We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Dining - a must try!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heron on the River

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Heron on the River
2700 Orchard Highway Manistee, MI 49660-9752 (866) 466-7338, Manistee, MI
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Manistee
Cuisines: American
Description: 866-466-7338 Located in Little River Casino.
Restaurant details
Description: 866-466-7338 Located in Little River Casino.
Traverse City, Michigan
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Awesome Dining - a must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

LOVE this restaurant. The menu is great and love the Tai Beef Medallions. Service is terrific as well. If you like mac n cheese (and not the box stuff)--theirs Is by far and away the best ever! Never would have even tried it but thanks to the waitstaff I did and now I order it every time I am dining there. I ignore the calorie count...it is to die for!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walled Lake, Michigan, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best darn burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Angus burger was cooked just perfect for both myself and my friend, even though we eat our burgers cooked differently. Bun was toasted. A great flavor. Makes my mouth water just thinking about it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Plastic water glasses and limited abilities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Place was OK. But no previous review was stating that it is a little behind the times as far as a nice restaurant. It is in a casino!!! You smell the ever pervasive cigarette smoke. Food ( for what it was) was pretty good. But it was just presented not that great. Very friendly server but not really a clue on professional service. Manistee could use a good operation

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had lunch here. Prices were reasonable, food was prepared as ordered. I had a burger which was good and my wife had the portobello burger, that had a burnt taste but wasn't bad.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

food is Ok but not a very good value. Not a place I need to eat at again.
Open air to the rest of the casino did not care for that.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heron on the River also viewed

Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 

Been to Heron on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heron on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.