We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group travel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   364 Louvigny, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
St Louis MO
1 review
“Group travel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were very pleased with our room and service. The room was very clean and the housekeeeping service for that room was excellent for our 3 days there. It was a group travel.
Our luggage was handled by experienced personal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    64
    46
    20
    19
See reviews for
73
74
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you think you will be enjoying the peace and quiet of northern Michigan forget it.

As with most Holiday Inn Express locations this property is literally yards away from a major expressway in this case; I-75 and the access to the "Bridge". The semi- truck noise is relentless and 24/7.

The staff is gracious, the room immaculate. The truck traffic noise just ruins the whole thing.

Room Tip: There isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear wkoz1953,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I appreciate your compliments about our staff being gracious and room immaculate. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept my sincere apology if your stay was negatively affected by the outside noise issues you have encountered. Rest assured, your valuable comments are noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate department to be addressed accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband, son and I stayed at this hotel a few nights ago (08/22/13). I had made the reservation over the phone to the main Holiday Inn Express number. I had asked at that time if the room had a sofa sleeper and that representative said yes. Well when we arrived we were told by the front desk staff that the room did not have a sofa sleeper but they could do a roll away bed or they had also held another room for us that did have a sofa sleeper and was a suite at no extra cost. I really liked that they took that extra step and the two gentlemen were very polite. They offered to take us to both rooms and once we got to the suite there was no doubt that we wanted that room. It had two balconies and one was overlooking the bridge. It was wonderful. The room was very spacious and clean and smelled fine. The hotel is in a good neighborhood. I don't know that there is a bad neighborhood in Mackinaw City. We've gone there several times. The hotel is right across from a popular local restaurant with good food. We did not take part in the breakfast at the hotel so I can't speak on that. It is located right off the main street just after you go under the highway, you don't have to cross it. It takes you 2 minutes to get to the ferries and the shopping center and such. The beds and pillows were comfortable. It was a nice place to stay with friendly staff in our experience. The only reason I didn't give it an excellent was because the elevator scared me because it was so loud I thought it was going to give out. And the decor in the halls is kinda of outdated and messed with our eyes. That's the only thing I could find wrong with it. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My group and I recently stayed at the holiday inn express while touring Mackinaw City, Mackinaw Island and Soo Saint Marie. The hotel staff was friendly and very accommodating. The rooms
were clean with plenty of towels and amenities to accommodate our needs. There is a microwave,
refrigerator and each room has a small balcony. The Breakfast Buffett was plentiful and offered something for everyone.

The hotel is about a four block walk to downtown mackinaw and there are shops within a ten minute walk from the hotel. There is a pool and sauna, but I found this area to be very hot and
uncomfortable for sitting and relaxing but right outside the pool area is A very nice sitting area.

The business center is located within the lobby area with very little privacy making it difficult to
Concentrate.

The outside of the hotel is appealing especially at night when the lights are on.
The area is safe for walking.

Note: four floors, one elevator
If more than one group is staying, the elevator is very slow. Take the stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear 2226AYoung,

Thank you for your candid review. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity of hosting you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We arrived a few hours ago. The hotel has a musky smell and is very outdated. We paid $170 per night and ended up with a small (no balcony room) that looked over a gas station. The front desk was very unhelpful. You have to cross a highway to get to the main strip. Hotel is in a very sketchy area. Stay away!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. The entire staff and management strive to help each guest, at every opportunity. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to our guests, with a friendly staff and quality amenities for your convenience.

The hotel is conveniently located just off the expressway, so we are easy-on and easy-off, whether you are just passing through or here to visit our historic resort town, located by the beautiful Straits of Mackinac. This is where Lake Michigan and Lake Huron meet, under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge. Even though we are located just off Interstate 75, all the local roads, lead under the highway, as it is illegal to cross it. The furthest distance from HIE to Shepler’s Mackinac Island Ferry, which is at the furthest end of downtown, is only 0.9 mi or a 13 minute walk. One route is along the beautiful lake shore, by Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse and museum. This route you can get awesome pictures of the bridge. The other route is 0.8 mi, lined with stores. This will allow you to shop your way to the Ferry docks.

We are sorry that you feel that we are outdated, “musky”, and that others should “stay away”. Resort towns typically, are damper areas, as they are surrounded by water. As it may appear to be a musty smell , high humidity and varying temperatures, adds to a variety of odors and allergen’s, in the air.

Our hotel has some history, just like our town. We are proud to say, our hotel is the VERY FIRST and ORIGINAL, of the Holiday Inn Express Brand, and we are in our 21st year. Also, we have begun our Property Improvement Plan, to update, with installation of new carpet and drapes, new lobby furniture, and new guest room pictures, for starters. Our new breakfast and guest room furniture is on the list. Our pool area is targeted, to be renovated, after the busy summer season and before the holidays. For those who have stayed in the past, the Fish Tank is gone!

Again, thank you, for sharing your review. It always gives us an opportunity to address any thoughts or concerns, not shared with us directly. Your patronage is very important to us.

Most sincerely, D~ Ruff, General Manager and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Messed up reservation so we ended up with the wrong room. Thin walls and everything just feels cramped. Breakfast was ok but staff was crazy and ran into me. Second bad stay and will never again will I stay here. Much better places to stay,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay and we are sorry that you feel that you Never Again.

We sincerely apologize for the issues regarding your reservation, at the Holiday Inn Express, in Mackinaw City, MI. Although a very rare occurrence, when the hotel is unable to honor a reserved room type, it can result from the multiple booking channels, available these days, for guest to make reservations. Guests can reserve rooms through IHG Rewards Club nights, Third Party Internet (TPI) bookings, Mobile Apps, Hotel website and with the Central Reservation System (CRS) 800-Holiday, on top of reservations booked directly with the hotel. The reservations database is interfaced on a continuous basis, and in that instance, reservations are booked at the same time, and a room type is overbooked. When these situations arise, in addition to accommodating our guests to the very best of our ability, we also use these instances to communicate with our various booking channels, to ensure that the reservation and check-in process is as seamless as possible. We do our best to monitor and avoid any inconveniences to our valued guests.

We are delighted you enjoyed our signature hot breakfast. As you saw during your stay, the breakfast area can get very busy, especially when many come down at one time. Our breakfast attendants are extremely conscious and focused on keeping breakfast stocked and flowing, during the morning breakfast rush. They work hard to make sure all our guests have the quality and variety of breakfast items that they expect and deserve. After sharing this feedback with them, they were very apologetic for any unintended, miscalculation of their actions, by bumping into you. They take these comments to heart.

On behalf of the entire staff at Holiday Inn Express, in beautiful Mackinaw City, we again thank you for this opportunity to address the challenges we face, with technology and high occupancy, especially in the busiest time of year, in northern Michigan. As a team, our goal is to have a Great Hotel, Guests Love.

Most sincerely, D~ Ruff, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here while visiting Mackinaw Island. The rooms and bathrooms are clean, but your basic Holiday Inn Express. My only complaint is the pool areas is getting worn. The tile needs to be re-grouted, the ceiling is falling down and the overall impression of the area is poor.

(Don't forget to get towels from the front desk).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear thebarnmichigan,

Thank you for the candid review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note of your comments regarding the pool area and it will be used for future improvements needed.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvigny, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.