We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at a Comfort Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Manistique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Manistique to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Manistique
617 E Lakeshore Drive, Manistique, MI 49854   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
London, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First time at a Comfort Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed overnight at this hotel as part of our road trip. This was our first time at a Comfort Inn and we weren't expecting too much, but in fact it was better than we thought. The hotel is situated opposite Lake Michigan and just off of the main road. There was a short wait to check in. There are no lifts and we had to carry our luggage upstairs but parking at the rear of the building made that easier. The room was average size and the bathroom small but it was all clean and tidy with a lovely view of the lake. Free popcorn was available from a machine in the lobby (this is a novelty to us Brits!), internet available, laundry, ice machine but no fridge in the room. This was available at an extra charge. The breakfast room is very small and can get crowded. Manistique is small and there are not many hotels to choose from but this one was adequate. There are not many places to eat either and some restaurants close early. The one on the main road closed at 7pm. There is a Pizza Hut nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    8
    12
    9
See reviews for
19
21
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Check in was a mess. Several maintenance problems w/ the room including a nonworking overhead light upon entering the room. Was told to change the light bulb ourselves and given a replacement bulb that was the wrong size. The problem was not the bulb, hence no lighting. Not offered another room, any options or maintenance person to remedy. WIFI inoperable that night. Very loud hunting dogs barking throughout the night and up until 7 AM. Very candid discussion of these problems w/ front desk woman yielded nothing but the resolution to never stay here again and warn others. Better lodging options are to be had on same side of road about 3/4 mile to the east. Please benefit from this mistake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Nice Motel facing Lake Michigan and across from the 2 mile boardwalk.
Room was very clean and pleasant. We had no microwave in the room but should have asked ahead of time. Stayed there with our dog, things went very smoothly.
Agree with other reviews, breakfast is too early - from 6-9 and the breakfast room is so small that people were waiting in line for a table. Probably only sat 15-20 people at the most.
If the Motel had been really full, it would have been a big mess to get breakfast.
Otherwise, pleasant enough and clean enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend, since other hotels were booked. Rooms, public area and everything about this hotel is outdated. Breakfast hours 6-9 for weekend are too early. Even breakfast room was full of guests having breakfast; they wind up everything at 9 without asking any one if they needed anything.

At the time of check-in we told them not to charge for safe, since we will not be using it. At the time of check out we did get charged fee for safe. Front desk did not issue credit since she did not know how to refund money.

We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

One night stay on my travels through Michigan. Arrived about 6:30 pm without a reservation. Was able to get a 2 Queen Bed room with refrigerator and microwave – 2nd floor facing Lake Michigan. With the Comfort Inn Chain, I expected a more basic room and was pleased on how nice room was.

Room was nice sized and clean. Very comfortable pillow top mattress. Pillows were an odd size – even though there were four for each bed, they were not full size so not the comfortable as head rolled off of.

Nice walking paved path (about 2 miles) across the street on Lake Michigan. (Sand Beach, Nature, Lighthouse, etc.)

Big Boy Restaurant short walking distance in the parking lot. (Nostalgia – as I grew up with this chain and have been gone for decades where I reside).

Room included the Basic Breakfast Bar. A nice surprise was they had a blueberry waffle mix.

Breakfast room is too small for number of hotel rooms. With the few tables, you had to sit in the hotel lobby or took to you room.

Coffee is available 24 hours a day.

Very friendly front desk staff that gave us suggestions for the surrounding city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were stuck without a hotel on a cross-country drive. Called around and found this place still had rooms. (Parents were dropping kids off at colleges and all hotels were booked.)
The single staff member we dealt with at night was very nice.
The room was another story. The sign on the door said non-smoking room, but it smelled like an ashtray. It looked old and dingy. I must say the bedding was clean. We slept, we left - as quickly as we could.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stopped at this hotel as we would be leaving highway 2 at Manistique for a visit to Lake Superior. The staff was very pleasant but we didn't follow our own advice and check out the room first. It usually isn't necessary at one of the larger chains but we should have here. The bathroom was VERY small. The room was clean but didn't have a microwave or fridge. In the last few years we have taken them for granted in the larger chains. The room showed a lot of wear that hadn't been addressed. On the plus side there was a Big Boy right next door and the hotel had a very good breakfast. They had the usual plus real scrambled eggs and sliced ham and waffles. It was very pricey and while we did talk them down about $30 it still was too high for the room.

Room Tip: We usually try for rooms away from the traffic flow as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Manistique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Manistique

Address: 617 E Lakeshore Drive, Manistique, MI 49854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistique
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Manistique
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn Manistique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manistique Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Manistique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.