We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2472 US Highway 41 West, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We like Country Inn & Suites and find them very comfortable. The staff person was sweet and helpful, we were offered our choice of floor to stay on which I appreciate. Room was neat and clean. Breakfast was great. Our only glitch was that the only extra entry/exit to the back parking area was a limited access point. My husband came in with no problem but when we tried to leave, there was a private party going on and it was awkward. When I mentioned it the next morning to a staff person she said there should have been a sign. I would suggest telling guest on check-in that the entry/exit was not always available (there was another meeting the morning we left!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking your time to share regarding your recent experience. Our staff possesses a genuine attitude to serve our guests and I'm pleased you encountered that over the course of your stay. I apologize for the inconvenience you ran into with our back entry and thank you for your suggestion. Guest feedback is important to us and we are exploring options to remedy that situation in our upcoming renovation. Thank you for staying with us; we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again when you return to Marquette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
55
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for four nights.
Very clean, good breakfast included
We would stay here again
Rooms very comfy
Good location , only a short drive to all parts of Marquette
And Lake Superior.
Nice indoor swimming pool

Room Tip: We were happy on third floor Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay! We greatly appreciate guest feedback and are pleased to read you enjoyed your quiet, third floor room. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Marquette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a great experience! No complaints here! The front desk girls were friendly & helpful. Our room was very neat & clean. We liked that the pool stayed open until 12:00am. Breakfast had a good selection and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
I'm happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed each component of your recent stay. We're so glad to have provided a great experience for you and hope to have the honor of seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

After a rainy and wet camping trip we packed up early and drove to Marquette. We chose the Country Inn as I have always had good experiences. I know the beds are comfortable, the breakfast is decent and the hotels are clean. I have always booked my hotels in advance until this time. I was greeted by a really nice, polite girl. She was extremely helpful, patient and kind. She got us checked in, assisted with finding local places to order pizza for our dinner and brought us a rollaway bed all very quickly. The room was clean. The bathroom was spacious. The pool and hot tub were just what we needed. Breakfast was decent. The internet was on the slow side, but not terrible. We didn't get out check-out receipt under the door like we do in most hotels. I had to go to the front desk and actually check-out. We did have key issues, but the front desk was able to fix that for us. Another decent stay at a cozy Country Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your recent experience at our property. I'm happy to hear you found our hotel to be welcome and cozy after getting rained out on your camping trip. Our staff truly takes great delight in serving each and every guest and providing a comfortable stay; I'm glad that shone through to you in your interaction with our Front Desk staff! We've opted to provide receipts at the desk which enables us to have noise guards at the base of the guest room doors for a peaceful, quiet stay. We hope to see you on your next trip through our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a second floor room ,with windows facing the highway, and no traffic noise to bother our sleep. The rooms were amazingly quite, considering the hotel was pracitcally booked. The staff was very helpful & friendly- ready with good suggestions on where to eat & what to see. We especially enjoyed talking to & getting information from Samantha. She shared a lot of her local knowledge with us, making our trip that much more fun! Thanks for a great visit! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Happy Anniversary! I'm delighted to hear we were able to provide a peaceful backdrop for your special trip to Marquette. I'm very proud of the team we have here, and your kind words about Samantha will be appreciatively received by her. Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay at our property. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville MI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel and the Marquette area. The only reason I couldn't give it a 5 star was because the second night the a/c was making ticking noises when it cycled off. Also it kept us up because it kept going on and off. It would click on and the blower would come on for a few seconds and then click off. Then it would go through its normal cooling cycle a few minutes later. Strange, didn't do that at all the night before. We were afraid if we turned it off it would get too stuffy so we suffered through the night and woke up quite a bit because of it. The cookies were good, the room was clean, the bed extremely comfy, and the pool/hot tub was nice. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends/family. And if we go back to Marquette and stay in a hotel, we will try and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write regarding your recent experience at our property. I'm so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend our hotel to others! I'm sorry your second night of sleep was less than restful. Please feel free to call the Front Desk 24/7 if we can do anything to improve your stay by checking your A/C, providing ear plugs, or switching you to a different room. We look forward to providing wonderful and restful accommodations on your next visit to Marquette.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this Country Inn location. Very clean and welcoming upon arrival. Pool area was utilized and loved by the kids and me...as the water temp was very comfortable. Breakfast was good and staff was working hard to keep everything fully stocked.

Our only issue, which was resolved by the front desk staff had to do w/ our sleeper sofa in the King suite we stayed in. When the sofa was converted into the bed for our kids to crash in, the sheets were all made but the top of the bedding was covered in hairs..and we aren't talking from the top of your head!!! My wife was disgusted and ripped them off and we called the front desk. They promptly brought up new bedding and we made the bed.

All in all, yes, it was disgusting but the staff handled it well. We all slept well and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and were able to take advantage of our indoor pool and complimentary breakfast. I apologize for the issue with your sofa bed; this is most unusual and definitely falls short of our immaculate standards. I'm pleased to hear our staff responded quickly and in a way that made it right for you. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again and providing a completely satisfactory experience in every way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites

Address: 2472 US Highway 41 West, Marquette, MI 49855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marquette
#2 Family Hotel in Marquette
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Marquette hotel is ideally located near Northern Michigan University, Lake Superior, beautiful parks and historic landmarks. Recently awarded the elite Global Hospitality award from Carlson Hotels, we offer comfortable guest rooms and suites with value-packed amenities and guest-centered service. Our Marquette hotel's complimentary amenity list includes a flat screen HDTV, microwave and refrigerator in all rooms, high-speed, wireless Internet access, indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Business Center, on-site Fitness Center or guest access to Snap Fitness, and a deluxe Be Our Guest breakfast served on china dining ware. Walk next door to Buffalo Wild Wings or enjoy numerous other nearby dining options. Make your reservations today, and experience why we have consistently won top honors here at the Country Inn & Suites, Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites
Country Hotel Marquette
Country Inn Marquette
Marquette Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.