We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Marshall

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Marshall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marshall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   329 Sam Hill Dr, Marshall, MI 49068   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Marshall
Pentwater
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a very clean hotel. The rooms look like they have been recently updated. The beds are very comfortable I think they are pillowtop and you get 4 pillows on each bed which is great if you are picky like me. At this hotel are great amenities, like a gym and exercise room. The yummy breakfast in the morning is worth the stay. The staff were very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
9
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fresno CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here four nights while visiting for Thanksgiving. Great location for visiting Marshall and Battle Creek. This was your basic Holiday Inn Express but the staff were exceptionally friendly. Clean basic room although I was a little surprised there was no housekeeping service on Thanksgiving day itself - no big problem though. Kudos to them for caring about their staff. The breakfast room was unusually warm every day- I even had to ask for help opening a window. Breakfast seemed a little subpar compared to other HIs. Hubby liked that there was a gym, small, but clean and functional. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to Louie's Bakery and ask for a nut roll. Go early as they sell out quickly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It was our 50th college graduation and we wanted to all stay in the same place. Staff were all very friendly, took great care of us, and made sure we could sit together at breakfast without interfering with other guests. We got a special room rate for our reunion, and one of the group (me) enjoyed the closeness of the casino. Would most definitely stay there again as would the rest of the group...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stay just one night, but had a great time in htis small town. Front desk was very helpful in finding local restaruants. Be sure to ask! Marshall has a beautiful downtown area - don't miss the fountain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Very comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly. Breakfast was also very tasty. Hotel easy to find. Located just of I94 on the North side of marshall. Only 5 miles from the Firekeepers casino. Bed was a little hard but otherwise was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on March 28, 2012. The hotel itself was a typical HIE, clean and nicely decorated. I especially liked the decor in the breakfast room. The staff was helpful and professional. Check in was simple and quick. We were assigned a King room with a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi tub was quite large. We did not use it so I can't comment on the jets in it. Didn't really like all of the large mirrors surrounding the tub, just don't want to see myself in the mirrors everywhere I am in the room. I must say that I've never stayed in an HIE where I could hear the people walking in the room above us. I don't know if they were heavy walkers or if there wasn't enough insulation between the floors, but we could hear them everytime they walked across their room. The indoor swimming pool was closed. We were told it was only temporary while a handicap lift was being installed. As for the breakfast, I do like the pancake machines the HIE have now. Makes it very easy to get one of my favorite breakfast items. This is the first time we've been at an HIE that didn't provide any meat item. We were told that since they had sausage gravy that day, there would be no bacon or sausage, so if you don't like sausage gravy, you're out of luck, no meat to go with your pancakes.When we filled up our vehicle with gas at the station out front, we received a coupon for 10% off of a purchase at the Denny's next door.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marshall, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
FLgal8,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not satisfied with the breakfast service received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We visit the area about once a year to see friends. Stayed at the HIE Marshall for the second time March 16-18, 2012. Rooms are nice and clean. We also used the fitness area and pool and they were well maintained. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful at check in and check out. Breakfast area is nice. Not excellent, but it's free and you can find everything you need for a filling breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located and is average to above average. I would recommend a stay here if you are visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marshall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marshall

Address: 329 Sam Hill Dr, Marshall, MI 49068
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Calhoun County > Marshall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Marshall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Marshall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Marshall Hotel is just minutes east of Battle Creek and offers guest rooms that are beautifully appointed and feature many highly requested items for this mid-market hotel. We have the 'Simply Smart' Free Deluxe Breakfast, High Speed Internet, Fitness Center, In-Room Coffee Makers, Voicemail, In-Room Irons and Ironing Board and Hair Dryers, Indoor Pool, Spa Rooms, and Kids Suites all bring you back to your Home Away From Home in Historic Marshall, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marshall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marshall Hotel Marshall
Holiday Inn Marshall
Marshall Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Marshall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.