We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza I've had in years--including the 4 years I lived in Chicago.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vango's Pizza

Vango's Pizza
927 N Third St, Marquette, MI 49855
906 228 7707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 104 Restaurants in Marquette
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Vicksburg, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best pizza I've had in years--including the 4 years I lived in Chicago.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Found out about Vango while reading the Marquette County, Michigan travel magazine that I picked up at our hotel. Note--we parked on the street, but there is a small parking lot in the back. We ordered a pepperoni/banana pepper pizza and there is only one type of crust available--which is on the cusp of thin/medium. Pizza was an "A+". Crust was perfect as I like thin and the wife likes medium, and it was just crispy enough. Generous amount of tomato sauce without being excessive, fresh mozzarella, and fine cuts of pepperoni. With the pizza and a few beers, our bill w/20% tip was just over $20. Quite a terrific value! If in Marquette, definitely check this out along with "L'Attitude" downtown lakefront.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    35
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pizza and waffle fries are amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Vango's food never fails! It is always good and the service is generally good. They are a busy place all the time. If you are looking for a quiet place this would not be it but the food is GREAT!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Good dependable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Vangos has a good variety of food at a very reasonable price.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
“Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The whole wait staff should be replaced. They treat their job as if it's an opportunity to talk and visit with each other. I wish I had back all of the undeserved tip money that I've given them in the last twenty or so years. The food is priced very reasonably, and is very good. But it makes for a bad visit when a waitress that has had me as a customer for at least 15 years stands two feet away at the bar and doesn't even say hi or even give a smile. They could hire half as many waitresses that work harder and the service would be ten times as good. With the money the owners save they could give the kitchen staff a well deserved raise.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“You gotta have a Vango's Pizza when in Marquette!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This place has been a staple for great pizza since my college years in the 70's. Every time we go back we still get a pizza and they still are wonderful. Atmosphere is typical bar, but the sauce and cheese on the pizza is great. They also have a wonderful Greek salad.....just go and enjoy!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vango's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Vango's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vango's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.