We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tasting Chinese food made to order” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinn-Chinn

Chinn-Chinn
52885 N Main St, Mattawan, MI
(269) 668-7667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Mattawan
Cuisines: Asian, Bistro, Asian fusion
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great tasting Chinese food made to order”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

We did take out on Sunday. We ate inside in the past. Food was hot, delicious and ready when promised. Service was quick. Kitchen took my order, didn't give me a total when asked. Cashier asked me to fill out receipt...seemed to want a tip for take out? 3 meals and appetizer was $36, so not cheap, but the vest around. It is always busy, even for take out.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    14
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ada, MI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great I-94 traveler's dinner or lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is a great "traveler's find". If you travel I-94 from Detroit to Chicago -- plan to be at Exit 66 (Mattawan, MI) at lunch or dinner -- go just north of the freeway and Chinn Chinn is on your right.
The food is excellent. They have a lots of vegetarian optins, and I choose the Pad Thai with tofu. The tofu was firm and had a good texture and taste. The dish was prepared to my direction for being hot, and had a great mixture of tastes.
I sat at a higher table and could see other peoples entres - and they all looked great. While I prefer vegetarian, they had more options for a standard diet.
The restaraunt was clean, with an inviting upscale feel; even though the meals were very reasonable at around $10 per plate.
This restaraunt is worth fitting into your travel plans along I-94.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Great food. Have eaten here several times over the past few years and have yet to have anything but a great meal. The flavors of the dishes are all distinctive and are not your 'average Chinese restaurant'. We live an hour away and will go out of our way to dine here. Get there early or be prepared to wait, they are very popular.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food but you will wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The food at Chinn Chinn is the best Asian food the greater Kalamazoo area has to offer in my opinion. You need to plan on waitting, and depending on the time you go, waitting, waitting and waitting some more. I do beleive that this is because the chef uses fresh ingedients and takes the time to prepare each dish. So my advice is this, if you don't want to wait, go EARLY (like 4pm). If you want take-out, call EARLY or anticipate not eatting before 8pm. A great idea is to try lunch. The prices are good, the wait, if any, is much shorter and the food is mostly the same as dinner. Not open on Mondays.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I love this restaurant and just can't bring ourselves to eat at a regular Chinese restaurant. The food at Chinn Chinn is fabulous! The Peanut Noodle appetizer, Honey Mustard Chicken, and Mongolian Beef are favorites! The only downfall is the wait. We try to avoid the heavy rush times if at all possible.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinn-Chinn also viewed

Kalamazoo, Kalamazoo County
Paw Paw, Van Buren County
 
Paw Paw, Van Buren County
 

Been to Chinn-Chinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinn-Chinn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.