We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere adds to Fantastic Food & Drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dark Horse Brewing Co

Dark Horse Brewing Co
511 S. Kalamazoo Ave., Marshall, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Marshall
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
michigan
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere adds to Fantastic Food & Drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Dark Horse is a great find in an industrial section of a small Michigan town. Not too far off the I-94/I-69 interchange, it's a convenient stop for lunch or dinner for anyone traveling along either of those freeway routes. But you may want to spend the night in Marshall, because the great Dark Horse beer may prevent you from hitting the road again immediately after your meal!

If your visit is during the always too short Michigan summer, make sure to get a table outside. It is the only restaurant patio area I have ever come across that compares to the unique and legendary Dominick's in Ann Arbor. Plenty of seating, outdoor bar, play area for the kids. The menu selection is extensive and I had a difficult time choosing, but was very happy with my roast beef sandwich on pretzel bread. Interesting beer selection that did not disappoint. Staff was attentive and friendly. Gift shop across the parking lot where a Dark Horse t-shirt or six pack can go home with you.

We left trying to figure out reasons to go through Marshall, Michigan more often!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    44
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“King of Michigan IPA's in a Unique Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I don't get to Marshall, MI enough to enjoy Dark Horse Brewing Company. The brewer here started brewing in his house while attending college in Marquette, Michigan. He has gone on to have one of the most successful craft breweries in Michigan.

Here you will be able to taste the full assortment of Dark Horse beers; there are many rotating seasonal beers. My favorite is the Crooked Tree IPA, and my wife prefers the Raspberry. The facility might look a little rough around the edges to some, and frankly - that is part of the charm. I wouldn't want them to change a thing. In the summer - there are several events that take place is the spacious and welcoming beer garden. The food is also very good - calzones and pizza is top notch!

The mug club here is also one of the largest of Michigan craft breweries. Each mug is unique and hangs from the wall and ceiling. The mugs are tossed by a potter north of Marquette who also makes all of the mugs at Blackrocks Brewery in Marquette, MI.

Adjacent to the Dark Horse Brewery is the General Store... find Dark Horse merchandise and beer. Also there is a motorcycle and tattoo shop. Worth a visit and not what many expect in sleepy Marshall, MI.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MI
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great craft beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a bar. Not a fancy bone in the whole place.But what it has going for it is the best craft beer offerings, very friendly staff, & awesome food. Pizzas, calzones chili, salads &sandwiches are great. There is an outdoor stage for bands, & a sandbox stocked with toys for children. It is anodd combination but works. The place to go to kick back & taste a great one of a kind beer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great beer, bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Okay, my biggest complaint to Dark Horse is that you can not do beer flights. My husband and I visited a bunch of breweries in Michigan (12-13) on this trip and this is the only one that does not sell samplers. We like to try a variety of beers and since we are from Ohio, we can't always get the big variety of these beers. The beers are great though!!!

Food is bar food. I had a calzone which was huge and greasy! My husbands sandwhich was good though.

Service was standard. Not great but we got everything we need.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivet, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Raspberry Ale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The Raspberry Ale is my favorite. Have been please with all the food we've tried. Particularly fond of the Old Fashioned Pizza, we add tomatoes & onions. The bread is awesome, made from their spent grain. The ambiance is unique. It can be difficult to find seating in the winter, hopefully, they'll remedy that issue. Summer has been no problem with garden area open. Looking forward to purchasing a mug at the next available opportunity, probably late this year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dark Horse Brewing Co also viewed

Marshall, Calhoun County
 
Marshall, Calhoun County
 

Been to Dark Horse Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dark Horse Brewing Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.