We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   364 Louvigny, Mackinaw City, MI 49701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Aurora, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here previously and had a great time, so for this stay we opted for a "mini-suite" Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel seemed to be updated since our last stay. My wife loved the new blue color scheme of the rooms and walls, and my daughter really enjoyed the swimming pool, which was fairly large and had good hours. We will definitely stay here again next time we travel through northern michigan

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    82
    54
    22
    20
See reviews for
82
90
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Group of guys stayed for the pond hockey tourney. The staff was pleasant, breakfast was good and rooms were clean and comfortable.

Only complaint would be that the door key readers need to be upgraded. Most of us (and other guests) had to get our keys re-programmed because the doors would not open.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feelings and comments, regarding your "Great Stay", with us, here in Mackinaw City's, Holiday Inn Express - "At the Bridge. We appreciate your patronage and the opportunity to serve you, all year-round. To keep us on our toes, we welcome any feedback, so we can improve upon the clitches, such as the Key Readers. Our maintenance was able to revisit all the rooms, after the pond hockey weekend and clean all the readers. So, again, thank you and we hope to see you in the near future.

Most sincerely,
Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Was there in the off-season, in the middle of winter so I can't say how they are in the busy season but my experience was fantastic. Called in for a room at the last minute and got a room on the top floor with a view of the bridge and a small deck, unexpected to say the least. The room was very clean and quiet, the king bed was great and the staff was very professional. Just a couple blocks from the Bridge makes it easy for those going to the Fort or the Bridge for sightseeing. Most businesses were closed around the hotel for the season but for those staying during the warm months will find places to eat within a couple blocks.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is a card-only access floor with private decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We work hard to provide fantastic service and amenities, and take pride in reviews such as yours that show how our hard work has paid off!

As you mentioned, there are a good number of local businesses that close for the season, but there are also several restaurants that are open with us year-round. In the winter months Audie’s restaurant, as well as Jr’s Taligate Pub, are within walking distance from our property.

Thank’s again, and we hope to see you again soon!

Peter Havlena
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We booked a room through hotwire, for this hotel. The description of the room included a fireplace. Upon check-in the clerk advised us that was a mistake, however, graciously she offered to give us a room with a fireplace. We ended up spending out 3 nights in a small suite. It was clean, and cozy. The cleaning staff made our room look great each and every day, and the breakfast was hot and fresh. They have a pancake maker !!!

We took notice of the neon lemon colored hallways ... WOW!! What is up with that?? Paint Special?? We theorized that it was a deterrent to prevent hallway socialization??

All in All we would rank very good

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel! We are happy we were able to upgrade your room to a club level suite!

We are also happy you were able to give our newly acquired pancake maker a try! This maker has added to our hot breakfast offerings, and our guests can now expect a great pancake in addition to other hot items such as our signature cinnamon rolls.

And we highly encourage hallway socialization! The hallways were recently repainted, as well as additional lighting installed in order to brighten our halls. While we understand that the color is a little bright for some guests, the renovations have gone a long way toward making the hotel interior brighter and more welcoming.

Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We hope you will stay with us again and experience our excellent customer service, clean rooms, and free hot breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed here around Thanksgiving and found the accomodations very nice. We stayed on Wednesday night and had a room on the top floor. This was very nice (included a tv in the bathroom which my kids loved!) We then stayed again on Saturday in a regular room which was average. The rooms were clean and comfortable, The breakfast was good but after a large crowd they struggled providing hot food that was hot. The front desk staff was wonderful. Hot tub was cold...yes cold. Not even warm. The pool was warmer than the hot tub! I would stay again but probably won't pack a swimsuit for the pool :(

Room Tip: Get the top floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments, regarding your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback, so we can make the nice, nicer and the not so warm, warmer! Like any home, we have obstacles to overcome and some not so simple or quick to fix. So we hope that you will visit us again, in the near future, and don’t forget your swim suit! The pool has been the main attraction this winter, for guests and locals, alike. We strive to make the Holiday Inn Express – At the Bridge, Mackinaw City, a premier family destination, that is open Year-Round. ~ Denise Ruff, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

My husband and I were on our Honeymoon in Mackinaw. We made a reservation with this hotel a couple months before we were scheduled to come. When we arrived they had lost our reservation, and were very rude about it. They then told us that we were probably mistaken and made the reservation in a different city. They were very patronizing. We ended up getting a room with them anyways, and we got the jacuzzi room. When we turned the jacuzzi on hair shot out of the jets. It was so gross. We called down to the front desk and they sent someone to give us tablets to put in the jacuzzi. We then had to put them in and wait 30 minuets while it cleaned. This did not remove the hair so we gave up and went to bed. The breakfast was also lacking and the orange juice tasted terrible. I would never go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
The management and staff appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. We are truly disappointed we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We strive to provide excellent service and a clean, comfortable room for every guest.

While there’s no excuse for the rudeness you experienced, your stay was during one of our busiest times of the year and we were catering to a full house as well as training a new employee at the time. We apologize sincerely for dropping the ball, and have implemented new procedures to ensure that any issues which may arise are handled in a way that exceeds our guest’s expectations.

We have also passed your comments on to our breakfast attendants, and they strive to ensure that our hot breakfast is of the highest possible quality.

Thank you again for taking the time to express your concerns, and we do hope you will give us the chance to exceed your expectations with excellent service and a clean, comfortable room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite in Room 101. It was a great room with the best customer service I have experienced in many years. The breakfast was great , with the pancake machine and Cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEMC, Guest Services at Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you so much for the review! We are fully committed to our guest’s satisfaction, and we truly appreciate when this is reflected in traveler reviews such as yours!

The pancake machine is a recent addition to our complimentary hot breakfast buffet, and has been a big hit!

We hope you stay with again the next time you are “up north” in the Mackinaw City area!

Thanks again,

Peter Havlena
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City

Address: 364 Louvigny, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year! Clean, Comfortable & Affordable! Choose the Holiday Inn Express in Mackinaw City for your next visit. We are close to area attractions, shopping and dining. An easy walk to the shore of the Straits of Mackinac where Lakes Huron & Michigan meet, walk under the Mighty Mackinac Bridge or sit in the park and enjoy the sunset over the water. Large indoor heated pool, sauna, hot tub & fitness room. Free hot breakfast featuring over 25 fresh & delicious items. Seasonal shuttles to casino & ferries. Well-lit interior corridors, elevator & 24-hour desk staff. Every room has a microwave, minifridge & coffee maker.Mackinaw City offers Mill Creek Discovery Park, Colonial Fort Michilimackinac, Old Point Lighthouse, Jack Pine Lumber Jack Show, Mackinaw Crossings Shopping Outlet with Free Light Show, Sunset Boat Cruises, McGulpin Point Lighthouse, International Dark Sky Park Programs, Lighthouse Cruises, Disc Golf, Geocaching & so much more to discover!Our staff anticipates your needs and looks forward to introducing you to the magic of Mackinaw! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City
Holiday Inn Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.