We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Marquette

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Marquette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Marquette
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1951 US 41 West, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Marquette
Cheboygan, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I stayed at the Holiday Inn, Marquette for 2 weeks in July with my family and small dog. It was a combination business / leisure trip. We had 2 adjoining rooms on the main floor. The rooms were in excellent condition. Staff was friendly. Pool was quite large with a separate hot tub. In the lobby every afternoon, fresh apples were set out for the guests and every evening warm cookies were set out. I didn't dine in the restaurant - there are many restaurants nearby. Would recommend this hotel for one night or 15.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    42
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
42
31
18
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leelanau County, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

My wife and I, traveling on vacation, arrived to find out that our reserved room with king-size bed was switched to a fifth-floor room with two doubles. The reason was due to the part of hotel inwhich our reserved room was located was going to have work done on hot water line, and that hot water may not be available. For the inconvenience, we were given passes for a free breakfast and complimentary drink in the restaurant/lounge. Unfortunately, the comped breakfast was for either a bowl of oatmeal, or among two "economy" plate choices. Beverages were not included. My wife's OJ was additional. Later, that evening, I ordered my complimentary drink, only to find out that the pass was only good for either a $3.00 discount on one drink only, or one free soft drink.
Two mornings later (Tuesday) there were no luggage carts to be found when we attempted to leave at 8-AM. I checked each floor, the parking lot, and the lobby. Too few carts for the number of guests staying? So our entire luggage (6 bags + 2 laptops) had to be moved without use of cart. Then, the lone elevator located near our room was also one used by housecleaning staff to transport both their large carts and person to their assigned floors. Four times we waited for an elevator to open at our floor, only to find ourselves faced with an elevator fully occupied by a housekeeper with cart (who was going to a different floor). Finally, on the fourth attempt, I asked the housekeeper (who was also going to a different floor) to return to the main floor and return with the hotel manager ASAP. She graciously stepped off the elevator (with cart) and allowed us to use the now-empty elevator. I thanked her profusely, but am still very disappointed with the whole Holiday Inn-Marquette experience. In hindsight, we were misled on the complimentary drink (not free, just a $3 discount, one coupon per room only - Corporate policy our server informed us), and the comped breakfast fell short of making us feel any better about giving up a king-size bed on a long-needed vacation. I felt we were severly shortchanged in the end. To say I am very disappointed would be a great understatement.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marquette hotels

Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Nice beds, clean room, friendly staff. Hotel pool and whirlpool was clean and refreshing. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The Holiday Inn of Marquette provided the best and friendliest service I have ever experienced. Thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, OH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We arrived after a long drive from North Dakota. Upon checkin, we received coupons for $3.00 off drinks and coupons for free breakfast the next morning and we were chosen as the Priority Club Member of the day (or something like that) and we received a large chocolate bar and a card signed by everyone. There were only 3 choices for the free breakfast: Eggs, bacon or sausage and toast; or Pancakes; or Oatmeal and toast; all included coffee or tea. Portions were pretty good; saved us money on breakfast. The rooms were a little dated but clean and quiet. We were only spending the night, so didn't use any of the facilites. We checked out the pools and it was really large (we are used to the Holiday Inn Express which have small pools). The price for the stay was very reasonable ($70). I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

The main issue I had with this hotel was the staff. The front desk staff was nice, and the bartender was great, but everyone else was rude. The housekeeping staff woke us up bright and early our first morning, quickly prompting a "Do Not Disturb" sign for the rest of the trip. They also yelled up and down the hall at eachother at all hours of the day, and clogged up the hallways and elevators constantly with their carts of cleaning supplies. The breakfast was disgusting, and the prices were on par with Perkins right down the street; however the quality was nowhere close. The wait staff was extremely rude, never bothering to check in on us once our food was out. We almost had to leave without paying because she took FOREVER to bring the check. This is keeping in mind we were practically the only ones in the place. Definitely avoid.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

I have been staying at the Holiday Inn in Marquette, Michigan for many years now. I'm writing this, as I felt it was about time I share my experience with other fellow travelers and at the same time, say "Thank You" to a staff of absolutely wonderful people.
As I am a frequent business traveler, I feel as though I've had a fair amount of experience with hotels of all shapes and sizes. In my opinion, the Marquette Holiday Inn is unsurpassed in providing a most comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. The staff's attention to detail and their constant effort to make you feel like you belong there, is why I continually refer to my favorite hotel as "My Home Away From Home"!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Marquette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Marquette

Address: 1951 US 41 West, Marquette, MI 49855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Marquette 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Marquette for business or just for fun, you will find all that you need at the full service Holiday Inn. We pride ourselves in exceeding your expectations by going the extra mile for each guest, treating you like a valued friend, and being ready when you need us. Your home away from home is located within minutes from some of the area s most popular attractions including: Northern Michigan University Marquette General Health Systems Superior Dome Berry Events Center Lakeview Arena Shimmering Lake Superior Nationally recognized Greywalls Golf Course For business or pleasure We can help make your day. Enjoy a swim in our crystal clear indoor pool; the largest in the area, or relax in our over-sized whirlpool. Our family, friendly pool area has the space needed to accommodate all of our hotel guests. Don t miss a workout just because you are away from home. Take advantage of our on site fitness center conveniently located near the pool area. Polish that presentation at the business center or print off your boarding passes in our well equipped business center. Whatever brings you to Marquette, the Queen City of the U.P., we are here for you. We are the Holiday Inn of Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Marquette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Marquette Hotel Marquette
Marquette Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Marquette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.