We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Motel & Marina

Riverside Motel & Marina
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manistee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Motel & Marina
Save
You added Riverside Motel & Marina to your Saves list
520 Water Street, Manistee, MI 49660   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Manistee
Noblesville
1 review
“Great value and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We checked all of Manistee for a pet friendly hotel or motel and could only find two one was over $100 a night and this place was $79. Room really clean service was excellent I would recommend this place to everybody!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

First time in Manistee in over 30 years, and I tracked the Riverside Motel down online. We were in town to see a concert at the Little River Casino, and wanted to stay in town for the entertainment opportunities. The motel is a quaint, old style "up north" kind of place, and we absolutely loved it. Like most motel properties, you park right in front of your door, which is great for unpacking and convenience. The best part was after we picked up the key in the office and checked out the room, was when we opened the drapes over the sliding doors and saw the view of the marina and river from our own private patio. It was fantastic! You also have 2 Cap Cod chairs and a picnic table, as well as a gas grill. We packed filets and some salmon, and had a great first night meal on the patio.

Our unit was very clean and spartan, with plenty of towels and also a small fridge and microwave. Cable TV with a good selection of channels was included. There is a small window air conditioner, but we opened the doors and windows and enjoyed the fresh breeze off the lake. It's an easy walk to downtown, with shopping and some nice choices for food and drinks, some with great outdoor decks facing the river. We visited the River Street Station several times, and during lunch one day, a huge freighter was making the passage down the river. You can see the drawbridges raise, and the huge ships make their way with just a few feet to spare.

For the fishermen, there are plenty of charters available right out the back door of the motel. The marina is along the Riverwalk, which also leads downtown, so you can walk there at street level, or go out the back and down the stairs to the Riverwalk for a nice view as you walk the 5 minutes to town.

The Lake Michigan beaches, lighthouses, etc., are just down the street as well, making the location just about perfect. Casino 3 miles away, and offers a free shuttle. Already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: Get a river view room. It's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Wonderful "up north" experience. Great location overlooking the river on the boardwalk. We were able to walk downtown for lunch and down to Lake Michigan to go swimming. We had a nice room that opened on the river with a picnic table and personal gas grill. The room offered a mini-refrigerator and microwave. The carpet seemed newer and the room was very clean. The staff treated us like we were one of the family. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

TINY, and DIRTY. Asked for new sheets within first 2 minutes due to hair and all sorts of debris on under the pillows. Shower dark, dirty with a ton of mold all over the shower curtain. Asked if we could get money back and go somewhere else but you apparently pay in advance so no luck there. We stayed with family in an adjacent room and soon discovered that our room was actually nicer than theirs! The worse we have ever stayed at hands down.

Room Tip: near the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Few blocks from the nice beach and over looks the river. Most rooms have small patio with gas grill and picnic table. Staff was friendly. Rooms have microwave and mini fridge. Now the down side. Rooms are very tiny, a/c only slightly cool, carpet nasty, beds old and saggy, toilet runs nonstop, shower drips nonstop, furniture is ancient practical board variety. Not a good value.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiaville, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

An older motel, it is well built and cared for. We fell in love with the new owners, they are hard working individuals with an eye for quality and cleanliness. The motel has recently been upgraded and polished up, it is on the boardwalk with boat docking available for those who need it, shaded picnic area overlooking the river, beautiful.

The rooms were absolutely spotless, beds were good, it was quiet, we could not have asked for more. We plan to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: Go for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

the absolutely worst place i have ever been, i have stayed all over america, but this place takes the cake. we had a problem with the bill and politely questioned the owner of the place about it, he went on to literally cuss me out saying " every person is different" and " our rates change daily", so disappointed... great town, great fishing, but do not stay here. unless you want to be treated horribly.

Room Tip: stay anywhere else, even if fishing, not worth the hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Motel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Motel & Marina

Address: 520 Water Street, Manistee, MI 49660
Location: United States > Michigan > Manistee County > Manistee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Manistee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Riverside Motel And Marina Hotel Manistee
Riverside Hotel Manistee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Motel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.