We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32420 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Day Weekend Offer!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Madison Heights
Oakville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I originally wrote my review on the wrong Hampton Inn -Sterling Heights - Ooops - I didn't know how to cancel it. Anyway, I am now re-writing it on the correct hotel. We stayed 2 nights and booked on hotwire and were not disappointed. We liked the location, close to the mall, costco and within walking distance, less than 10 minutes, to a grocery store, McDonald, Outback, Applebys and more. The room was clean, great duvet, and my husband was impressed by the panasonic flat screen. The staff were very friendly, including the housekeeping, front desk and breakfast area staff. The breakfast was typical of most hotel complimentary breakfasts but the eating area was constantly being kept clean and the breakfast employees made sure everyone was happy. The hotel had fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. We would stay here again if the opportunity arises and we would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel. We appreciate your diligence to make sure your review was shared with the right hotel :-).

The comments that you shared are comments that we frequently hear from our guests, especially our weekend guests.

If you do have the occasion to visit us again, please allow us to share a few bullet points with you that perhaps my might be uncommonly known about the area.

Hampton Inn of Madison Heights is:
• 2 Minutes from Due Venti Italian Restaurant, which is one of Metro Detroit’s hidden
gems, an au courant dining destination

• 5 Minutes from Downtown Royal Oak, a walkable shopping and dining area

• 8 Minutes from Somerset Mall, an upscale super-regional shopping mall, with
over 180 stores

• 15 Minutes from Downtown Detroit and 3 Local Casinos

• 17 Minutes from Great Lakes Outlet Mall, which has over 25 stores and
restaurants that can't be found anywhere else in Michigan, including Rainforest
Cafe

And so much more….

We value your business and appreciate your feedback.
Best Regards and Safe Travels,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    82
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
48
23
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Check-in was friendly, knowledgable and efficient.
No evening reception- did have cookies, petit fors (sp?), fruit and cans of pop.
Hallways were in need of vacuuming.
Breakfast was typical of Hampton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Trip Advisor review with us.
Our guests' experiences and feedback are both very important to us.
Guests seem to enjoy our welcome cookies upon check-in, our full hot breakfast, and our evening dessert and soda receptions Monday - Thursday.

We are always on the look out of a new way to make our guests feel welcome.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Best Regards,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel is a gem. I knew we would have a nice experience from our first dealings on the telephone with Tonya to book our room. Great rate. Great location, close to many malls for shopping (@7 minutes from Somerset Collection and 15 minutes from Great Lakes). But most of all helpful and pleasant staff. My husband and I both felt the staff here were the nicest we've experienced. This hotel also offers an excellent hot breakfast with many choices, clean spacious rooms, and everything you need for an excellent experience. Will definitely come here again for our next shopping trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you experienced such a pleasant stay. Your review will be very helpful to others that come to the area for shopping.

We look forward to your future stays.

Best Regards,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel. The room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The front desk person gave us a great restaurant recommendation for a late dinner on Saturday evening. We felt that this hotel offered very good value for the price. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and overall review of the hotel. We are very pleased that you had such a great experience. We welcome you back to stay with us again and again.

Please know we enjoy providing information to our guests and recommendations about the local area. There are many enjoyable resturants, cafes and dinner options in the area within walking distance and within a few miles of the hotel. Many of our guests enjoy visiting restaurants in other cities that are close by such as Clawson, Royal Oak, Ferndale, Detroit, Warren, Troy, Hazel Park, Pleasant Ridge, and Birmingham Michigan. There are lots of reasons to visit the area.

We wish you safe and enjoyable travels. See you soon.


Best Regards,


Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I booked this as our regular hotel was sold out. I like Hampton Inns, staff is always friendly and it tends to be quiet with a nice pace to work in the lobby. Room size is good and beds are great. BUt they could update the showers. For the rest it works well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review. We are glad to have the opportunity to have you experience our service, amenities and the value.

We are very glad to read that you found the staff is "always friendly" at the Hampton Inn of Madison Heights. You are right this hotel does tend to be quiet and relaxing, this is especially true weekdays. Many of our guests do enjoy working alone in the lobby, meeting with colleagues or clients in the lobby as well. We often hear from our guests that "the room size is good" and we frequently hear from guests that our beds and pillows are very comfortable.

Please allow us to share with you that we offer a variety of bathroom styles throughout the hotel. Please inquire with the front desk at check in or with a comment in your reservation if you ever wish to have a specific bathroom style such as a room with a tub, or room with just a shower.

Thanks again for your valued business, your recent stay and future stays with us.

Best Regards,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A clean hotel offering free breakfast bar with waffles, eggs, bacon, fruits, etc. fresh brewed coffee 24 hrs in lobby a business center free access & wifi fitness center & warm cookies when you check in. Staff couldn't be nicer! A business persons destination. Nice rooms. No restaurant on premise or too close but have external delivery options

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are certainly proud to read that you found the Hampton Inn of Madison Heights to be "a clean hotel".

We do indeed offer a great value with our complimentary breakfast bar featuring fresh waffles, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh whole fruit and fresh sliced fruit and so much more. We make it a point to offer fresh brewed coffee 24 hrs a day, conveniently served in the hotel lobby.

Many of our guests comment that our business center with free wifi access is very convenient. Our guests love our fitness center & those fresh baked warm cookies that you also mentioned in your review.

We are thrilled that you and so many other guests find our staff to be "nice" and accommodating! A number of our guests are business travelers as well as leisure travelers and many of our guests are here attending family and local sporting events.

And although we don't have a restaurant on the premises, we are within walking distance to McDonald's, Applebee's, Outback Steakhouse, and a local diner the Melting Pot. There are also several restaurants and cafes right in the immediate area ( within 2-3 minutes) such as: Chili's, Grand Azteca Mexican, Logan's Steakhouse, Oakland Mall's Food Court, Burger King, Taco Bell, Wendy's , Steak and Shake, Bob Evans, Clawson Steakhouse, Pizza Hut, Panera Bread, Mon Jin Lau, and Starbucks.

If we may take this opportunity, please allow us to share with you there are also many unique restaurants and cafes within 5-10 minutes from the hotel. If you ever wish to venture out a bit further for additional dining options; many of our guests enjoy visiting downtown Royal Oak or downtown Clawson. Please feel free to inquire at the front desk if you are ever in need of a restaurant recommendation or delivery menu, we are glad to assist our guests with maximizing their traveling experience.

Best Wishes,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crothersville Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

hotel was clean, workers were very nice and breakfast was good. Was very convient to place we were visition and close to restruants. I have stayed there many times over the years and has always been well kept and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your Trip Advisor review of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We were very proud to read that you found the hotel "was clean, workers were very nice and breakfast was good. Was very convenient to the place we were visiting and close to restaurants".

We strive every day to offer a consistent hotel to our guests and we work hard to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Warmest Regards,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Address: 32420 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home on the Detroit road, ideally positioned for everything downtown and beyond, at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy. Just off I-75, in the high-tech hub city of Madison Heights, MI, this modern hotel is within 20 minutes of the bright lights, corporations and casinos of downtown Detroit. Indulge your sporting and family passions from our Madison Heights hotel—it’s minutes on the freeway to the lions and tigers of Detroit Zoo in Royal Oak, MI, or the Lions and Tigers of Ford Field and Comerica Park in downtown Detroit. Enjoy warm cookies at check-in and a warm welcome always at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy.Relax in a spacious guest room—they all offer our clean and fresh Hampton bed ®. Accessible rooms are designed for your comfort. Stay connected from your room or from our lobby – where there’s free coffee 24-hours – with free WiFi access throughout this Madison Heights hotel. Host a meeting for up to 40 on the doorstep of Madison Heights’ tech companies, in our Hospitality Suite. There’s free printing in our business center for your notes, schedules and agendas.Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast and choose favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. Don’t miss out if you’ve got early meetings, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Consult our local experts – the friendly Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy team - for Madison Heights restaurant recommendations and local attraction information - all available right at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy Hotel Madison Heights
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
Madison Heights Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.