We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Stay at the Landmark Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Inn

Save Saved
You added Landmark Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Landmark Inn
230 North Front Street, Marquette, MI 49855   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Marquette
plymouth, mi
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Always a Great Stay at the Landmark Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We’ve stayed at The Landmark several times over the years and have always enjoyed it. The Landmark is a historic boutique hotel in downtown Marquette. It’s in a great location with easy walking access to downtown shopping, food and bars, the lower harbor and Lake Superior.

The rooms at the Landmark are each a bit different. We’ve had lake view, street view, QSB, KSB, corner rooms and suites and they were all nice. This time we stayed in a corner room with views looking both up Front Street as well as downtown. The corner room was nice because it was a little bigger than the normal rooms and we had 2 separate views – but we did not have a view of the lake. Our room had a KSB, faux-fireplace, 2 chairs, a desk, armoir, etc. Plenty of space for 2 people and all our stuff. The bathroom was nice and big, and as always, the Landmark provided is with a clean, well appointed room!

Another big plus about staying at the landmark is that there are 2 nice bars on site. The Pub, off the lobby, is a comfortable place to get a good pint or drink. Leslie, our bartender, was super friendly and personable. Great small-town service and charm with a big-city selection of micro-brews and top shelf whiskey. On the top floor is the Sky Lounge. A small room with a bar and an amazing view of Lake Superior, the old ore dock, and the lower harbor of Marquette. It’s not always easy to find a spot to sit up here, and it’s a bummer that they close early (11pm?) but it’s a great place to at least check out and have a quick drink before hitting the town. They also have the Capers restaurant which I haven’t tried in all these years, but we have ordered room service and the food is always good and super fast.

The one issue with the Landmark is that due to the fact that it is an old building, there can be a lot of noise. This is sort of a crap-shoot and depends a lot on how packed they are and the courtesy of other guests. This last time they were booked solid with a big wedding and we were kept awake at all hours of our first night by our neighbors who were constantly in and out of their room and slamming the door every single time. The door didn’t have to be slammed, and most people would be more considerate, especially at 3am, but not these people. Anyhow, we called the desk the next morning and they sent a maintenance tech up right away who tried to slow down the door stopper, but wasn’t able to do much. Fortunately the subsequent nights were much better! Not really the hotel’s fault, not much they could do, but it was worth mentioning.

The Landmark is a great place to stay. If you have kids who want to run wild and need a pool, please consider the Ramada or the Comfort Suites. If you’re looking for a great place downtown with all the comforts of home – check it out!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    50
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
81
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

The landmark's location is great, just a short walk to the water, many bars, shops, and restaurants. The lobby is beautiful, and they have a restaurant and two bars - one on the top floor with a nice view if you sit by a window. The Landmark room was quite nice with beautiful furnishings, although the bathroom was a little worn. Cost is a little more than the alternatives but I considered it well worth it. Looked like each room had different decoration.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Calif
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

My sweetheart treated me to a two night stay at the historical landmark as a Valentine's present for each other. I am from California so to be steeped in deep history as the Landmark. The Landmark is located in the downtown Marquette which means walking distance to local restaurants and shops. We enjoyed one night of dining at the Sky lounge upstairs. The view was gorgeous. Bar and wait staff were personable and courteous. Don't order the cioppino if you've been spoiled by San Francisco fare. We had lunch in the downstairs pub and that food was great.

Our room was huge! It felt more like a suite with a refrigerator, sitting area with fireplace. Homey touches like books [Anatomy of a Murder - of course] and other touches made it so comfortable and cozy. There was a HUGE tub we both enjoyed and a large step in shower which was gorgeous also. I was very impressed with this hotel and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We love the Landmark Inn. This was our second time staying there. When we go to Marquette again we will definitely stay there. This historic hotel has been restored to it's original beauty. The restaurant's menus are very good and the dining rooms are elegantly decorated. The hotel is in the middle of the downtown district. The churches and business district has beautiful architecture and restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing East have lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Even though it's old it's freshly or maybe constantly renovated. The hotel appeared modern on the inside. It has an elegant feel although the clientele appeared to be a mix of vacationers and business people.

Service was on par with any first class hotel with the exception that there was no bell captain. Everyone was friendly and courteous as would be expected in a hotel like this.

The hotel is in downtown Marquette. It's a short walk to the harbor, the downtown restaurants and night life.

The lake view room had a reasonable view of the lake. It was well appointed with the usual coffee maker mini-fridge and microwave. It was also supplied with a couple of bottles of local wine for a reasonable fee. We didn't partake.

The room itself was reasonably sized and appeared freshly renovated. The furnishings felt modern while looking period late 19th century.

The hotel has a restaurant, a bar off the lobby and an additional bar on the 6th floor. Both bars served food. My wife's mojito in the 6th floor bar was made with fresh crushed mint leaves, the way it's supposed to be made. We ate mostly bar food since the restaurant had Morton's prices but didn't seem to have the menu to support it.
The bar food was great. The fresh baked cakes were well worth the price. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was reasonably priced. The waitstaff in all three restaurants was friendly and attentive.

The hotel had wi-fi and access to a health club.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Great historic property located in downtown Marquette. Our room was a suite with a view of the lake. There was lots of space and it was furnished with period reproduction pieces.

The restaurant breakfast was fantastic and the staff was very helpful in giving us walking directions and recommendations.

Convenient to Pictured Rocks Park, and much nicer than hotels availble in Munising.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front Royal, Virginia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at the Landmark Inn in 2006 with friends, and liked it then. Our recent stay was even better! This old, historic hotel in the heart of Marquette, MI is an absolute gem. The rooms are comfortable, and many of them have themes. From the moment you enter the hotel, you realize it's something special. We also felt that the restaurants in the hotel had upped their game considerably, and had reduced their prices - especially the main restaurant for breakfast. Kudos to all of the staff who made us feel like welcomed guests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Inn

Address: 230 North Front Street, Marquette, MI 49855
Location: United States > Michigan > Marquette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#4 Family Hotel in Marquette
#4 Business Hotel in Marquette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Marquette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.