We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Local Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Spring Inn

Big Spring Inn
1263N State Highway M-149, Manistique, MI 49854
906-644-2506
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 22 Restaurants in Manistique
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Gloucester, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good Local Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I were camping at Indian Lake State Park and asked the attendant to recommend a good place to eat after a long days drive. He hit the nail on the head. Great spot out in the country, not hard to find. Friendly staff, excellent food and good beer on tap. We both had the Fish and Chips. Battered and fried to perfection. Did not get a chance to come back and try their burgers but have been told by a couple of fellow campers that they are the best.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, MI, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big Spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Neat little bar at the end of the road! Just across the road from Gerometta's resort! Great service too!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistique, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best burger in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Although not the least expensive, of all the burgers in the area, this place has the best blue burger with grilled onions. Sweet potato fries are good also. The bright yellow building looks freshly painted, the inside is sparcely decorated, but fine for the vacationing clientele, and it is clean. I have heard that their meat loaf is better than Mom's. I am looking forward to that at my next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“We love what they have done to the place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have often enjoyed a stop at the Big Spring Inn following a visit to the nearby Big Spring Park. The old place was nice with a lot of dead animals displayed on the walls (pretty typical for the U.P.) I was pleased to see all the mounts gone and replaced by a much more modern interior.
The recently reopened place has gone for the historical aspects of the original business and the local area. We were completely impressed with the changes on our first visit after they reopened. On our most recent visit they had added some really wonderful enlarged old photos and we were wowed. It has been totally revamped on the interior. The bar side has a pub feel with nice new furnishings. The area is very pleasant and is separated enough from the dining area to allow diners a restaurant experience. They have added a conversation area in the bar side with a few overstuffed chairs and couches for comfortable and cozy visits with friends. The servers were friendly and efficient. The menu is varied with enough choices to please anyone. There are a lot of local specialties and beer from area breweries. The appetizers we tried on our last visit were unique and tasty.
Finding a nice restaurant in this area can be challenging. We are thrilled to have the Big Spring Inn open once again to take guests who visit from out of state.
Everything has been well planned and they have a warm and unique environment. Oh, I often judge a place by its bathroom and their restrooms pass with flying colors, showing the same thought and planning that is shown throughout.
They are a bit out of the way, but worth the trip. I understand that they are on the snowmobile trail so they should do very well in the winters.
It doesn't look like much from the outside, but I guarantee you will be inpressed with the interior, service and food. If you find yourself in the area, stop in for a meal, a snack or even just a cold beverage.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyandotte, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fresh, cooked to order, CLEAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

This diamond is tucked away in the woods! My husband had the Big Spring Burger which has a bratwurst patty on top. I had nachos. Food was fresh and cooked to order. They carry some Michigan craft beers. Watch for daily specials. The night we went, it was $1 taco night. Friday they have a whitefish dinner. Located just outside the entrance to the Big Springs.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Spring Inn also viewed

Manistique, Upper Peninsula
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
Manistique, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Big Spring Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Spring Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.