We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel with great view and location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“New hotel with great view and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Two years old, but it still looks new. The fitness center is excellent and large for a hotel; with free weights, multi use weight machine, treadmills, and cycles. Very clean would be the number one phrase I would use to describe everything! My room had an excellent view, excellent size TV, nice clean bathroom, and comfy beds. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Restaurants are a perfect distance away, in my opinion, about a half mile which makes for a beautiful lakeshore walk, weather permitting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for posting such a lovely review. We are very proud of our new hotel and we take great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. Your comment will be shared with our entire staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    45
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
100
14
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

One of the Best Hampton Inns ever!!! I travel a lot and stay in many different hotels across the country but this Hampton Inn is a must stay if you are in the area! The room was very nice and the fitness center was great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello, my name is Reed Benton and I am the General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for your kind words. Our staff takes great pride in providing a enjoyable stay. Your kind words will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again for a great review and congratulations.

Sincerely,
Team Hampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I was extremely happy with our stay at the Hampton Marquette. The hotel was beautiful and well maintained. The staff was friendly, down to earth and genuine. The only down side is I payed for my hotel room with reward points from my credit card, otherwise I most likely wouldn't have stayed there due to the price. The hotel is by far the nicest in the area. I most definatley would stay again if the room price was a little more affordable. However, the location was perfect and the view was fantastic. We stayed on a weekend where temps were double digits below zero. So a shuttle van would have been very much appreciated to travel to local restaurants. But, there are some very nice restaurants and breweries within 4-6 blocks. Overall, very happy with out stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review about our hotel. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is an outstanding property. We stayed at this property for two nights and it was simply perfect. The fact that it's pretty new undoubtedly adds to its appeal, as the rooms and common areas don't show the largely unavoidable signs of age that affect hotels over time. But it's not brand new and it's clear that the staff work very hard to keep things in immaculate shape and to keep customers satisfied.

Our room faced Lake Superior (the property sits right on the lakefront) and was as clean as a room could possibly be. The pool and hot tub area was likewise perfectly maintained and we enjoyed our time there and in the adjacent fitness room.

Breakfast was considerably better than average for a Hampton, with the usual offerings but also hot and regularly restocked cinnamon rolls that were delicious. There's a beautiful dining area with both indoor and outdoor lakefront seating. Of course not all hotels have the geographical good fortune to be able to offer such a feature, but this Hampton makes the most of the fact that it can, and it's definitely an eye-catching "wow" feature for guests, whether they want to sit down for breakfast or just sit and look out at the water some other time of the day.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We look forward to staying again the next time we're in the area. We found the hotel to be the best place we stayed on a lengthy summer vacation, easily beating out - among other places - one of the allegedly "premium" places on Mackinac Island that cost more than three times as much. It's a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay. We take great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. We’re delighted that you were able to utilize so many of our fantastic amenities. Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is very clean and welcoming. The staff is friendly and remembers their regular guest. When staying for multiple nights tge breakfast is never the same which is great by the way! I love it everytime I come. The only place I will stay while visiting my family in Marquette.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our on the house hot breakfast. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return to the Marquette area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice hotel and view of lake. Good breakfast and clean rooms. Hotel is a short walk to downtown resturaunts and shops and would be nice during the summer...we visited in the deep of winter although it's still beautiful during that time of year

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. It is always great when our guests share their experiences with others. We are thrilled that you we able to enjoy historic downtown Marquette and our well appointed rooms. Our staff takes great pride in our hotel and we do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your return to the Marquette area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Extremely comfortable hotel. Within short walking distance of downtown Marquette shops and restaurants, and the harbor. I've stayed in summer and winter and it was wonderful both times! Rooms are pricey, but very high quality and great service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Hello, my name is Reed Benton and I am the General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for your kind words. Our staff takes great pride in providing a enjoyable stay. Your kind words will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again for a great review and congratulations.

Sincerely,
Team Hampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Address: 461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront is located on the shore of majestic Lake Superior and just steps away from historic Downtown Marquette. Discover shops, restaurants, museums, and a variety of entertainment and outdoor activity options nearby. Our central location is a perfect fit for both business and leisure travelers. We’re minutes from Northern Michigan University, Marquette General Hospital and the Upper Peninsula Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.