We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elizabeth's Chop House

Elizabeth's Chop House
113 S Front St, Marquette, MI 49855-4609
906-228-0900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 104 Restaurants in Marquette
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Good service. Good steak. Amazing desserts. We were a business group in a private room; this location worked perfectly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    19
    16
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exterior is deceiving, the inside and patio is beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

4 of us had dinner after the beer fest in here in town( a group in their early 30's) it was amazing! Steaks were tender and delicious, salads were fresh and good. Had fantastic service and Loved the 3 season patio. Would recommend, a little on pricey side.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

It was a good traditional steak house...nothing extraordinary. Our group enjoyed the steaks and seafood. The salads were nothing special. Great wine list. Dessert was wonderful. If you are in the mood for a good atmosphere and a steak dinner AND have the budget, this is a good place to go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average Service, Good Salad, Terrible Steaks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I am looking at these other reviews and thinking how in the world can one resturant be so different at two different times. We visit Elizabeth Chop House August 24, 2012. We ordered the Surf and Turf and our steaks were so peppery that we could not eat them. Our waiter offered new steaks, but by the time he came by our table, we had basically finished our meals (there were 3 of us) and really didn't want a properly prepared steak for our dessert. Our main server was pretty good. However we had to ask for my daughter's water to be refiled several times and then there was a wait just for that. Seemed a lack of communication exsisted between the wait staff and it could have just been that someone was new and had not gotten into the swing of things. We were never offered a discount or any thing for the poorly prepared steaks, just excuses. I wrote the owner an email and it was sent to the chef, who basically told us we were not being trueful because "I prepared over 50 steaks that evening with the same spices and you were the only people to complain" I really don't care how many steaks he prepared, all I know is there was way too much pepper on all of ours. I was disappointed that the owner couldn't contact us. Our family has eaten at several different resturants throughout Michigan and our great country many of them upsale resturants. Never have we had a steak with so much pepper. I also would like to know why an upsale resturant is adding a spice mixture to their steaks in the first place. If it is a good quality steak it needs no spices, perhaps a little salt and pepper. Honestly I could tell these were good quality steaks. I was very disappointed with this resturant. Besides that, I enjoyed the house salad, bread offering was OK, vegetables were overcooked but a good amount offered, seafood was very good and the chef prepared mine exactly how I asked!! The atomosphere is rustic/yet modern...a nice setting. We did not sit outside, but the outside settings were very nice as one could look out and see Superior and maybe even hear it?? Darn!! If it hadn't been for those steaks, this review would have been a whole lot different.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakarusa, IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I went here for a girls day out. We loved the decor. We had a late lunch so the restaurant was fairly empty and quiet,which was great so we could catch up our lives. My friend had a salad with strawberries and she loved it. I had the special, which was a chicken dinner. When I tried to cut my chicken, it was extremely tough! When the server checked on us I told him and that I would try again to see if the other side was tender. It wasn't - the server came back and said they were fixing me another one. It was excellent! Can't wait till I can go back again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elizabeth's Chop House also viewed

 

Been to Elizabeth's Chop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elizabeth's Chop House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.