We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will go back but I will not hurry there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Junction Buoy

Junction Buoy
1415 River Road, Marysville, MI 48040
810-364-5730
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Marysville
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Marysville, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I will go back but I will not hurry there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

food is a little higher priced but very good, view is nice on the deck, service is sometimes slow,but overall a nice little place to go on the water.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lunch at the Junction Buoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had lunch on a beautiful, sunny day. Sat on the deck overlooking the water and the ambience was perfect. The service was a little slow but we weren't in any hurry so that wasn't an issue. I had the pickerel sandwich with coleslaw. It was a large sandwich but the pickerel was nicely cooked although the batter was a little salty. The other person had a club house sandwich and it was a generous portion. In fact, with a side salad, one lunch would have been enough for the two of us. So, I would say it say it was good value for the money. This is a great spot for a meal especially on a sunny day when you can sit outside.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Decent Food And Stunning View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

It's the location that makes this place a super hit, especially on a sunny weekend afternoon. The restaurant sits right on the St. Clair River. Canada is clearly visible just a mile or so away on the other side.

During our first visit (so far) the parking lot was full. Not a single space available which almost caused me to waive this place off figuring there would be no channe of snagging a table. But a spot opened up across the street and we parked and headed to the restaurant with fingers crossed.

Surprisingly there were three tables inside that were unoccupied. Otherwise all the tables inside, tables outside, and seats at the bar were all jammed with patrons.

The view on this sunny day was stunning and mesmerizing. Amazingly here in Michigan, many of our rivers are actually blue unlike the muddy Mississippi and Ohio! And the blue color is really pronounced when the sun is shining brightly.

After taking our seats (no hostess was visible when we entered) the hostess did arrive with a nice smile and a couple of menus. I swear this woman looked exactly like a young Martha Stewart!

Despite the hustle and bustle our server arrived a short time later and took our drink orders. Checking the menu we saw something we hadn't seen since a recent visit to Florida - fried dill pickles! So we jumped on an order of those and then checked out the menu.

It was a wide ranging menu featuring everything from fresh Great Lakes fish like pickerel, yellow perch and whitefish to steaks, pasta, chicken, salads, sandwiches and more!

I was bent between deep fried pickerel (which is also known as walleye) and pan fried whitefish. Our server said both were good so I went with the pickerel. I had sampled the same thing recently at two other waterfront restaurants in Michigan and wanted to see how this place's fish measured up. My wife went with a deep fried pickerel sandwich.

We each had a choice of soup or salad. I got a nice, small salad and my wife wife had a cup of clam chowder.

The fried pickles were great! Battered and deep fried. Yeah I know. This meal was murder on our arteries but we don't misbehave all that often! They were served with a ranch dipping sauce. My wife's chowder (New England style) was good and probably made from scratch. She loved it although when she let me have a taste, I thought it was a little overpowered by tarragon. Still it was tasty.

My pickerel came with a baked potato and it was a fair size fillet. While good, it wasn't quite as good as I've had at other restaurants in the region. The batter was thick, so thick and hard that at the end of the fillet I could not successfully cut it with my fork. I had to pick it up and snap it with my fingers. My wife thought her pickerel sandwich was very good. And I almost forgot to mention that in addition to the choice of potato with mine, it also came with fresh and I mean really fresh veggies, which was unexpected. It came with roasted cauliflower, zucchini squash and green beans.

The maritime traffic on the river is incredible. While we were there huge cabin cruisers passed by along with big and small sail boats. We also saw walleye fisherman anchored up in their 14 foot aluminum boats, jet skis, even kayaks. This is a busy international waterway for Great Lakes and ocean going vessels and just as we were finishing our meal, the Whitefish Bay freighter steamed by. It was huge and a very impressive sight. And several cigarette boats blitzed by at a very high rate of speed.

On a scale of one to five stars, this place gets an overall 4. If I was just rating it for food, it would score a 3. But when you add the drop dead beautiful setting and the extreme friendliness and efficiency of the entire staff there, that kicks it up to a 4.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, fl.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It's the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The bouy sits on a piece of land extending right to the shoreline of the Saint Clair River. They have a boat dock and a very roomy outside deck, taking advantage of the views of the boats and ships sliding closely by. We go mostly for cocktails with the view, but do eat on occasion, from their fairly standard menu. The food is average but very edible. Building is clean and well maintained.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Time Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a good place to good for lunch. It offers a good view of the St. Clair River and the passing freighters. The service is decent and the menu is sufficient. They have some really good salads and ona nice day the deck seating is really nice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junction Buoy also viewed

 

Been to Junction Buoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Junction Buoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.