We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Birchmont Motel

Birchmont Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marquette
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchmont Motel
Save
You added Birchmont Motel to your Saves list
2090 US 41 South, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
Houghton, Michigan, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dated and dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a large room under the office for our family of 5. It was close to the pool, which was great, but the room was dirty and the couch smelled terrible. The staff was vacuuming the office early in the morning and woke us all up. The location is good though and some of the rooms are better than others. But the rooms I saw all had a kind of musty smell.

Room Tip: Unless the large room under the office has been renovated, I would avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchmontmotel2012, Owner at Birchmont Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate your feedback about our motel. We are pleased to announce that we have completely renovated the room under the office. We replaced the couch with a new sleeper sofa (so we now have three doubles and one queen bed), added a new stainless steel refrigerator, replaced the carpets and vinyl flooring, added new cabinets, and replaced the ceiling tiles throughout the suite.

In addition we have hired more staff for cleaning and made it our policy to vacuum after 11am in the office to allow our guests below to enjoy and relax in the morning.

We are sorry for your poor experience at our motel and want you to know we strive to make every customers' stay a good one.

Jill Malin
Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
24
25
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ketchikan, Alaska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The room was very clean and comfortable. We had a kitchenette (but didn't use it). The internet speed was excellent. The desk clerk was very nice and helpful. We had a great view of Lake Superior, and a nice private balcony with chairs, overlooking the Lake. There is a running/biking trail along the Lake, just across the road, so it is great for those who want to exercise. My husband and I are used to staying in Holiday Inn Expresses, and this was just fine for us. We would go there again if staying in Marquette. The only suggestion I have for the management is to remove the ashtrays outside the doors and ask people to smoke away from the buildings. (In fact, however, no one was smoking when we were there and nothing smelled like smoke. But I don't enjoy seeing dirty ashtrays.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wausau, wi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

When I heard they had an outdoor pool....I was hooked...it brought back so many memories of childhood vacations.....also the first "Vacation" movie...equipped with small kitchenettes ....deck chairs and picnic tables, a hammock....and even a gas grill 8 feet from our door...it is quite the ideal of a northern Michigan vacation....toss in a free continental breakfast with fruit/bagels and pastries....awesome piping hot coffee and a very friendly/charming/kind hostess...how could you possibly go wrong.....street construction aside...could not have asked for a better place to stay...and if I did not mention....there are 3 casinos within an hour of Marquette, MI

Room Tip: we had a back access, but a front view of Lake Superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

When we checked in we were disappointed to find out we had been double booked in to the suite and the other party had already checked in. The front desk clerk Steve was genuinely sorry and was willing to do anything to make up for this mistake. Luckily, the other party that had checked in was my father-in-law with whom we were sharing the suite. Crisis adverted.

We had a wonderful stay at the Birchmont. We stayed in the suite below the main office that has two double beds in the main living area and a separate room with a double bed. This is the only room that has a full refrigerator and oven. It also has a full size coffee maker, microwave and toaster. This room was super spacious and located right next to the pool. I think we were the only guests that used it so it felt like it was our own private pool.

All the rooms have a view of Lake Superior and there was a large deck that had nice outdoor furniture. We didn't mind the traffic noise while sitting outside. There was a large "yard" that had a porch swing and a small play structure for little kids. There was also ladder ball for the kids to play. One night we took advantage of the large gas grill that was available for the guests to use. The continental breakfast was ok. There were a few danish rolls, cereal, oatmeal and some fruit. They also provided juice and coffee. We made our breakfast in the room and just got juice from the office. Several times I went up to ask for things from the front desk...a big bowl, extra towels, replacement fan, etc. and was taken care of immediately. Housekeeping was equally accomodating.

The decor in the room is certainly outdated but it actually gave the room an "up north" feel to it. Despite some wear and tear the room was clean and the carpet looked to be new. This motel does accept pets but there are a few rooms including this one that does not. (We were happy for that) The beds were very firm and comfortable and the pillows were big and fluffy as where the towels. The only downfall to the room was there was not an exhaust fan in the bathroom and the shower head was not installed properly so it was spraying everywhere. We eventually figured out that it just needed to be screwed on better and took care of it. I would definately stay here again and again. You can't beat the value or the service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.e. michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent for the price, if you are expecting the ritz than go there and pay their price, but for the casual, money wise traveler, this is your place. It is close to town, has a great view of superior, very good parking,good cont breakfast,nice pool and play area for kids(in the front yard), a paved trail across the street that is great for walking or biking,and an amazing and very helpful staff. I have stayed here about 20 times while vacationing in marquette, so i am not basing this on just one experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

First of all the staff was great! We came in late one night and called ahead. The owner left a key out for us and didn't even charge us until the next morning. The place is close to the lake but the view is indeed downgraded by the hwy going by in front. The large back deck is really nice though. The rooms are out dated and musty smelling, but clean. The price was right but I'd debate on staying there again. Rooms really just need to be updated then it would be worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Birchmont while visiting friends in Marquette. We had two rooms, both with kitchenettes, which we didn't use, but were adequate for anyone who wanted to do simple meals. The motel is dated, but everything was clean and neat. When you pay these prices, you don't expect huge fluffy towels, free shampoo, hair dryers, flat screen HD TV,etc., but we were definitely looking for a value and we only spent a short amount of time in our rooms. The view is lovely. The fellow that checked us in was very nice and efficient. One key didn't work and in no time, they had it fixed. The coffee is Caribou and they actually had Natural Ovens bread for toast. The review requires that we comment on the restaurant, but there was none. Marquette is full of great restaurants. We'd definitely stay at the Birchmont again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchmont Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchmont Motel

Address: 2090 US 41 South, Marquette, MI 49855
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Birchmont Hotel Marquette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchmont Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.