We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marquette Michigan Must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Presque Isle Park

Presque Isle Park
Peter White Dr., Marquette, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Attractions in Marquette
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Grayslake, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A Marquette Michigan Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Great drive one-way with lots of pull-outs around this isle. Lots to see from a breakwater walk, iron-ore dock view, cliff jumping, rock hounding, swimming a nature center and even the largest piece of copper.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    41
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth checking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautiful views, wonderful stops to park and explore the rocks and scenery! Be sure to bring walking/climbing shoes, and clothes to swim or get wet with if you choose! We watched some kids jumping off the lower "cliffs" into the water while we were there!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“no dogs allowed!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had been driving for hours and were greeted with no dogs allowed signs. I had scoped out the place before going and there was no mention of the ban on dogs on the website, so I was kind of pissed. We had been planning on picnicking, but took our lunch elsewhere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Fantastic views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This park is beautiful. Wonderful views of Lake Superior and the iron ore dock, which is really impressive, especially if a freighter is being loaded at the time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“The crown jewel of the Queen City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Presque Isle park was designed by the same firm that designed Central Park in NY. Presque Isle maintains a balance between nature and enough development so anyone can access it. The public roadway is closed for blocks of time 5x a week so you can access the park easier by foot and bicycle. In the winter - you will find a lot of cross country skiers and snowshoers. Lot's of picnic areas, vista's to view the lake, and places to just get away from it all.

A popular stop on the north end of the island is "blackrocks" where people cliff dive into Lake Superior. Fun to watch, even if you not adventurous enough to give it a try.

Final note... please be careful. Typically several times a year emergency services is called out because people don't observe warning signs concerning eroding cliffs. It is nature people, you will get hurt if you act dumb.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Presque Isle Park also viewed

 

Been to Presque Isle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Presque Isle Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.