We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect pasty experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jean Kay's Pasties

Jean Kay's Pasties
1635 Presque Isle, Marquette, MI 49855
+1 906-228-5310
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 104 Restaurants in Marquette
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Family Fare
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The perfect pasty experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, great service, exactly what we were looking for in our first UP pasty experience. The traditional steak pasties are perfect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    14
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy we decided to go out of our way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband wanted some authentic UP pasties and we found the place in our hiking guide book. The pasties were excellent and we appreciated the kind service. The whole family went for the traditional pasty (with rutabaga). My husband went with gravy, but my sons and I opted for the spicy ketchup/pasty sauce. We took a bottle with us! If you're looking for "the real thing" with a flaky crust and steak (not pork or a blend) you should make the effort to find Jean Kay's.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venus, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Veggie Pasty in the UP!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped here after NMU's graduation and were surprised how fast and efficient the workers were completing all the orders. They offer 3 different kinds of pasties (pass-tees). The original with steak and rutabaga, one without rutabaga, and a veggie. They were super hot and we all were very full after we ate. My veggie pasty was outstanding. It was full of broccoli, potatoes, onion, cheese, cream cheese, mushrooms, and more! All of the pasties were $4.00. You can also order some half-baked either full size or mini. The mini are $9 for a dozen. This shop is located close to the Dome, Presque Isle and NMU. If you've never had a pasty, stop by and try one :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian h, Owner at Jean Kay's Pasties, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branch, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My other favorite place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Jean Kay's Pasties are the best that I have had. The original owner is still there and still waits on his customers. Most of Jean Kay's customers get their pasties to go because there are only 3 tables inside and 2 tables outside. However, it does not matter if you eat your pasties there, in your room, or at another location because they are always great. The pasties can also be purchased frozen and half cooked to take home for later. I have personally taken a cooler up to Marquette to bring back one dozen from a recent trip to Marquette.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian h, Owner at Jean Kay's Pasties, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Peninsula
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“It's a Pastie (pahs-tee) and NOT a Pasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

There's a lot of places around Marquette that offer these and they are all about the same with little deviation. Throw some vegetables, lots of potatoes and maybe bits of meat (for the non-vegan) on flattened dough and roll it up into a half moon pie shape. When you purchase one cold then bake or reheat, depending upon what you ordered originally, and put lots of ketchup on it. If you plan to eat it right away then get it as hot as you can when ordering.

They are filling and usually travel well since they originated in the mining towns across the Big Pond where the miners had it packed in their lunch boxes. Never have eaten one cold though and would not want to try.

Jean Kay's has some other items too. The primary clientele are the residents in the surrounding neighborhood and many college students who are in the area.

Others should not go out of their way to find it but if you are driving by and have a Pastie craving then pick one up. It will get you by for the time being.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Kay's Pasties also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Jean Kay's Pasties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean Kay's Pasties, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.