We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Painted Lady Saloon

The Painted Lady Saloon
723 Kosciusko St, Manistee, MI 49660-3016
231-723-2487
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 37 restaurants in Manistee
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
leroy
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

When in the Manistee area, we always eat either lunch or dinner at the Painted Lady Saloon. Their homemade soups are to die for! My favorite is the Chicken Pot Pie. Husband prefers the Chili, Chicken Noodle, and Pepperjack Seafood. Their broasted chicken & broasted pork chop dinner are also fabulous. Then again, their pot roast dinner is fabulous also. All I can say is: EAT THERE. You won't regret it. Prices are cheap: most dinners $6.95 - $8.95. Soups are $3.75 for a bowl. The place is clean and the waitstaff exceptionally friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    20
    12
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caledonia, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal, nice place, just what we were looking for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

What a find, thanks trip advisor. This is a place where locals go, friendly and smelled great the moment we walked in the door. He had the walleye and I had the broasted chicken, both were TASTEY. Beer was cold and the food was plentiful and HOT from the kitchen. We can't wait for our next visit to try the smoked pork chops. Great place, great prices, great service, and great food. Don't miss this place, it is and excellent choice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Muskegon, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well Worth Checking Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

After a truly bad lunch elsewhere in Manistee, we decided to be a bit pickier for dinner. Had I not seen the reviews for the Painted Lady on here, I'd never have known about the place. It's not along the main strip or near all the touristy places, so you'd stand little chance of accidentally stumbling upon it. If you did stumble upon it, you'd more than likely pass it by without a second look. From the outside it looks like a dumpy little neighborhood bar. When you get inside, it still looks like a dumpy little neighborhood bar, because that's exactly what it is. But it does have a separate dining room and a fairly sizable menu for such a small place. Considering there was one bartender serving all the bar customers as well as the dining room, the service was amazingly good and very friendly too. The food ranged from very good to excellent, with better than reasonable prices. The broasted chicken - which seems to be what everyone raves about - also got rave reviews from my notoriously picky girlfriend. She absolutely loved it. The homemade pepper jack crab soup was outstanding. Overall a great experience, even if the place could be cleaned up a bit. Even so - after you've had lousy meals at the quaint touristy places, a dumpy little neighborhood bar is kind of refreshing. As it's often said, if you want good food, go where the locals go. The Painted Lady proves it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellston
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint place off the path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have a Friday Night out couples club that goes to many different places in Manistee and Benzie counties. This was my first visit. It is very quaint inside. There was a long wait but it was a Friday night. Good food.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Lakes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tucked away in a littel neighborhood.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Painted Lady Saloon is a great little neighborhood bar with good food and friendly service. It's a treasure, the kind of place you'd expect to find in a working town in Northern Michigan.
Try it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Painted Lady Saloon also viewed

Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 

Been to The Painted Lady Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Painted Lady Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.