We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy place to stay in town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Landmark Inn to your Saves list
Landmark Inn
230 North Front Street, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Classy place to stay in town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Landmark while in Marquette for a wedding. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Marquette. The Landmark was within walking distance of downtown and made it really convenient after the bars to walk home. The rooms were large and clean. They were not new but had a very classic feel to them. We stayed in the "Governor's Suite" which was labeled on our door. We didn't pay anything extra, some of there rooms had an old school feel. I would recommend this place to those staying in Marquette for the weekend!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    57
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
91
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has so many historical pieces of furniture and stories to accompany the great service and clean environment. There are two restaurants inside to choose from and a Sky Room lounge overlooking Lake Superior. We have only eaten at the Pub style restaurant which was not bad. The Sky room has limited seating and we happened to try it on a busy night so not much room to move around.
Our room was spacious and very clean, bed was not overly comfortable and the pillows were even less comfortable. As hotels go though, I have stayed here twice and will stay again. It is in the heart of Marquette and we walk everywhere to shop, eat and enjoy the local brews. It is on the pricey side....we paid $169/night but is worth the convenience to us and it is quiet.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Perfect Sized Inn....comfortable and impeccably clean throughout. Great on-site dining options! The elevators are quick and the hallways quiet. I can't remember the last time I traveled and felt so at home. You can walk to the lake and to shopping. The staff were friendly and helpful, honestly can't find a flaw! Modern Amenities and Old World Charm!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Greats like Amelia Earhart, Jimmy Stewart, and George C.Scott have stayed here to name a few. My wife and I stayed one night last month in a fifth floor water view room which was spacious and grand. Bathroom was also spacious and elegant. The Sky Room is a great place for drinks and the good and service at the Capers restaurant was superb. Listed in the great Hotels of America for good reason. We'd stay again!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the only hotel we stay at in Marquette, which is usually during summer and winter. Our most recent stay was over the 4th of July weekend, and we discovered a wedding party had booked Caper's and the lobby of the hotel on Saturday for a reception. Signs indicated that meals would be shifted around to different restaurants in the hotel, so there were no surprises. The only surprise was how people attending a wedding at such a nice venue don't realize that they are not the only guests and should refrain from screaming in the hallways and banging doors in the wee hours while others are trying to sleep. Of course, the hotel can't control rude people. Other than that, our stay was most pleasant. Our room, like all the others we've stayed in, was different on the inside. I would note that the wallpaper in our room was beginning to look like it needed replacing as it was beginning to look a little dingy, but the bed was comfortable and a wardrobe in the room provided ample storage. We were delighted to see wine glasses and used them with our own wine. Unfortunately, the maids never replaced the wine glasses after that first use. Perhaps we were supposed to purchase one of the wines in the room in order to use the glasses. It would be nice if the glasses were standard and replaced when used. Except for the rude wedding guests, the hotel was quiet and we were able to get a good night's sleep. We did eat at the North Star Lounge and had cocktails up there every night to enjoy the view of the lake. Our meal was from the pub downstairs, and was tasty. We ordered the whitefish po'boys. The staff throughout the hotel was efficient and friendly. Parking was a bit tight in the lot because of the wedding, but we saw signs posted throughout about valet parking if we needed it. Luckily, we were always able to find a place to park. The rooms are smaller than hotels in modern buildings, but this is an historic inn, and as such, expected. Besides, you should be outside enjoying the lake and woods during the day. As usual, we found the hotel charming and will return when the snow flies.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Landmark Inn for 3 nights at the end of May. Ashley in reservations assisted in choosing a room - a room which made us very happy! It was bright and cheerful with lots of light. This is an older hotel with lots of charm and character - we loved it!
While staying at Landmark Inn, Karolyn at the front desk provided guidance to us for local sights and any other questions we had were answered with enthusiasm. We had appetizers from room service and enjoyed the quality and presentation. We also took a short walk to town for breakfast one morning at Donckers. What a fun breakfast with great food, reasonable prices and the candy shop below has been there forever. Make sure to try the dark chocolate caramels with sea salt which are homemade. Unbelievably good!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Landmark Inn. The room was great and the staff even better!

Room Tip: Ask for a bright cheery room and they will accommodate if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I like staying at older non-chain hotels when possible. This place fit the bill nicely. The room was sizable and bright. No issue with cleanliness. No issue with service. I'd stay here again for sure. Parking can be a challenge depending upon what is going on at the hotel. During our stay there was a wedding and it really took over much of the place. One of the best features of the hotel is a bar on the top floor. It offers a nice view of the area and is a great place to unwind. The front desk was very helpful offering directions. They also arranged for our bikes to be safely stored downstairs.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Address: 230 North Front Street, Marquette, MI 49855
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.