We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great ribs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Restaurant

Sands Restaurant
8448 W Hazel Rd, Mears, MI 49436-9679
231-873-5257
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Mears
Cuisines: American
Description: Located close to Silver Lake Dunes
Restaurant details
Description: Located close to Silver Lake Dunes
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, great ribs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great service, great ribs! Tender, falling off the bone, Fred Flintstone brontosaurus size ribs! I would go here again.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    26
    25
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“We won't be back...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We came here on our way home from Silver Lake. The service was great and the food was okay. The menu is small and didn't really have much to choose from. The place needs updated and their was a wait for the bathroom the whole time we were there. We wished we would have went somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Ate here a couple of years ago and was not impressed. They must have new cooks because the food was very good. Convenient location and a nice menu selection.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

During our Motorcycle Trip this past weekend we stopped here for lunch. The lunch fare was ok. A little higher priced than most. The Restaurant interior was very warm and it had a lot of personal touches. Very nice location

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Anywhere else...this would be out of business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I don't like to write poor reviews of places in small towns..but sometimes you just cannot find a positive. Silver Lake is a beautiful area...but boy is it lacking in any sort of culinary experience. Now, I am not saying I need a Chicago level meal in a tiny town in northern Michigan, but have some self respect for gosh sake. The food was not even sort of good. I ate there 3 times over the course of a week hoping that it would get better each time....it only got worse.

The thing is they have a monopoly in the market there and apparently they know it and use it as a reason to keep push out mediocre at best food at astronomical prices. For 3 people to eat breakfast I think it was like 45 bucks. Whatever, they got my money..but they won't again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sands Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.