We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful very noisy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ramsdell Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ramsdell Inn
Save
You added The Ramsdell Inn to your Saves list
399 River Street at Maple, Manistee, MI 49660   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Manistee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful very noisy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Beautiful room great location. Grew up in Manistee. But unfortunately very noisy.Didnt get any sleep due to bar noise. And traffic noise. If there were new windows with sound proof would make 100% change.Would love to try it again if it was quieter.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannette H, General Manager at The Ramsdell Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the space and thank you for your review. A month ago we added additional air conditioning units in each room. To accommodate the demand for further cooling. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning but, with west facing windows at times gets overpowered by the sun. After sunset it quickly regains coolness. Check in is at 3 pm and therefore it could be warm at that time. The units are fans, as well as additional cooling machines. The units are vented to the outside. This has allowed some of the street noise to be a bit more noticeable. The vents are easily removed from the windows, and will be completely removed at the end of August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed there for 1 night on our way to Traverse City. What a beautiful old building. Our room was beautiful and very clean. There is no elevator, so carrying the luggage up was a workout, but well worth it. We had dinner in the Bar below the hotel. The food was great and affordable. Our room was very quiet. While we could not enjoy the fireplace, it would be very cozy in the fall or winter. There was a little gift basket with water and snacks also left for us. Would stay again if in the area!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor,toward the back of the building. It was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean. And comfortable. But you will not sleep. Why? Because the rooms are atop a bar that is loud and the traffic is ridiculously loud. The high cost of the rooms is simply unwarranted given the sound problems.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dannette H, General Manager at The Ramsdell Inn, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
In response to this review. This customer is a very competitive cyclist desiring an early bedtime. He choose a downtown location on a summer evening and expected silence, and I do mean silence. We have never had a noise complaint regarding our pub. Our building is constructed of brick, mortar and steel. The pub level is a full 2 stories away from the sleeping quarters and is contained under ground. We did our best to satisfy this guest but to no avail. We spoke to a group of our customers that were smoking outside and asked that they speak more softly, they promptly reentered the pub. Over and over this gent complained..over and over we tried to satisfy. Our building is directly across from the police station, and is one of the earliest bars in town to close. There is not a prevalence of loitering, or monkey business that goes on. It always pains us to know a customer is not satisfied, and does not find this to be a great experience. We wanted nothing more than to satisfy this guest. What he asked of us was unreasonable and couldn't be accommodated. We are on a corner, downtown, in a small tourist town. There is some degree of traffic via vehicle and foot that we cannot control. In reviewing this gentleman's file, he has very little to say that is positive about any property. Thank you for reviewing this file. We appreciate your time..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Located in a former bank building, the Ramsdell Inn is a unique lodging experience in downtown Manistee. The lobby area includes a gift shop inside the vault - complete with the large locking vault door. Offices formerly occupied the two floors above the lobby where the 10 beautifully decorated guest rooms are located (5 guest rooms on each floor). We stayed in the T J Ramsdell Suite on the fourth floor. This two-room corner suite has a king-size bed, gas fireplace, and sitting areas with views of the downtown and Manistee River. Yes, there are not any elevators ... but when we stay at a historic Inn; we expect this to be the case. We consider the 50+ stairs to the 4th floor to be good exercise. The Inn does not have its own parking but free public parking is nearby (we've walked farther staying at hotels that have on-site parking). Upon check-in, the desk clerk was most helpful. I asked if they had a map of downtown Manistee (they didn't). So she went on the Internet and printed me a map. She volunteered to help us carry our luggage to our room if we needed it. The check-in/check-out process was quick and accurate.
In our room, the bed was comfortable and was made with a fitted bottom sheet (ill-fitting sheets is a pet peeve of mine). Shades and shutters cover the windows for sleeping and privacy. There were plenty of available electrical outlets for charging electronic devices. There were extra pillows and a fan. The water pressure in the shower was good and the water temperature stayed consistent. During our visit, the Inn's seasonal lobby hours were from 10am to 6pm but they provided us with a contact phone number in case we needed anything. Our stay at the Ramsdell Inn was enjoyable and I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed at the Ramsdell last night. It was a pleasant stay. Check in was smooth. I was surprised you do get actual keys to your room. I honestly cannot remember the last time I got an actual room key!! It added to the quaint feel of the inn. We stayed on the 3rd floor. There are no elevators so be prepared to trek your suitcases up.
Our room was super cute!! The bathroom was pretty good size although it would have been nice to have a small table to put toiletries on as there is a stand alone sink with no countertop.
I was pleasantly surprised with the treats in the room!! A few bags of yummy trail mix and granola bars.
The pub downstairs is also super convenient. A great selection of cocktails and food.
All in all a good experience. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We attended a small wedding and reception held in the beautiful lobby of the Ramsdell Inn. The elegant decor, delicious dinner, and helpful staff made it a perfect evening. We were just as delighted with our room. Very clean, quiet, and the bed was quite comfortable. We loved the unique decor, tall ceilings and huge window. We appreciated the unexpected treats the hotel placed in the room....biscotti and some fabulous kind of "trail mix". Did I mention the rate was very reasonable?.......another happy surprise!
Great location in downtown Manistee, where it seems like something fun is always going on. A Chili Tasting event was happening the day we were there. We found a nice selection of stores, very friendly and helpful merchants, and enjoyed some delicious and unique chili.
To sum up, this place is a gem! More of a "boutique" hotel. If you want a 24 hr service cookie cutter hotel, there are some of those in Manistee. If you prefer, unusal, historic, elegant, sophisticated and fun, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Situated one mile from Lake Michigan. Beautiful town with friendly people. Watch the freighters come through the channel from Lake Michigan. First weekend in December is the Victorian Sleighbell Parade. Four Clydesdale horses pull a 25 ft Christmas tree down River Street with the lighting of the tree and fireworks at the end of the route. We stayed at the Ramsdell Inn and this old bank has been turned into a very quaint hotel. They have a Jingle Mingle in the lobby on Saturday night. Danny, the manager, makes your stay very pleasant. Must put your name in early for a reservation as there is usually a long waiting list. Would highly recommend Manistee for a vacation whether it be winter or summer.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ramsdell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ramsdell Inn

Address: 399 River Street at Maple, Manistee, MI 49660
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Manistee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique property was developed into a charming boutique hotel in 2004. In 2008 a 50 seat restaurant was added. The pub is situated in the "below street level" space. The rooms are generous with classic decor and 20 foot ceilings. There are standard, fireplace and suite accommodations to chose from. There is a large lobby over looking the main corner in the downtown. This property is a short walk from the Lake Michigan Shore. A Riverwalk/boardwalk is situated just a few steps in front of the hotel for your strolling pleasure. A Casino is located within 7 minutes and their shuttle will pick you up! Rooms are set up with coffee, alarm clocks, cable television, dvd player, WiFi. 4 rooms and 2 suites offer an electric fireplace. Linens are lush, mattresses were custom made for comfort. Please know, due to our Historical designation Elevators were not required. Restored staircases lead you one or 2 levels up to your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ramsdell Hotel Manistee
Ramsdell Hotel Manistee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ramsdell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.