We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rate for the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   32420 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Day Weekend Offer!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Fullerton, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good rate for the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I was looking for a hotel around Troy area, but they all are above my company budget. Luckily I found this hotel as their rate is a little bit lower and it is located nearby Troy/Royal Oak area. There are a lot of food/retail choices nearby Oakland mall. Somerset Collection in Troy is not far from hotel either (about 5-6 miles).

The rooms are typical new renovated Hampton Inn. I like having a fridge and microwave in the room. The bathroom is clean, but a bit smaller. The closet space is a small, but since i only stayed for a couple of nights, i had no complaint. The only thing i didn't like was their pillows. I usually like Hampton beds and never had problem with their pillows either, but at this hotel, i just didn't like all of them.
Their breakfast is good and always stocked.
Their fitness center is small with only 3 cardio machines and some free weights. There's also a Sauna room inside the fitness center which i enjoy using it while staying there.
Unfortunately there's no coin operated laundry machine at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights. We also want to tell you how much we appreciate you for taking time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are excited and pleased that you found your stay and rate to be a good value. Yes indeed, we are very close to at least three local malls and a variety of restaurants.

The hotel was fully renovated at the end of 2009. However, we are also always working to keep the hotel looking fresh and up to date. We do have a number of rooms that are deluxe rooms which include a fridge and microwave. Please let us know if you ever need additional hangers for an extended stay. We also have an assortment of pillows available. Some guests request non-feather pillows during their stay. Upon a guest's request we may deliver alternative pillows to a guest's room.

We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and that you found the assortment of items to be satisfying and well stocked.

Please keep your eyes peeled, we just may get an onsite laundry center for our guests' use, sometime in the immediate future. We listen out for our guests' feedback and comments and try to offer amenities that suit our guests' needs. Once upon a time our fitness center didn't include the free weights, however after taking our guests feedback into account - the free weights were added to our fitness center for the convenience and enjoyment of our guests.

We wish you well and safe travels. Until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    97
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
62
56
24
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittston, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Just trust me, this place is wonderful. Rooms are clean and everything inside seemed new. Service from everyone in the hotel was kind and on point with whatever requests were made. Food was good. Area seems safe and welcoming. Location is convenient....Close to mall and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Kimberly G:

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights on Trip Advisor. We are certainly glad that you had such a pleasant stay. It is our highest priority at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights that all of our guests have an experience similar to your experience. We hope that you will join us again. We wish you continued pleasant journeys in all of your travels.

Warm Regards,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The best surprise is no surprise and the Hampton Inns I have stayed at are dependable.
Pros
- Staff was friendly and helpful with directions
- Breakfast area was well stocked and maintained - better than other Hampton Inns
- Rooms were clean and remodeled w/ newer flat screen TVs
- Price was good

Cons
- Few that I can think of. The area around the hotel is light industrial park

Overall this was a good choice for our family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear PDXcoffeetraveler:

Thank you for taking time to share your comments and feedback on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate your time. We are very pleased to read your take on our pros and cons. Please allow us to add just a few bullet points to shed a little more light on the cons area of our review, just in case you might be interested in taking in a bit of nature or shopping during your next visit. Although the Hampton Inn Madison Heights is located in a light industrial park area, just one block west of the hotel, an unlikely surprise awaits. Within a short walk guests will find the Exchange Park. This little park is located on Campbell & Montrose between 13 & 14 Mile. Acreage: 14.50. Hours: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM. Facilities: •Ball Fields/Back Stops•Soccer Area• Tennis Courts•Play Structure •Swing Sets

We know that many of our guests do realize that Hampton Inn Madison Heights is also conveniently located within walking distance of Oakland Mall which is just east down 14 Mile Road not even one mile.

We certainly hope the details listed in this response will come in handy for you, perhaps for your next visit to the area. Please join us again.

Best Regards,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've stayed here a number of times on business in Southeast Michigan. It is a great value for what you're paying. It's not a Westin, but most people don't go to a Hampton Inn expecting a Westin-type experience. It is always clean, the staff is always very, very friendly and it is close to enough major roads that you can get in and out easily (but it is quiet, too). It is close to Royal Oak which has a trendy restaurant/nightlife scene. Surprisingly Royal Oak doesn't really have hotel choices, so this hotel fits the bill. All in all a very good experience every time I go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear SeanIAm:

Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor Review. We often hear from our guests how convenient the location of the Hampton Inn Madison Heights is to downtown Royal Oak. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please join us again.

Warm Regards,
Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I recently stayed here for a business trip and couldn't have been more pleased! The staff was great. The room was superb, must have been recently redecorated. It was very clean and the bed was super comfy. I have not stayed at a Hampton Inn for years, but I don't remember it being as nice. Congratulations to the designers and decorators...well done!! I will definitely return again for all future trips to the area.

Room Tip: I was very near the elevator, which did tend to be a bit noisy...would suggest a room further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Lapsaroundtheglobe,

Thank you for sharing these compliments towards the Hampton Inn of Madison Heights on Trip Advisor. We are certainly pleased that you had such a satisfying "re"experience. We look forward to your future stays here. You are indeed right, this hotel has recently experienced a full renovation throughout the entire hotel; from the lobby, breakfast area, fitness center, all sleeping the rooms to the addition of an outdoor seasonal pool. We also have a few surprises in store coming up shortly to renovate the fitness center even further.
Until your next stay....

Best Regards,


Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Top Contributor
866 reviews 866 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
300 helpful votes 300 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

As I have said in reviews before, the best thing about Hampton Inn's is the consistency. You know what to expect - and you get it. This one follows the rule. Friendly greeting - love the cookie. Nice room, small comofrtable lobby area. Like many - this one right off interstate. Not much within a mile, so you'll go out with car for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your comments and feedback of the Hampton Inn of Madison Heights on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate your valued time and business. We are very glad to read that you had an enjoyable experience, an experience right in line with other Hampton Inns that you have experienced. Although there are not many restaurants right on Stephenson Highway in eye view of the hotel, there are a number or restaurants just northeast and northwest of the hotel. For instance, there is an Outback Steakhouse just northwest of the hotel; this restaurant is just over half a mile by foot. To the northeast of the hotel there are a few more restaurant choices close enough to walk; these restaurants are just less than one mile from the hotel. This cluster of restaurants includes Chili's Grill & Bar, Azteca Mexican Restaurant, Logan's Steakhouse and the Oakland Mall Food Court. All of the mentioned restaurants are located right on 14 Mile Road. The hotel also offers a number of restaurant menus at the front desk from restaurants that deliver to the hotel.

We certainly hope this information will come in handy for your next visit to our area and hopefully for your next stay at the Hampton Inn Madison Heights.

Best Wishes,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We selcted this property for a one night stay after a Tigers game so that we could be clsoer to home but outside of downtown. It is located in an industrial area and convenient to I-75. The staff were wonderful, the property spotless and the beds very comfortable. The pool was refreshing. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments; we are very appreciative that you took time to share your enjoyable experience on TripAdvisor. We agree with your comments, indeed the hotel is conveniently located just off I-75 and a short drive to downtown Detroit. The staff makes every effort to ensure that each guest has an enjoyable experience; it is our pleasure to serve. Guests seem to really relax in our spacious guest rooms—they all offer our clean and fresh Hampton bed ®, and our seasonal outdoor pool is always a splashing hit on a summer's day.

We certainly look forward to your future stay with us.

Best Regards,

Rodney Jackson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy

Address: 32420 Stephenson Highway, Madison Heights, MI 48071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Madison Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Madison Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home on the Detroit road, ideally positioned for everything downtown and beyond, at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy. Just off I-75, in the high-tech hub city of Madison Heights, MI, this modern hotel is within 20 minutes of the bright lights, corporations and casinos of downtown Detroit. Indulge your sporting and family passions from our Madison Heights hotel—it’s minutes on the freeway to the lions and tigers of Detroit Zoo in Royal Oak, MI, or the Lions and Tigers of Ford Field and Comerica Park in downtown Detroit. Enjoy warm cookies at check-in and a warm welcome always at Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy.Relax in a spacious guest room—they all offer our clean and fresh Hampton bed ®. Accessible rooms are designed for your comfort. Stay connected from your room or from our lobby – where there’s free coffee 24-hours – with free WiFi access throughout this Madison Heights hotel. Host a meeting for up to 40 on the doorstep of Madison Heights’ tech companies, in our Hospitality Suite. There’s free printing in our business center for your notes, schedules and agendas.Start the day right with Hampton’s free hot breakfast and choose favorite toppings for oatmeal and fresh waffles to accompany hot and cold selections. Don’t miss out if you’ve got early meetings, simply grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Consult our local experts – the friendly Hampton Inn Detroit/Madison Heights/South Troy team - for Madison Heights restaurant recommendations and local attraction information - all available right at the front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy Hotel Madison Heights
Hampton Inn Madison Heights
Madison Heights Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Detroit / Madison Heights / South Troy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.