We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Last Minute Deals!
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
GreenLeadersBronze level
McFarland, Wisconsin, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very comfortable newer hotel located directly on Lake Superior. Public spaces include a deck overlooking the lake. Hot drinks and fresh cookies are available. Pool and hot tub (both with salt water) both have chair lifts for the handicapped. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel is close to vibrant downtown area of Marquette.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Our staff takes great pride in providing the best possible service. Again thank you for posting a review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    45
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
108
100
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a great time at the Hampton Inn in Marquette. My 2 younger boys had a blast and already asking to go back. The breakfast was great every morning, and we loved the lobby coffee all the time. Just about every employee we came across said hi and were very nice to talk to and very helpful. A+ in our book.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I’m Reed Benton, General Manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you for posting a review regarding your recent stay. I’m glad you were able to utilize so many of our fantastic amenities and our well appointed rooms. Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our entire staff.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing our hotel. I hope you come back for another visit.

Warm Regards,
Reed Benton and the entire Hampton Inn Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Post, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel was beside the location where the wedding reception we attended in August was held. The morning coffee was nice and plentiful. The beds and pillows were so comfortable that we had a difficult time forcing ourselves to get up in the morning. We took a morning walk via the exercise room and out to the walkway along the water. The entire area is clean, well maintained, well lit at night and we always felt safe. I'd stay here again anytime I'm back in the area.

Room Tip: My room was not facing the water, but that was used as motivation to getting out and walking.
See more room tips
Green Features: Love that the hotel chooses to be "green."
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay and meeting at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and all the services it has to offer. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice choice. It is an exceptionally nice new Hampton right on the water.

I may be biased as they upgraded us to a really nice suite. I'm an Honors member, but my status has lapsed to the basic level. So I was shocked when they upgraded us to a beautiful two room suite, with patio.

Wifi-good
Bed-very comfortable
Breakfast--very good
Good tv channel choices
Very comfortable overall

A little pricey for the UP in September ($179)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you taking the time to let others know about your stay. We take great pride in providing the best possible service, in a clean comfortable setting. We’re delighted that you were able to utilize so many of our fantastic amenities. Your thoughtful comments will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Enjoyed our stay.Staff was extremely helpful and courteous.The view from our room[2136] was lovely. Parking was convienient. The breakfast was excellent, but limited for us as we do not eat pork. The complimentary cookies a very nice touch and we enjoyed the waterfront walk behind the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our on the house hot breakfast and our well appointed rooms. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudsonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Hampton in Marquette provides a unique location along with exceptionally friendly and competent staff and clean and well-kept rooms. This Hampton is within walking distance of most of what Marquette has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked here again after a positive experience the previous year. We reserved a room with a waterfront view and upon arrival were told they upgraded us to a two room suite. We were pleased...until early morning when the noise below from the breakfast area woke us up. We flew in and got to Marquette about 10pm. We were tired and were hoping to sleep in the following morning before heading on the rest of our trip by vehicle. Sadly, we did not get to sleep very late. The chairs were being moved on the floor directly below and it was as if they were in the same room. The noise was unbearable. We opened the windows while getting ready in the morning only to have breakfast diners from below look up to see what we were doing. That was just rude and I understand no control of the hotel. The service, beds, cleanliness and room were all superb and we will likely stay again, just in a different room.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the second floor just above the breakfast area if you intend to sleep in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed B, General Manager at Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I’m Reed Benton, general manager at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront. Thank you so much for your recent review. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I can assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel and we look forward to your return.

Your Friends at the Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront

Address: 461 S Lakeshore Blvd, Marquette, MI 49855
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront is located on the shore of majestic Lake Superior and just steps away from historic Downtown Marquette. Discover shops, restaurants, museums, and a variety of entertainment and outdoor activity options nearby. Our central location is a perfect fit for both business and leisure travelers. We’re minutes from Northern Michigan University, Marquette General Hospital and the Upper Peninsula Medical Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.