We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get There Early!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinn-Chinn

Chinn-Chinn
52885 N Main St, Mattawan, MI
(269) 668-7667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Mattawan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Asian, Bistro, Asian fusion
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Vicksburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Get There Early!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you want dinner at Chinn Chinn's, you better get there early because it's one of the most popular restaurants around. From crab rangoon appetizers to the surf & turf special of the day, everything was very tasty & proportions were large. Chefs were also very accommodating in regard to my vegetarian preferences.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    16
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Easily the best Chinese fare I've even eaten. Twice as good as PF Chang's. This restaurant is on a totally different level of cuisine than your typical take-out joint. I would drive two hours to eat that Kung-Pao again. What is this place doing in Mattawan, MI? Big city flavor and quality. As a matter of fact, I'm leaving to get some now.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was in Kalamazoo on business and decided to get take out to bring back to my hotel. I used my GPS to find nearby restaurants and Chinn Chinn was nearby.

The restaurant was more then half full at 5:00PM on a Wednesday, the gentleman who greeted me was professional and friendly. Probably one of the best Kung pao chicken dishes I've had. Great flavor and the vegetables fresh and perfectly cooked. Also had the cream cheese wontons which were also good, served with a dipping sauce.

Next time I'll eat in, and there will be a next time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, Michigan
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Food is excellent and worth the drive but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I went here on a Sunday afternoon/evening-430p and had to wait. In my opinion, that is a good sign. We were seated faster than expected and the food was excellent. It was fresh and hot. It was a sizable portion too. The service was prompt and the prices were great. However, I can get the same good food from a place up by me. It was worth the little road trip on a Sunday afternoon and I will definately consider it again, if I'm driving by. It was clean too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stopped her while driving by on I-94, at the suggestion of a friend. It is :02 off of the interstate. I was expecting decent Chinese, and oh my, was I pleasantly surprise. The sauces are deep, rich and fabulous. The vegetarian offerings extensive. The physical space was adequate. Will return, and often, when driving through.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinn-Chinn also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
 
Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Mattawan, Van Buren County
 

Been to Chinn-Chinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinn-Chinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.