We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it! A+ stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2472 US Highway 41 West, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book a Business Package
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
Brisbane
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We loved it! A+ stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel was recently named #1 Country Inn USA, and I know why. The staff were friendly, safe location, comfy beds and clean room. Breakfast was good, a bit more of a healthy variety would top off the experience. Kids loved the pool, parents loved the larger sized rooms. Dont bother looking anywhere else - stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you; we love hearing such great reviews of our hotel - we work hard to earn your five stars, and we're proud we did it! I look forward to seeing you again, if your travels bring your back to our beautiful area! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    49
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
80
55
7
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We arrive in Marquette with no reservations during peak summer season and were nervous we wouldn't find somewhere good to stay.
We stopped at this Country Inn & Suites and saw the parking lot was packed but we were fortunate enough to get a room for two nights!
We were surprised at the low rate and were very pleased with the hotel. It's got a nice little living room/lobby area where you check in, and even a "library" where you can borrow a book to read during your stay. I thought that was a nice touch!
The room was very clean. We used the guest laundry one night and found the machines to be very clean and new looking. The dispenser was out of Tide but the lady at the front desk refilled it immediately. There was a lovely indoor pool, which we did not use, but saw lots of people using and appeared to be having fun :)
There was a delicious hot continental breakfast in the morning, and that little room was PACKED with guests enjoying the waffles!
The only one thing I can think of that I didn't care for was the parking inf ront of the building. The hotel is up on a hill and there didn't appear to be a guard rail where you parked, facing the "cliff." Granted, I am a little scared of heights, but I would recommend a fence or a rail or something be installed.
Overall I would definitely recommend staying here while in Marquette. It's right in town near restaurants (Buffalo Wild Wings is next door, walking distance) and right on the main road.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel when you're in Marquette.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Your kind words mean a lot to us; thank you for your great review of our hotel.
I know how you feel about parking at the top of a hill! Fortunately, we have not had any issues as of yet, but we definitely welcome your input to help us fine-tune our property.
We look forward to hosting you again, in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Check in/check out easy, helpful staff, clean and well kept. Close to town and highways.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your review - we appreciate you taking the time to tell others your enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

They only have one computer for guests to use and it is in the lobby, not much privacy there. Pool is small. Rooms nice but nothing exceptional. Service was good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for your kind words regarding our service and hotel. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
400 reviews 400 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Country Inn and Suites for 4 nights while in Marquette for a high school reunion. Our room was large with a king bed, couch, chairs, desk, large screen TV, refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot. The bed was very comfortable. The linens were cheap. You could see your hand through the wash cloth. Breakfast is included and was very good. While we were there they served, scrambled eggs, sausage, sausage gravy, French toast, waffles, fruit and yogurt and many other things. There is no charge for internet or parking. The staff is very friendly. There is no bell hop service, but they do have carts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you, we appreciate your positive review of our hotel, services and staff! We look forward to hosting you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westland, Mi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I am a Travel Agent and have stayed at many hotels and motels. My wife and I stayed three nights at the Country Inn & Suites in Marquette June 2011. I Have never stayed at a motel any cleaner. The room and the common areas were emaculate. We took advantage of the complimentary breadkfast one day and i was very impressed with the way the staff was constantly checking the food, making sure it was freswh and full. On the way to the elevator we would pass the pool and hot tub area. It was used a great deal but still was always neat and clean. I Would highly recommend this motel to anyone planning a trip to the Marquette area. John Pantalone

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Mr. Pantalone, we love to hear such glowing reviews of our hotel! Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in keeping our hotel so clean, and our breakfast staff loves to hear about happy guests. We look forward to hosting you in the future, and are honored that you would recommend us to others! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Having a son, his wife, and their children living in Marquette, we have visited Marquette at least annually, for over 20 years. During that time we have tried just about every type accommodation: lakeside motels, lakeside cottage, in town hotel and motel. THEN Country Inn opened! Always top notch and trying hard to be the best they can be. They have received awards for being the best and they have deserved them. The only negative I can think of has to do with breakfast cereal choices: fruity cherrio looking stuff, sweetie flakes, raisin bran, and the Special K with these nasty "plastic" strawberry looking fruity things... Not a big problem: I just pick up a small bowl, then dump the nasties into it. I understand the desire to have something that appeals to children, but a choice of plain cherrios and/or plain Special K or plain Total would be so nice for adults.

We will return, hopefully, many more times to Marquette and Country inn will be our first choice for hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnMarquette, Public Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you for your very kind words! Our desire is to have all of our guests feel right at home, and we're glad that you've enjoyed your stays with us.

Your suggestion for an unsweetened cereal is a very welcome and good request! Comments and ideas help us to continue to offer the best possible service for our guests - our guests' satisfaction is a priority that helps us win those awards we're so proud of! We will look into other options cereal from our suppliers, and hope that we are able to accommodate your request in the near future!

We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to Marquette!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites

Address: 2472 US Highway 41 West, Marquette, MI 49855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marquette
#3 Family Hotel in Marquette
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Marquette hotel is ideally located near Northern Michigan University, Lake Superior, beautiful parks and historic landmarks. Recently awarded the elite Global Hospitality award from Carlson Hotels, we offer comfortable guest rooms and suites with value-packed amenities and guest-centered service. Our Marquette hotel's complimentary amenity list includes a flat screen HDTV, microwave and refrigerator in all rooms, high-speed, wireless Internet access, indoor swimming pool and whirlpool, Business Center, on-site Fitness Center or guest access to Snap Fitness, and a deluxe Be Our Guest breakfast served on china dining ware. Walk next door to Buffalo Wild Wings or enjoy numerous other nearby dining options. Make your reservations today, and experience why we have consistently won top honors here at the Country Inn & Suites, Marquette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites
Country Hotel Marquette
Country Inn Marquette
Marquette Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.