We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32420 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Day Weekend Offer!
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Madison Heights
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel. The room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The front desk person gave us a great restaurant recommendation for a late dinner on Saturday evening. We felt that this hotel offered very good value for the price. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and overall review of the hotel. We are very pleased that you had such a great experience. We welcome you back to stay with us again and again.

Please know we enjoy providing information to our guests and recommendations about the local area. There are many enjoyable resturants, cafes and dinner options in the area within walking distance and within a few miles of the hotel. Many of our guests enjoy visiting restaurants in other cities that are close by such as Clawson, Royal Oak, Ferndale, Detroit, Warren, Troy, Hazel Park, Pleasant Ridge, and Birmingham Michigan. There are lots of reasons to visit the area.

We wish you safe and enjoyable travels. See you soon.


Best Regards,


Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    82
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
47
22
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I booked this as our regular hotel was sold out. I like Hampton Inns, staff is always friendly and it tends to be quiet with a nice pace to work in the lobby. Room size is good and beds are great. BUt they could update the showers. For the rest it works well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor review. We are glad to have the opportunity to have you experience our service, amenities and the value.

We are very glad to read that you found the staff is "always friendly" at the Hampton Inn of Madison Heights. You are right this hotel does tend to be quiet and relaxing, this is especially true weekdays. Many of our guests do enjoy working alone in the lobby, meeting with colleagues or clients in the lobby as well. We often hear from our guests that "the room size is good" and we frequently hear from guests that our beds and pillows are very comfortable.

Please allow us to share with you that we offer a variety of bathroom styles throughout the hotel. Please inquire with the front desk at check in or with a comment in your reservation if you ever wish to have a specific bathroom style such as a room with a tub, or room with just a shower.

Thanks again for your valued business, your recent stay and future stays with us.

Best Regards,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A clean hotel offering free breakfast bar with waffles, eggs, bacon, fruits, etc. fresh brewed coffee 24 hrs in lobby a business center free access & wifi fitness center & warm cookies when you check in. Staff couldn't be nicer! A business persons destination. Nice rooms. No restaurant on premise or too close but have external delivery options

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We are certainly proud to read that you found the Hampton Inn of Madison Heights to be "a clean hotel".

We do indeed offer a great value with our complimentary breakfast bar featuring fresh waffles, eggs, bacon or sausage, fresh whole fruit and fresh sliced fruit and so much more. We make it a point to offer fresh brewed coffee 24 hrs a day, conveniently served in the hotel lobby.

Many of our guests comment that our business center with free wifi access is very convenient. Our guests love our fitness center & those fresh baked warm cookies that you also mentioned in your review.

We are thrilled that you and so many other guests find our staff to be "nice" and accommodating! A number of our guests are business travelers as well as leisure travelers and many of our guests are here attending family and local sporting events.

And although we don't have a restaurant on the premises, we are within walking distance to McDonald's, Applebee's, Outback Steakhouse, and a local diner the Melting Pot. There are also several restaurants and cafes right in the immediate area ( within 2-3 minutes) such as: Chili's, Grand Azteca Mexican, Logan's Steakhouse, Oakland Mall's Food Court, Burger King, Taco Bell, Wendy's , Steak and Shake, Bob Evans, Clawson Steakhouse, Pizza Hut, Panera Bread, Mon Jin Lau, and Starbucks.

If we may take this opportunity, please allow us to share with you there are also many unique restaurants and cafes within 5-10 minutes from the hotel. If you ever wish to venture out a bit further for additional dining options; many of our guests enjoy visiting downtown Royal Oak or downtown Clawson. Please feel free to inquire at the front desk if you are ever in need of a restaurant recommendation or delivery menu, we are glad to assist our guests with maximizing their traveling experience.

Best Wishes,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crothersville Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

hotel was clean, workers were very nice and breakfast was good. Was very convient to place we were visition and close to restruants. I have stayed there many times over the years and has always been well kept and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your Trip Advisor review of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We were very proud to read that you found the hotel "was clean, workers were very nice and breakfast was good. Was very convenient to the place we were visiting and close to restaurants".

We strive every day to offer a consistent hotel to our guests and we work hard to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable experience.

We look forward to your future stays with us.

Warmest Regards,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was in town for a wedding reception and stayed at this hotel. I didn't book in time to get the wedding rate but they gave it to me at check-in anyway! The staff was also very helpful when I forgot some of my belongings there. The room was very nice, clean, up-to-date, and as I've come to expect from Hampton Inn, had a very comfortable bed. The bathroom wasn't too small and the FREE warm breakfast the next morning was a nice touch as well. I would definitely stay here again and never seem to be disappointed with Hampton Inn hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. We are very proud to read that your stay was enjoyable and that you found the hotel staff to be very accommodating.

You are right, typically there is a deadline to book within a group block of at least two weeks prior to arrival. However, depending on the particular weekend’s demand for a group's stay we may be able to still offer the group block rate to a guest that has missed booking by the deadline.

We often find that guests leave behind an important item or two after a stay with us, we are happy to work with the guest to get those items safely returned to them.

We are glad to read that you found our rooms to be "very nice, clean, up-to-date" with a "very comfortable bed”. We should alert you and our other Trip Advisor subscribers that we have a variety of bathroom styles to choose from. Many guests do not know that we offer bathrooms with a shower only as well as bathrooms with both a shower and a tub, and lastly we offer accessible bathrooms with in-room accessibility and a roll-in shower ( a shower bench is also available upon request).

Guest do seem to really enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast each morning that also features a variety of chilled items to choose from such as cereal, yogurt, fresh sliced fruit salad and fresh whole fruit.

We would certainly love to have you stay with us again and welcome you to come back - perhaps for an extended weekend. Remember this area offers some fun/unique dining and shopping options. Many of our guests enjoy visiting downtown Royal Oak or downtown Detroit during their stay, both only a quick drive away.

Best Regards, Safe and Fun Travels,


Rodney Jackson and Staff
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
168 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is an older property that has had some “superficial” upgrades over time. As an older property, the layout is dated and the room sizes are smaller than other similar properties. This is not a “suite” property. I stayed in room 414 a “deluxe” king room.

PRO's:

• Price
• Very good beds and excellent pillows
• 32” TV
• Solid surface counters with tile floors in bathroom.
• Bathroom was clean
• Decent workout room with free weights
• Has micro/fridge combo
• Small seating area with foot stools


CON’s:

• Older property
• Outdoor pool closed for season
• Small bathroom with shower only
• Carpet worn, dirty in spots
• Hallway to rooms smelled stale

WORK AREA

The work desk was good size with a small upper tire. The work chair was adequate. Congratulations to Hampton for having FIVE (5) outlets for electronics AND 2 USB outlets!

BREAKFAST

The breakfast was good and on par for this type of property. Scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles and usual cold offerings. Seating area was clean, but a little short on ambient lighting.

SCORE: This is a good property for the money and I would likely stay here again in the future at the right price.

I would give this property an 85/100 overall and an 88/100 for value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
On behalf of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights we thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of our hotel. We welcome your feedback and greatly appreciate your time, business and observations.

You are right this is an older property. We have had many updates over the years; however our most extensive update was a full renovation at the end of 2009.

This particular hotel does not have suites, although we do have a number of room styles to choose from ranging from king, double, single, king with a pull out sofa bed and we also have the deluxe upgrades (rooms with a fridge and microwave). We do hear similar comments such as yours that this hotel offers a great value with the variety of amenities offered coupled with the attractive rates offered; especially for weekend stays and group events. Guests just seem to love our comfy beds and excellent pillows and the size and quality of our high definition televisions (32”).

Guests find our bathrooms to be well stocked with the necessary essentials and plush bath towels. Our fitness center is enjoyed by many of our guests and many of our guests especially enjoy utilizing the free weights included in the fitness center. In 2009 we added a pool to our hotel's amenities; our guests can now enjoy a refreshing swim during the pool season (typically from Memorial Day to Labor Day). You are right about the work space being sufficient, isn’t that rolling desk nice. We listened to our customers and recently found there was a need for more electrical outlets near the work area, we have recently increased the number of outlets available in the guest rooms to make our work space more efficient for our guests power needs.

Please know that we make every effort to ensure that the carpets smell clean and fresh, our carpets are professionally cleaned by an outside company twice a year and throughout the year by our staff as well.

We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast selection. You are right; each day's menu includes a choice of at least two to three hot items, not even including the opportunity to make a fresh cooked waffle too. Many of our guests enjoy starting the day with our chilled yogurt and fresh cut fruit.

On behalf of everyone here at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights, we wish you the best of luck and safe travels.

Our Best,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

It was the second time i stayed at the same hotel, this time with the boys, when we checked in the guys were laughing, and i wondered whats up, i was the guest of the day, which was a nice touch, the room was great, clean and the bed was super comfortable, always a great stat at this hampton inn

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant experience and comments with us via Trip Advisor.com. How fun to be the honored "Guest of Day” for your stay. May we share with you that we try to pick an arriving guest each day to share a fun treat with; perhaps a guest visiting with us that has an extended trip away from home or a guest celebrating a special occasion during their stay. We hope that this gesture welcomes our guests to the hotel and area in a friendly surprising manner. We are glad you and your family enjoyed the treat. Thanks again for your multiple stays with us. We always welcome your feedback and appreciate your valued business.
Our Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Address: 32420 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home on the Detroit road, ideally positioned for everything downtown and beyond, at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy. Just off I-75, in the high-tech hub city of Madison Heights, MI, this modern hotel is within 20 minutes of the bright lights, corporations and casinos of downtown Detroit. Indulge your sporting and family passions from our Madison Heights hotel—it’s minutes on the freeway to the lions and tigers of Detroit Zoo in Royal Oak, MI, or the Lions and Tigers of Ford Field and Comerica Park in downtown Detroit. Enjoy warm cookies at check-in and a warm welcome always at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy.Relax in a spacious guest room—they all offer our clean and fresh Hampton bed ®. Accessible rooms are designed for your comfort. Stay connected from your room or from our lobby – where there’s free coffee 24-hours – with free WiFi access throughout this Madison Heights hotel. Host a meeting for up to 40 on the doorstep of Madison Heights’ tech companies, in our Hospitality Suite. There’s free printing in our business center for your notes, schedules and agendas.Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast and choose favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. Don’t miss out if you’ve got early meetings, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Consult our local experts – the friendly Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy team - for Madison Heights restaurant recommendations and local attraction information - all available right at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy Hotel Madison Heights
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
Madison Heights Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.