We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Fish and Chips in Sleeping Bear Dunes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Traverse Inn & Pub

Little Traverse Inn & Pub
149 E harbor hwy, Maple City, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Maple City
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northport, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best Fish and Chips in Sleeping Bear Dunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just got back from a fantastic night of wonderful food, great live entertainment and great pulled beer. The feeling of this place is welcoming and comfortable. The bar area had great tap beers and a congenial atmosphere without taking over the mood of the whole restaurant. We had marvelous very hot crisp succulent fried fish and chips and an locally grown asparagus appetizer and we topped the meal off with a terrific bread pudding. We will be going back here as our first choice location to meet friends or to enjoy a quiet dinner.
Looking forward to trying the curry dishs next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haslett, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

just back from first meal at Little Traverse Inn, four of us, all very happy. My wife and had the Tikka Chicken Masala and Shrimp Madras, friends had Toad in a Hole and Salmon. All dishes and appetizers were very good to excellent. Reasonable prices for food and wine. Good service. Definitely returning and telling our friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Mixed bag.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Seening this new "Gastro Pub" we decided to give it a try. I had eaten many times over many years (decades?) at the restaurant that previously occupied the venue. The remodeling is attractive and well done. When we arrived we found a birthday party was in progress but we were seated. As the party progressed and the band played louder it became impossible for us to hear each other at our table, somewhat spoiling our evening out as we hadn't seen each other since last year and we were hoping to catch up. My prime rib dinner was excellent, much better than I expected in every regard. This being a British themed restaurant, one friend ordered the fish and chips. He was dissatisfied with the chips, reporting them to be "greasy" and he didn't eat them. We couldn't talk to each other so I don't know how others enjoyed their choices. Service was excellent and efficient. We were afforded a modest discount on account of the noise and the host of the party sought us out and apologized. I will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

It's not often that you go to a restaurant twice and have two very different experiences. We first went to the Inn shortly after they had opened and was not impressed but I am so very happy to report that we returned tonight with rave reviews! Everything was excellent and so happy we gave them a second try and we have been hearing amazing things around the county so if you tried them early on definitely go back it was a great dinner!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Amazing Food & Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful trip up to the county. Little Traverse Inn & Pub was absolutely a trip highlight for us, where we stayed for several nights. The owners and staff are delightful. Rooms well-appointed, cozy and clean. Location perfect. Food amazing!!!!! We were able to experience the fish and chips special on Friday and the Indian food feast on Sunday.... and an added bonus to those that stay at the Inn is a tasty breakfast with homemade sausage. We'll be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Traverse Inn & Pub also viewed

Maple City, Leelanau County
Maple City, Leelanau County
 
Maple City, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Little Traverse Inn & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Traverse Inn & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.