We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Inn

Save Saved
You added Landmark Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landmark Inn
230 North Front Street, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Marquette
Crosslake
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I love beautiful, old timeless hotels and this is one of them. Absolutely gorgeous, antique furniture in our room and simply beautiful; one of the most lovely rooms I have ever stayed in. Comfortable, nice sheets, pillows, etc.. Very spacious, comfortable chairs, huge bathroom, no complaints on this one!

Room Tip: A view of lake superior would be a plus of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    51
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
84
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solomon, Kansas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was a good choice for our stay in Marquette. We try to stay at historic hotels whenever possible. The Landmark Inn is nicely restored. Lovely lobby. Our room (lilac) was very comfortable and had a nice view of the lake and down town. Great location. We enjoyed a walk to the beautiful harbor park area and maritime museum. Pretty reasonable price also.

Room Tip: Stay on upper level facing the lake for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Marquette is centrally located in the Upper Peninsula, good jump off point. This hotel is in the center of Marquette. It has been totally renovated and is the luxurious hotel it was in the past. Elegant lobby and dining room, rooms were very comfortable and larger than I expected for a vintage hotel. Ample parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We used the Penthouse Suite for a bachelorette party and it was great. The staff was very helpful and everything was clean. We had breakfast down in the restaurant and the food was delicious and ok priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Falls, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not only is Marquette a beautiful area to explore but the Landmark Inn is the frosting on the cake overlooking beautiful Lake Superior. Our party had 4 rooms and it was fun to see the different décor/theme in each room. All the staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating in making sure we enjoyed our stay. The Inn is well maintained and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentwater, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed our one-night stay at the Landmark Inn and hope to return, soon. We chose the Landmark primarily so that we could walk to the local microbreweries, and found the room rate in line with other restored small city hotels. Our room was lovely, as is the lobby, and the main dining room and bar on the 6th floor.

Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom toiletries weren't what I expected for this room rate, though. One bar of soap (choose between by sink or by bathtub), and the "bath gel" and "shampoo" from the dispensers seemed to be the same product. Looks like they are trying to save a few bucks, rather than providing a consistently high-quality experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Landmark Inn is an historic and restored hotel and, upon entering, has the feel of elegance. However, we were definitely disappointed with our stay. The front desk staff was rude and gave wrong information about an event we were attending. When we were unable to find parking in the hotel lot, the staff acted as if we were putting them out and only after being prompted did they offer valet parking. After our day's journey, we were weary and retired to our room on the 6th floor early. We then realized that the noise level from the 6th floor bar and the wedding reception being held was not to going to allow us to have a relaxing evening in our room. Even the "sound proof" hallway door could not block the sound and/or the loud noises of the elevator of guests coming and going.

The "Lilac Room" we stayed in would have been appreciated by my Grandmother. But, it was overdone with the garish wallpaper and would have been more relaxing with less stuff and editing of the decor. The room was too small for all of the big pieces of furniture. There was no electrical outlet near the coffeemaker and we had to move it to the small bathroom to use it. The bed was also uncomfortable. The exercise facility is not located on site --- it is at the college. When searching for OTC medication (probably headache from bad night's sleep), the on site vending machine with the product was out of order.

The good news is the location. It was very convenient to the downtown area, restaurants and lake. Glad so many others had a good experience, as we did not and were disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Address: 230 North Front Street, Marquette, MI 49855
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.