We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Michigan Backpacking Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manistee River

Manistee River
Manistee, MI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Manistee
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shared by canoeists and fishermen, this majestic river with high, white dunes and bordered by forests, flows into Lake Michigan.
Howell, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Michigan Backpacking Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I along with our young black lab went on a backpacking/canoeing trip along the Manistee River. We camped at the Red Bridge access site on Friday night. We got there at about 9:30pm due to work, but there were a couple of sites available and we camped for free. We heard coyotes and owls that night as we were falling asleep. The next morning, bright and early, we began our backpacking hike. We crossed the bridge and walked up the road a little way to the trail head. The trail changes throughout the hike as it winds along the river banks. You will see marshy areas, woody areas, and beautiful little streams back in the woods. I never thought that hiking a long a river could be so amazing, but it really was like something straight out of a "Pure Michigan" commercial. We did most of the Manistee River Trail on the East side of the river and stopped and made camp just before Hopendyl Dam. We were exhausted! What a great work out! We had planned on hiking the North Country Trail on the West side of the river, but decided to call a canoe rental place and they agreed to meet us at the dam and bring us a canoe. It worked perfectly! Canoeing back along the river was a different kind of experience from hiking and it was nice to relax a little. We had a wonderful trip and definitely want to go back and try the whole 20 mile loop!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
374 reviews 374 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Average River, location great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Manistee, at least in the city of Manistee, seems to be your standard, commerically-used river. Fishing boats, a huge commercial shipyard, and the constant use seems to keep the water murky and not sure I'd want to eat the fish from it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You will love our Manistee River!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This beautiful river wanders across Michigan, canoe liveries and fishing spots abound but it's very special in Manistee. It ends by emptying into Manistee lake, a safe harbor for sail boats and small boats, it is also an industrial area, and many "Lakers" the big ships which haul coal and salt, come up the river from Lake Michigan, and the whole town grinds to a halt as 2 bridges open to accommodate this fete. You can literally say hello to the crews as the boats come into Manistee Lake. Manistee is built around the lake, ending at the "Big Lake" and is mostly restored and very tourist friendly. Come visit the river soon!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“River Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The River Walk was great. It went all the way through the town with great scenery. Then we walked through the town, which also had many unique stores. Well worth the time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“River walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Walk or run along the manistee river walk all the way to Lake Michigan. Couldn't be better. Try a play at the fully restored turn of the century Ramsdell Theatre. Three black away.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manistee River also viewed

Manistee, Manistee County
Manistee, Manistee County
 
Manistee, Manistee County
 

Been to Manistee River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manistee River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.