We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lagniappe is always good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagniappe Cajun Creole Eatery

Lagniappe Cajun Creole Eatery
145 Washington Street, Marquette, MI 49855
906.226.8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 104 Restaurants in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ishpeming, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lagniappe is always good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Crawfish Etouffe is my favorite. Dirty rice, cheddar grit cakes just to name a few of the sides that are offered. Excellent wait staff and the chef always make at least one or two rounds to say Hi to the patrons. Everything is nicely spiced a good break from the bland that seems to abound elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    41
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Cajon Creole Cuisine in Marquette MI!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Yes, believe it! This former lower level 1940's era bowling alley turned restaurant is as close to Cajon Creole Cuisine as one can expect! The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially when patrons need assistance with choosing from the 100 meal selection menu! I love the gumbo and jambalaya. You can specify the degree of "heat" that you like. The sausage is made by the restaurants' own meat manager , it is available for purchase in a small shop next to the restaurant. The decor is inline with any New Orleans French Quarter restaurant...funky, colorful, fun. Hats and Mardi Gras masks are available for patrons who are in a celebratory mood! The bartender has a full stock of Michigan Beers, and others, along with bourbons, whiskeys, and a complete array of cocktails! Pure Michigan fun and food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“spicy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The food is pretty spicy wish you could choose the level of spice. Didn't really like the sharing tables because there wasn't enough room for your plates

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LagniappeCajunCreole, Manager at Lagniappe Cajun Creole Eatery, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Just an FYI.. The day you are talking about sharing tables was Mardi Gras Day. That is the only day we do community seating in the restaurant. As for the spicy food, what did you have? We can usually alter the seasoning in most of our food. Thanks for coming in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth Driving out of your way to !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I think one of the food shows had a rating grade of "worth driving out of your way to." This place is awesome !! I admit however that my Louisiana food knowledge is about zero - having only been to New Orleans once (which was enough).

I come up each year for the NoQuemenon ski race and since being taken to Lagniappe - I have not eaten anywhere else. I can't recommend anything specific since it's all always been good. I do however always get the blackened alligator bites the night after the ski race (I stick to the rice or pasta dishes (yes - cajun pasta - it is great!) the night before the race.)

I'm planning to come back up for the Ore to Shore, Marathon or 50 mile this summer just for an excuse to allow my wife and daughters to experience this great place (and of course staying at the LandMark Inn !!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Marquette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Best place in Marquette! The staff is always willing to give suggestions that are amazing! Drinks are delicious. The food is just incredible! I try to eat here as often as I can.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagniappe Cajun Creole Eatery also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Lagniappe Cajun Creole Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagniappe Cajun Creole Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.