We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Irish Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wild Rover

The Wild Rover
142 W Washington St, Marquette, MI 49855-4320
906-273-1113
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 104 Restaurants in Marquette
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Located in downtown Marquette, MI., The Wild Rover offers a diverse menu with the distinct flavors of authentic Irish fare.Whether you’re looking to share a pint with friends, taking the family out to dinner or wanting to hear some live, local music, The Wild Rover welcomes you to come get your Irish on!
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our second trip here. I did not review last time but enjoyed it so thought I should review. Our server was very nice but a bit on the "low key" side. I had the Shepherd's pie which was good and my husband had a corned beef sandwich ( he enjoyed his also). Price wise... We each enjoyed two premium beers on tap and our meal for about $40.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude bartender”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I came here this past weekend twice and both times had horrible service from one specific bartender. My girlfriends and I went there for lunch and each got sangria and 2 of the 4 had hair in them. It sucked but it was already gone by the time they noticed so we let it go. Then we still went back the next night and had a few drinks. The DJ said there was a special for $2 fireball shots so we went up to the bar and ordered them. The bartender didn't give us the correct price so we asked her to fix it and she snatched the money out of my hand and rolled her eyes at us. Then when she came back with the correct change she threw it at us over the counter and it went every where. I'm sorry but I don't care how busy you are that is a horrible thing to do to your paying customers. Especially when it was her mistake not ours. So incredibly rude. Unfortunately that situation made the whole experience negative so we probably won't be returning during future trips to marquette.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nice Irish Themed Restaurant-Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Well, Emerald Isle Nachos and background music by the Eagles might be stretching the theme a bit, but the Wild Rover has a credible Irish menu. We began with the soup of the day. My wife had tomato bisque and I had the Mock Turtle soup. My wife enjoyed hers and mine was excellent with just the right amount of spiciness. We both had the bangers and champ. The dinner comes with two sausages, but they only had 3 left. The waitress offered a choice of changing the order or getting onion rings. As our taste buds were set for bangers we elected the onion rings. That turned out to be a great choice. They were probably the best representatives of the species I've ever eaten. The bangers were as good as any I've had including those served in pubs in Dublin. The champ was nice. I would have liked more scallions or green onions minced into it for a stronger flavor, but the potatoes were mashed to perfection and tasted good. The veggies were fresh and tasty. The beer and wine selection is good and the bar tender knew how to poor a half and half (stout floating on lager) which not every bar tender in an "Irish" pub knows how to do. We didn't find it noisy, but we finished dinner about 8 and the crowd appeared to be changing to a younger set arriving for a convivial evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Like Irish Pubs Should Be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The beer selection was great, with a serviceable mix of Irish standbys and Michigan breweries available. The fish-n-chips was good – plus they had malt vinegar on the table. The shepherd’s pie was very good and well balanced with spices, meat and vegetables.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great local beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great place to go for local, Michigan-brewed beer. Excellent food choices, good prices, friendly service.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Rover also viewed

Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
Marquette, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to The Wild Rover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wild Rover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.