We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - Room was stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Inn

Save Saved
You added Landmark Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landmark Inn
230 North Front Street, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marquette
Leelanau County, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wow - Room was stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I paid the extra $10 for a water view, and it was a partial view. So it was only so-so, but for $10 it was not a deal breaker. But our room, on the 6th floor, was stunning. Obviously, an old hotel room has certain limitations, but our room was beautifully wallpapered and accessorized. We needed to use both the heat and A/C, and both worked beautifully. One of the vintage windows even opened to allow the natural breeze to blow in. Location is within a short walk of the downtown shopping and entertaining district. Initially concerned because the Sky Light Lounge was at the far end of our hallway and thought there would be much traffic and noise. But the double set of doors between our room and the elevators & lounge limited all noise. Just an absolutely enjoyable experience. Will happily return.

Room Tip: I cannot speak about the quality or attractiveness of the rooms on the lower floors, but the three r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    53
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
85
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in September and luckily for me the weather and drive was beautiful, it added to the charm of the hotel and Marquette, MI. I stayed in room 204 and it was very nice. I had a king sized bed and the room was decorated nicely. I was in town for work and it was a short drive to the university. It was also located right on the lake and very close to restaurants and bars. I did check out the pub one night and the service and food was good. I would recommend that as well. I have nothing negative to say about the hotel. The only hiccup I had was on my second day, neither of my room keys would work -- maybe it was the ghosts messing with me!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid River, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I ran an LED seminar at the Landmark today - in the Boardroom conference room and my lighting rep and I both stayed at the hotel the night before. Wow. I am now spoiled. Our server Emily was excellent, checking on us often to see if we needed refills on beverages or food and all of the staff was excellent. The food was outstanding - bagels with a roasted tomato cream cheese spread were very tasty.and the muffins freshly baked. The downtown location and availability of parking was ideal. Rachael the night before went above and beyond to help us get set up late the night before after the last group finished up. The rooms were lovely and comfortable - LOVE the bedspreads by the way, not your typical hotel at all. I love staying at the Landmark but now I have a NEW reason to make use of them - they understand what the business traveler needs. Next seminar I run will be here for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powers, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is probably one of the best qualities of the hotel. I took a little weekend getaway to visit some friends and meet up with them downtown...location is perfect. Being in the hotel business myself, I did notice a few things.

Upon arriving, there was nowhere to park; apparently there was a wedding going on. I parked in the neighboring church parking lot. Upon entering the lobby, it was very clean and the staff members passing by were very friendly.

Checkin was decently efficient. I arrived around 8:30 pm or so. When I asked the clerk if it was alright if I parked in the church parking lot his response was that I was probably going to get towed. He didn't really give me a solution to my problem until I came out and asked what I should do to avoid getting towed. He thought a moment then surprisingly, offered valet parking...weird it took so long, but alright. I wasn't given any information as to where the bar or restaurants were, didn't know if they were still serving food, and had to ask how to get to my room. To be honest, I kind of left the desk a little confused. The condescending attitude didn't make me feel anymore welcome than the serious lack of information...

The room was great. Very historic but well maintained. I liked the bottles of wine for purchase in the room...it was a nice touch. Matresses were horrible, and dated...but it's an old hotel...The room was spotless, and that is something that I look for. It had a pretty neat alarm clock that I could plug my iPhone into...one of the highlights of my room as I forgot my charger!

When we went into the bar for some drinks, it wasn't very busy. We sat there for a good 15 minutes before we were even acknowledged by either of the two bartenders. We had to get their attention and ask if we could order food. They were pleasant once you started talking to them, just not very customer-oriented from the beginning, and definitely not overly friendly. I got the vibe that we were on their time. After waiting so long to get served and then to put an order in (the bar still not very busy), we told him we would just have someone bring it to the room instead. The room service girl was very pleasant and friendly.

We got a steak from the pub and some appetizers, it was okay. Not bad for "bar food." We did not eat in the restaurant but I can only hope the service was better in there.

All in all, this place has to work on their training of their staff. This is a must in any type of hospitality business. The front desk staff should at least have a script for dummies to read off of to ensure that guests checking in know the things available in the hotel, especially if someone has never stayed there before. The bartenders need to work on their bar awareness. No one should have to wait two minutes, much less 15 minutes to even get a simple hello or acknowledgement.

Would I return? Yes. I would return simply for the location and the fact that it did seem pretty quiet. Not a lot of noise in the room, and again, the location is key. I would definitely just use it as a hotel though, and dine elsewhere.

I like to see hotels operate with success, especially one as historic as The Landmark. It was evident that there were no managers around on a Saturday night ensuring that things were going smooth, and that was odd. Good managers and hoteliers are usually seen roaming about. I highly suggest management waking up and teaching the staff some hospitality. It's on you to make your staff better...training is seriously needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth, mi
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Landmark is one of the hotels we stay at over and over again as we visit Marquette.

The Pros: The location is perfect - right downtown, walking distance to shopping, bars and food. The hotel is very nicely appointed. The staff is very friendly - from the front desk to the bartenders to housekeeping. The Pub is a great place to grab a drink, watch some baseball and grab a meal. Room service is fast, hot and delicious. The rooms are (for the most part) spacious and very comfortable with large bathrooms and great views. Finally - it's less expensive than the new Hampton Inn a few blocks away.

The Cons: We love the Landmark, but there are a couple issues.

Noise! We were on the second floor and we could hear the solo-acoustic guy in the pub singing away until he stopped. In the pub itself, he was so loud it was nearly impossible to talk. I understand the attraction of live entertainment, but they should turn they guy down a bit so partons can talk and guests can enjoy some peace in their rooms. This was not an issue when we've stayed on higher floors.

Noise! (#2) Monday morning, 7:05am the city started tearing up the sidewalk right under our room. There were jackhammers and compressors and trucks blaring. It was truly unbearable. Of course, the hotel can't be held responsible for this - but I would encourage them to raise the issue with the city because it was a seriously miserable situation for a couple very early hours of the day. I'm sure the city could have timed the work better than 7am in front of the only hotel downtown. That's no way to encourage visitors to your community!

Noise! (#3) We've had the repeated issue of slamming doors in the hallways. This seems to be largely inline with Saturday weddings (and Friday pre-parties). It's been fairly consistent the last few times we've stayed here. It would be great if they could put some mechanisms on the doors to minimize the slamming factor. It's an old hotel, and with that comes some extra noise - we understand that - but I think some corrective measures could be taken here.

Our last real issue is that they could use an upgrade of the mattresses. The last couple rooms we've had have had very hard, uncomfortable mattresses.

Despite the Cons, we really do love this hotel and would encourage our friends to stay there. It would be really great to see a couple of the noise issues addressed. See you soon Marquette!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

After sitting abandoned for years it is good to see the Landmark reopened, joining in the resurgence of Marquette. Excellent location, okay, maybe a few blocks down the hill would have eased the walk.

The bill for three nights, two breakfasts and one lunch was $601. I thought a good value. The lobby is very good and the rooms are fine. The restoration is not elegant, plastic tiled showered stalls, antiquish but mismatched furniture, but these seemed to be of very minor distractions. Hotel staff very friendly and casual, wait staff in main dining room excellent, okay in Pub. Food was good in the main dining room, after spending years in the U.P. I have not found excellent food very often so thought the food was quite good for the area. Pub food was pub food, not good but at least satisfactory.

There is a good feel to this hotel, you enjoy entering it and feel at home. The value was good. I would stay here again, and will. Marquette has worked hard, and successfully, to establish itself, and this hotel is a fine example of a refurbished city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosslake
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love beautiful, old timeless hotels and this is one of them. Absolutely gorgeous, antique furniture in our room and simply beautiful; one of the most lovely rooms I have ever stayed in. Comfortable, nice sheets, pillows, etc.. Very spacious, comfortable chairs, huge bathroom, no complaints on this one!

Room Tip: A view of lake superior would be a plus of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Address: 230 North Front Street, Marquette, MI 49855
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;