We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful General Manager - Denise Ruff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   364 Louvigny, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful General Manager - Denise Ruff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Denise Ruff the General Manager was very helpful and upgraded us to a jacuzzi room and the rest of our family as will. She was extremely professional and kind. The stay was great and plan to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is our goal, as a team, to create a Great hotel Guests Love! I thank you for your kind words and giving us an opportunity to make your family gathering an enjoyable one. It was truly MY pleasure to meet you all. The staff and I were delighted to watch your family utilize our great room, playing games and making Mackinaw Memories..... We look forward to welcoming you back! Until next time...

Happy Holidays from Our family to yours, D Ruff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    82
    54
    22
    20
See reviews for
82
90
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is a perfect location for sightseeing. It has an excellent restaurant adjacent to it. It is right off the highway and yet was very quiet. The staff was very helpful - giving us advice on sights, the Mackinaw Island, and restaurants. Very reasonable with a nice breakfast.

Room Tip: rooms on upper floors all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay, at the Holiday Inn Express, At the Bridge.
We appreciate your patronage and the opportunity to make your stay in our area, a memorable one.

Most sincerely, D Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were heading home from Marquette, Mi and needed an overnight stop. Finding a place open in Mackinaw City in November is not easy. After one failed attempt at another hotel I contacted the Holiday Inn. Reservations were made and I was looking forward to a nice hot tub to relax in when we arrived but at check in there was a notice that the pool area was being remodeled. I was so disappointed and the clerk could tell so she offered us a upgrade to make things work for me. We received a beautiful suite with a in room jacuzzi which was better then the hot tub option. The room itself was very comfortable with couch and chairs, clean and neat and a view of the bridge towers from both northern facing windows. The breakfast was okay as many others have said on here. But it beat going out in the unexpected snow to get something to eat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. The entire staff and management sincerely appreciate all feedback, so we can continue to deliver the service that helps make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible. Our previous guests asked for a pool renovation and we listened. This particular renovation is never an easy one, nor is there ever a perfect time to do it. As any remodel or construction, there are unforeseen challenges that may take extra attention. We take every measure to overcome the obstacles that we encounter, the best we can. The staff is as anxious to see the pool open, as our guests are. Thank you, as well, for staying with us despite the pool closure and we invite you to include us in your future plans when you visit the area again.

Happy Holidays from our family to yours, D Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We studied Tripadvisor before making this booking and based on the advice of other contributors paid a little extra to secure a king room on the fourth floor.
Our room was clean and comfortable. It is an older hotel but was well maintained and everything worked. Reception staff were helpful and welcoming, we will have no hesitation in booking this hotel again on future visits.
Breakfast was the usual Express offering. No reflection on this hotel but we think that it is time for IHG to review and update its breakfast offering. We feel that both in the US and the UK, the present offering is getting a little tired. Ok for the odd night but not for longer trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and also sharing your travel time, in the States, at the Holiday Inn Express, in Mackinaw City, MI. One of the highlights of the hospitality industry, is having the opportunity to have a diversity of people, as your guests. By your comment regarding the breakfast items, I would like to think it is safe to say, "Thank you for being a loyal IHG guest." At our hotel, we try to do optional items, to give our guests a little more options.

Best wishes in the New Year and beyond! From the Entire Staff and Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesstaci04
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here cause of the dog friendly. Location was good, room was nice. Not bad of price. Would stay here again. The breakfast wasn't too bad. The parking was a bit narrow, but not too bad. You can almost see mackinac bridge from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear jamesstaci04,
Nice review! Thank you, so much from the entire staff and management, for the 4 Stars. We appreciate your patronage and feedback. We do our best to listen and act on comments, when every possible. Who knows, maybe future changes will include parking changes. Comments regarding the pool area, brought on renovations! Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction is our main concern. Thank you, again, for stay with the Holiday Inn Express "At the Bridge". Most sincerely, D Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leelanau County, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First, the negatives. The hallway on the third floor hallway is still that funky yellow (maize) color, and just the one, slow elevator. But that is it for the bad. The room was spacious, clean, and the view of the bridge was acceptable. The balcony was a nice perk, and pleasant place/view to enjoy an adult beverage while relaxing from a long drive. The breakfast was hot and well stocked. It helped that there was not busload of casino circuit seekers spending that night at the hotel. All in all, my expectations and confidence in the quality of my stay remained intact. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: If paying for a room with bridge view, request a room located at/near end of hall. The view is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

The entire staff and management would like to take this opportunity to, thank you, for posting your comments and the 4 Star Review. We appreciate your patronage and the opportunity to have you as our guest. Our commitment to service and guest satisfaction is our main concern. As far as the yellow walls, well, we all hope one day the neutral paint fairy pays us a visit !!!

Most sincerely, D Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Traveling in October gives you easy options for places to stay. Holiday Inn always delivers, especially when you are in a new place. BUT, the staff make or break your stay, right? This hotel is a bit older and does need some upgrades. Our room had the jacuzzi tub which was nice treat. Other amenities: fridge, microwave, coffee maker - all in good working condition. We had a great sleep - wonderful bed and pillow choices. I enjoyed the pool and hot tub - all very clean. Front desk guys at evening arrival weren't too thrilled to be there which made us feel unwelcome. Great hot breakfast in the morning with lots of good food and hot coffee. Housekeeping staff seem to be adequate but not with the same friendliness we have encountered on our trip. Next time we visit Mackinaw, we will be trying one of the other motels/hotels based on TripAdvisor reviews!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Tracy l,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate our guest's feedback, as our staff actually visits this site to read what our guests have to say. I am truly sorry it appeared the guys did not want to be working that night. As I stated, they do read reviews, sometimes before I do, and they are the ones that brings the review to my attention. Which is the perfect time for management to give the "pep talk", and make it a training moment. So again, thank you for that.

We are pleased you found, the hotel delivered on every other aspect of your stay, as an IHG Holiday Inn Brand. Striving to improve, the hotel has completed several phases of our property improvement plan.

On behalf of the entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express, At the Bridge, we sincerely appreciate your business and want you to be completely satisfied with your experience with us. As you mentioned, Tracy I, there are many other hotel options, during the summer months, however, we want to be a Great Hotel Guests Love!

D. Ruff ~ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvigny, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.