We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest staff I've ever seen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   364 Louvigny, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Negaunee, Michigan, United States
1 review
“Friendliest staff I've ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My brother and I were having car issues as we came across the bridge into the lower peninsula. While waiting for a tow truck the Holiday Inn staff was extremely gracious in allowing us to stay in their lobby. They offered us coffee and food and even allowed us to use their wi-fi. From now on I only plan to stay at Holiday Inn locations if I'm ever in the need of a hotel room. Thanks again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Justin M,

Thank you for the kind words. The entire team, at the Holiday Inn Express "At the Bridge", takes pride in applying their hospitality skills, at any opportunity. We are pleased we were able to make you and your brother Stay Comfortable and Stay Connected, while waiting for assistance with your vehicle.

Most sincerely,
D. Ruff - General Manager
Holiday Inn Express, Mackinaw City MI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    70
    51
    22
    20
See reviews for
77
80
10
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrington, North Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed during the off season and had a rough day with car trouble and needed a soak in the hot tub but by the time we finally got there the pool room was shut down but the staff was kind enough to up grade us at no extra cost to a whirlpool room. The room was very comfortable and had an excellent view of the bridge all lit up at night, the staff was very friendly and very helpful. When we are in the area again we will definitely choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

The entire team, at the Holiday Inn Express - at the Bridge, is delighted to have had the opportunity to ease the challenge that you encountered, during your travels. It is our goal to do the very best, to make all our guests, Stay Comfortable, Stay Relaxed and Stay Satisfied, while staying with us. We hope things have smoothed out for you and look forward to having you has our guest, sometime in the near future.

Most sincerely,
D Ruff - General Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I didn't even get a chance to stay but I probably won't now anyway. I had a family emergency come up and need to cancel my reservation. I canceled at 9 am on the day I was to arrive. The front desk agaent that answered the phone let me know that I needed to call 24hrs ahead of time and I would still be charged. Eventually she did cancel my room without charge but in the process was rude and not understanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Miss Y,

We are sorry that you had a family emergency and were unable to stay with us. Even though there is a 24 hour cancellation policy, we do our best to make considerations, as we did in your case, no penalties or charges were incurred. On behalf of myself and the entire team, at the Holiday Inn Express, in Mackinaw City, MI, we hope all is well in your family for the holiday season.

Most sincerely,
D~ Ruff - General Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I found staff to be friendly and interested in the quality of my stay. The continental breakfast had a good selection of food from warm offerings (biscuits and gravy, etc.) to fruit. Rooms were very clean and the price was fair.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear martymanistee,

As the General Manager of the Holiday Inn Express, "At the Bridge", I am proud that you found the staff to not only be friendly, but that they truly showed interest in the quality of your stay. We strive to make every guest, under positive or negative circumstances, to feel genuine hospitality. On behalf of the entire team, we sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope to have you as a guest, in the near future.

Best regards,
D~ Ruff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here for work and though the front desk was very busy when we arrived the staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great and the hotel is very clean and comfortable. The room was spacious and even had a small balcony.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear saomurphy,

Thank you for your gracious review. The entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express, "At the Bridge", truly appreciates the opportunity to have you as our guest. We look forward your next vist to the Straits area and hope you stop in to see what's new at the Inn. New updates are in progress for 2013 and beyond!

Most sincerely,
D~ Ruff, General Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munith,MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

One of the best Hotels you can stay at in Mackinaw City. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was nice to get a free drink voacher to the local Sports bar. It was nice they gave me a Upgrade for a room overlooking the Mackinaw Bridge. I will always pay a few bucks and stay at this Hotel. I would like the Hotel to look at there Balconys and check the Cleanliness of them. Also there Windows in there Guest rooms might need a cleaning. The pool area might also need some attention also. Nice Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Wolverine777,

Thank you for your DYNOMIGHT post. We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from our guests. It gives us an opportunity to improve the weaknesses and keep the strengths strong. I am pleased that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. Our balconies are subject to the continual battle with mother nature and not without an effort, most often she wins. My apologese if it was human oversight or another lost battle with mother nature. Since your stay in October, and the slower days of the off-season, all the windows, inside and out, including the screens and tracks have been cleaned and the floor in the pool has been repainted to a lighter color. We are in the process of our Property Improvement Plan, so we hope you will be back soon to see our changes. Best wishes for a new year, that offers new beginnings and great opportunities.

Most sincerely,
The entire staff at the Holiday Inn Express - At the Bridge, Mackinaw City, MI.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We were just here for an overnight, so it met our needs. If I was going to be here for several days though, I would want a larger room and one closer to the main downtown area. We had a king room on the 4th floor, and we seemed to be tripping over things. Breakfast was the typical fare, though the hot items were lukewarm at best. We'll probably try somewhere else the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience, at the Holiday Inn Express, Mackinaw City. As always, we welcome feedback, both positive and negative, to use as tools, for training/retraining opportunities. We are glad you found our room cozy for a night, and we do have different room types, conducive to a longer stay. By contacting the hotel directly, we can assist in booking the best accommodations for your needs, based upon availability. As a franchise hotel, items are dictated from the corporate level, so we try to accommodate our guest with the maximum required items, as opposed to the minimum required, so our guests have a greater variety, from which to choose. We are also upgrading and renovating this winter, so we hope to have an opportunity to have you as our guest, sometime in the near future. Thank you, once again, for your feedback.

Most sincerly,
Denise Ruff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvigny, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 41 hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.