra Sands Family Lodge to your Saves list